We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will return to this hotel!”
Review of Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa del Mar
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I stayed for one night with my teenaged daughter on a combined business/leisure trip. It was the perfect balance: Sophistication enough for my meeting in the lobby of the hotel; relaxed enough for my daughter to feel comfortable hanging out while I was working. The service was expert but geniune. The rooms were beautiful. I will definitely return whenever I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2009

Stayed for three nights for a business meeting. The hotel was much nicer than I expected and was an excellent value for the price. It was one of the most comfortable rooms I have stayed in for quite some time. I certainly rate this a 5 out of 5. The only comments would be the view and the restaurant.

If a view is important to you then be careful which room you reserve. In order to save money I reserved a room without an ocean view. The room I had was on the first floor and looked out on a wall. I could not see anything from the room. This was fine with me since I was rarely in the room but if you want a view make sure you ask for one or you may not get it. There are many rooms with fabulous views, but of course these will probably be more money.

The food in the restaurant was very good but like most of Los Angeles a little pricey. The only negative was that the service was a little slow so if you are in a hurry you may want to go elsewhere.

I have never stayed next door at Shutters which is a sister property, but many of our group had, and they all agreed that the Casa Del Mar was much nicer and a better deal for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drw_ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

This hotel was amazing- great location, the rooms are so comfortable and have so much character! The pool is small, but the staff takes great care of you and the views can't be beaten. And, either way, the beach is at the front door. All of the staff - front desk, bar, room service, pool- was helpful and attentive! I will be back next time I'm in Santa Monica!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We stayed here one night since we were leaving from LAX the next morning. I booked a partial view king room but got upgraded to an ocean view since our room wasn't ready at check in. The hotel staff are professional, but friendly. I loved the room and the colonial style decor. We had a four poster bed, chaise longue, beautiful marble bathroom with tub and shower. The bed was really comfortable, and the view overlooking the pool and beach was amazing.

Excellent location. Breakfast was included in my rate and we chose to eat at Shutters on the Beach (sister hotel) from their a la carte menu. Valet cost per night $33.

The hotel is expensive but well worth it. I am not sure I would come here for a long stay due to the cost. I expect a little more in terms of complementary services for the price. Free internet point would have been a big plus. Spa prices were overly expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokimonst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

this is an incrdibly expensive hotel,but it is truly plush, comfortable and luxurious without being over the top.atmosphere is calm and cozy.rooms are not very big but very,very comfortable with very soft and nice beds.we had a pier view room which adds to the experience. bathroom nice.restaurant is expensive but good.if you can afford the hotel, it is a very good option, but the location demands a lot of money. similar hotels in other parts of the world cos a fraction, but this is santa monica...

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

what a wonderful experience, the views on both sides of the hotel are just breathtaking!! This was our first trip to San Diego and I had wanted to be on the water, we stayed in the Casa Del Mar building facing a waterview with a private balcony at a wonderful rate! My family all loved it so much that not only did we stay our original 5 days, but also booked it again when we came back to San Diego to take our flight back to NYC. The staff is friendly, informative and professional, from the front desk personnel down to every member of the staff, bellman, maids and landscaping staff. The rooms are large and immaculate, plush bedding, large bathroom and best of all the private balcony. I dislike hotels that have balconies that you can see your neighbors.
The pool was large and had plenty of chairs and clean towels. We will definitely be staying here again and recommending it highly to all of our friends. Thank you Mr. Levine for running such a wonderful establishment!!

Thank kaaala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

The hotel as a facility is well positioned and well designed, the staff do what is expected and the facilities are basic. Do not bather to have breakfast in, price is unreasonable and the variety is minimum. Some other reviews had mentioned that a lots of steeling goes around, I did not face that, may be because I kept everything locked in the safe with nothing what so ever laying around, but to record it "Nothing was stolen during my stay at the Casa del mar".
That being said, The hotel smells like dog pee, returning home I washed everything in my bags and the bags themselves, the smell is disturbing, and my stuff afterword smelled embarrassing.
If I would travel to Santa Monica again Casa del Mar won’t be choice!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moe_XII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,949 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,652 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,669 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,615 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £373 - £615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing