We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but good location”
Review of Hotel Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carmel
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pricey, but good location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here as part of our California trip. We arrived earlier than we were supposed to but were told we could check into a room straight away. In fact we were bumped up to a nicer room than what we had paid for so we were quite happy!
The room was kind of worn out, in need of a bit of a refurbishment, however it was clean, pretty large and didn't smell so we couldn't complain!
The best thing about this hotel was the location. It was literally slap bang in the middle of everything, with the famous pier about a 10 minute walk away, and all the shops and restaurants right outside. We walked to Venice Beach via the sea front, which took about 40 minutes (we may have taken the long route, I was told it was only about 25 minutes!).
Personally I feel the biggest let down about this hotel was the breakfast. It was served in the lobby, which was cramped to say the least, and consisted of tea/coffee/orange juice and pastries.
If you have the choice, I would save the money and just go to a cafe (as there are plenty around!) instead of having the breakfast here.
This hotel was pretty expensive, but it was one of the cheaper options in the area, so I don't think this is particularly unusual for Santa Monica.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    316
    277
    147
    117
See reviews for
211
390
61
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Priced quite high for something so basic, the hotel is 2 blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier and a block away from Santa Monica Blvd. The rooms are very very small. The breakfast area is just steps away from the reception and choices are very limited. The View from the window is of an Office building. The only thing it has going for is the location!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radhika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello Radhika,

Thanks for staying at Hotel Carmel. I would agree that our rooms are smaller that most chain hotels. However, some of our rooms are bigger than others and the room sizes are subject to the building configuration. From a price standpoint, I respect your opinion but for Santa Monica, we believe we are very reasonably priced. Thanks again for staying with us. Safe travels always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel really needs updating, it is very dull and the rooms aren't very welcoming. I was in a room facing the air conditioning outside and it was very loud at night. The most positive thing about the hotel is its central location. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not looking onto air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello Jen M,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Carmel. We respect your constructive comments about refurbishment of the hotel. I’m sorry you won’t stay with us again. That is not how we want our guests to feel when they leave our hotel. Maybe at some point in the future you will consider staying with us again. We wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Monica hotels

Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had to be moved on first night due to the vents right outside our window. Rooms are very basic and poor! No breakfdast room just have to eat at reception but the food is that bad that you wont. Housekeepers took our bathroom products on first night and managment could not help with the matter! one positive it is beside the beach where all teh homeless live!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Mario,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Carmel. I’m sorry we had to relocate you to another room over an issue with the vent. I did want to clarify one point. We don’t offer breakfast. We offer complimentary coffee service with some pastries. You have the option of seating in the lobby, taking something back to your room, or taking coffee and pastries to go. Guests who would prefer breakfast have the option of several restaurants within walking distance to our hotel. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The main advantage of choosing Hotel Carmel, considering the expensive rate is the location close to scenic Santa Monica beach. There is a stop for the 'hop on, hop off' sight-seeing bus and The Third Street Promenade shopping area nearby. I walked to a Saturday morning Farmer's Market on Arizona Avenue.

I availed of the complementary coffee and pastries in the morning.

The first room I was allocated had a wet patch under the air conditioning unit but I was moved to another room immediately after pointing it out. The furnishings are very dark and dated. I had to remove the bed spread from the bed as it had an unpleasant 'B.O' odour from it.

I would recommend the hotel on the grounds of location alone.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo_Laethanta_Saoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Carmel. We really appreciate the mention of our location. I’m sorry to hear that your first room had some sort of water leak from the air conditioner and you experienced an odor from a bedspread in your second room. Although I don’t have any record of that issue, I hope we corrected it immediately while you were staying with us. We firmly understand that cleanliness and sanitation are very important and strive to ensure that we meet or exceed our guest's expectations in those areas. If at any time we fall short of your expectations, please let us know and we will correct the situation to your satisfaction. Thanks for staying with us and I hope that overall you enjoyed your visit to Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I take issue with reviews for this hotel saying it's condition doesn't matter because of it's good location and age.
While labelled as 'budget', I paid $224 per night (no breakfast) for 7 nights and for that money you should expect a certain level of quality wherever you are in the world. I would also point out that the official photos did not nearly reflect what I received.
Yes, Hotel Carmel is on 2nd street and close to the action, but sadly seems to have zero noise proofing. Noise from Broadway outside my closed window was very loud until 1-2am every night and internal noise was bad too. I could always hear the TV in the next room, heard every step in the corridor, doors slamming and the toilet plumbing from other rooms was so noisy I had to keep the bathroom door closed.
There was air con but instead of being mounted up high it was on the floor right by the bed. So you had the option of freezing as it blew directly onto you, or cooking when switching it off. There was a ceiling fan but it wasn't securely attached and shook wildly when activated... so that stayed off.
Generally everything in the drab room worked but was just not up to standard. Highlighted by the giant crack in the sink; it didn't leak but I worried it would and it looked unpleasant.
Oh and there was a piece of sharp metal in my made-up bed on the penultimate night that sliced my leg so I now have a scar.
Oh and the internet was free but was so slow I opted to tether from my phone and pay international roaming fees. It was THAT slow.
Oh and the safe broke on the penultimate day and to get it fixed I'd have to move rooms.

Having said all this service was good. All the staff were friendly and helped me whenever I asked for it. I'm sure if I had asked then they would have changed my room. My point is that I should not have to ask. All the rooms should be of a good standard.

Their complimentary conditioning shampoo is actually also really good. My hair misses it. However this hotel needs a major refurb. Until then I would suggest to avoid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrCaius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear DRCaius,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Carmel. It seems as if there were several items that were not in good working order in your room. Regardless of your rate, it is a very reasonable expectation that air conditioning and ceiling fans work and there are not cracked sinks. Those should not have been issues and we will get those items repaired or replaced.

Our location at times does lend itself to some downtown noise issues. We do offer complimentary disposable earplugs for our guests who are sensitive to the street noise. You mentioned that your rate was $224 per night. I respect that you consider that is a significant amount of money over a 7 night stay and you should have a certain quality of accommodation at that price point. I don’t disagree and I don’t mean to be disrespectful but we are the most reasonably priced hotel in Santa Monica. Never the less, there were issues you experienced that should not have happened and I apologize for those shortfalls and the items that were not up to standard. As for the photos, they represent the actual photos of our guest rooms. I’m not sure what you thought did not represent what you received. Your constructive comments and observations will not go without attention. Thank you and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel was simple, clean & tidy. The room was decent size and although staff were helpful but not incredibly friendly. The wifi internet was good and Breakfast is basic (pastries & coffee) but there is plenty to see and do in the area so was not a problem. The big plus is the value for money for the location, close to eveything in Santa Monica. Would happily recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Jon P

Thank you for staying at Hotel Carmel and thank you for the review. We appreciate you acknowledging our value and our location. I’m glad our team was friendly but I wish we could have qualified for the “incredible friendly” rating. We hope you enjoyed Santa Monica. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
629 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
588 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#30 of 36 in Santa Monica
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#27 of 36 in Santa Monica
437 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
529 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#19 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmel

Property: Hotel Carmel
Address: 201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2311
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Santa Monica, close to the Santa Monica Beach, the Hotel Carmel welcomes guests with classic Southern California hospitality. Steps away from world class shopping, fine dining, and the historic Santa Monica Pier, the Hotel Carmel has been a favorite with Santa Monica visitors since 1924. Experience Hotel Carmel’s history when you enter the lobby; a designated stop on the Santa Monica historic walking tour. High ceilings, a tiled floor, dramatic columns and a classic fireplace capture the gracious Spanish revival elements of the nineteen twenties. Guests at the hotel enjoy a privileged location, just a block to Santa Monica Beach and the Santa Monica Pier, home to attractions, amusements, and excitement. The hotel is across the street from Santa Monica Place Mall, anchored by Bloomingdales and Nordstrom, and features world class retailers such as Barney’s, Tory Burch, Tiffany & Company, Nike, Coach, Burberry,and Louis Vuitton. The Arclight Cinema and the Cheese Cake Factory are also located in Santa Monica Place. Just a block away is Santa Monica’s lively Third Street Promenade home to dining, shopping, and street performers. Be in the heart of it all in downtown Santa Monica. Experience the historic Hotel Carmel, a Southern California classic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel Santa Monica
Carmel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing