We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A work in progress, close by, fun for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ventura Ranch KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Paula
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ventura Ranch KOA
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
“A work in progress, close by, fun for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

I love Santa Paula, it's a little diamond in the rough. This KOA is definitely building & growing & on the right track. The tee pees are the best, in my opinion! Fun, unique & communal yet private. Kids love them. Speaking of kids, there is a lot for them to do here - from the "bouncy land pillow" to "Big Foot's water hole" (a wide spot on the creek). Zip line, swings, play area, hiking, biking, etc. we went in January (cold at night!) & it was pretty empty. I hear in summer it's very full - but all Calif parks are! I do hope they get the pool in. Stop by online & check out the teepees!!

PS - you can hear traffic, as this is near hwy 150 (fruit trucks carrying oranges, lemons, avocados! It's actually pretty cool).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    21
    10
    10
    5
See reviews for
44
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Phenomenal!!!!!!!!!!!! Cabins, Glamour tents, Teepee's, beautiful tile showers, zip lines, rock wall, horse shoes, the jumping pillow (better than a trampoline), arts crafts, river and even a new pool this summer!!!!!!!!!!!!! This place is a MUST visit!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: the cabins are amazing, as are the glamour tents and teepee's. you cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandiLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

My girlfriend and I traveled up to this RV park a couple years ago and noticed online they had done some changes. We went for New Years and were amazed. The new owner had done some amazing upgrades including cabins, tents, a zip line, rock wall, horse shoe pits, etc....... The cabin had hardwood flooring, comfy beds, and amazing showers. The cabin came with a private shower but the tent did not. The community showers had a mosaic title floor, ARE YOU KIDDING ME!! No quarters needed like at other parks. Looks like a new pool is coming in summer. Go check it out.

Room Tip: Go for a cabin or glamour tent. They won't disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed on a Sunday night and pretty much had the tent sites to ourselves. However, that in itself was kind of scary! At 3 am we heard people whistling on their dog, revving their car engine and playing loud music. It sounded as if it was across the dry creek behind our tent. The bathrooms are trailers, and the comfort station is tiny, sinks were blocked with old food, no lights. Our tent site was large and flat, but hate to admit, I slept with one eye open most of the night, utility knife and hammer by my side expecting Freddie Kruger! Maybe it would have been less creepy with more campers, but not sure where they would all have showered!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty3ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Paula hotels

Loma Linda
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

My family and I just camped at this campground and it was horrible. The lady who took our reservation over the phone said it was very green, quiet and had a pool. She also said the ground was some kind of mulch that helped with the bugs. Well, yes, it was green if you consider this is so close to southern California. However, the ground is as dusty as it comes. Also, there is nothing quiet about this place. Their quiet time is from 10 p.m. to 8 a.m. Oh both nights, though, we had inconsiderate neighbors who were extremely loud. We complained after the first night (noise went on way past midnight) and the front desk lady said to call a number if that happend again. What a joke! I texted and called the number more than once and there was no answer. The people continued their noise until 3 a.m.! To top it off, people at another campsite began chopping wood at 5:30 a.m. BTW, destroying any of the trees around is prohibited according to the "rules" they hand out at registration. There is absolutely no supervision on this campground and people do whatever they want. Trash was never picked up from the dumpers. There were bags of trash piled up by their sides. Bathrooms were filthy, there was no water close to the sites, and the "pool" is a project! It does not even exist yet! You can hear the cars going by on the highway, so forget about enjoying the nature sounds. This place is misrepresented by the KOA operators. Would not go back there!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank peacemomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Spent two nights and will never return. The site are tiny and absolutely packed next to each other. It's like camping in Tokyo or manhattan. The showers are not practical and often done have hot water. There's no where to hang anything like clothes or towels. I guess I was wrong to assume any sort of quiet or space on this trip .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenkellyemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We were there in an RV in June '12. On arrival it was clear they were doing some work on the park, but this wasnt detailed on the KOA website. We were given site 13 but some workers were parked there so we had to take spot 14. Just beside us they were busy making some tented cabins but they kept working until well after 7pm and restarted the next day at about 6am. It wouldnt have been so bad if they had the information on the website. When i complained about the noise and the amount of work going on i was offered a go on the zipline. Will probably be a nice park when its finished, but at the minute its a building site.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Paula
3.5 mi away
Glen Tavern Inn
Glen Tavern Inn
#1 of 4 in Santa Paula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.5 mi away
Santa Paula Inn
Santa Paula Inn
#2 of 4 in Santa Paula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN la Posada Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Show Prices

Been to Ventura Ranch KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Ranch KOA

Property: Ventura Ranch KOA
Address: 7400 Pine Grove Rd, Santa Paula, CA 93060-9628 (Formerly Farwest Resorts RV Park & Campground)
Region: United States > California > Santa Paula
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Santa Paula
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Info Email ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ventura Ranch KOA Santa Paula, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing