We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not if you want some sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ventura Ranch KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Paula
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ventura Ranch KOA
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not if you want some sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We had a tent campsite reserved in Oak Meadows for 3 nights starting on Thursday on Labor Day weekend. Thursday night the campsite was nearly empty and we had a pretty enjoyable time. The only complaint was that the shower. It was pretty disgusting with cobwebs and spiders and had no ventilation and lukewarm water was as warm as it got. It didn't look like anyone really maintained the shower (only one of the two was working) which was in contrast to the bathroom which was actually very clean and well maintained.

On Friday our neighbors arrived and were ready to party. They played music until 2am despite the "quiet time" policy that is supposed to be in place after 10pm. No one from KOA came by to ask them to turn it off. We asked them to turn it down/off at 1am and they actually turned it up instead. We had a boat tour that left the harbor at 8am the next morning and so we decided that when we returned that we would just pack up and move somewhere else so that we could get some rest rather than have another restless night with the noisy neighbors. Ultimately, we gave up our last night even though we paid for it which made for an expensive 2 night campsite. If you are tent camping and want to party through the night then this place is definitely the place for you. If you prefer to get some sleep at night then you should probably look elsewhere.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank hanzgruber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    21
    10
    10
    5
See reviews for
44
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely campground with lots to do...especially for kids. They have zip line, rock climbing, hiking, tee pees and other nightly events. Seems wonderful for family or young persons' get aways. We got a very nice lot with shade, grass, trees, etc.

The personal here are accommodating, friendly and helpful.

On the flip side, the cable didn't work and the internet was not as strong as I needed to simply download pictures. In addition, campers must pay for WIFI for any time over 2 hours in a 24-hour period. In this day and age, that is not right.

Therefore, if I could give this KOA a 3.5, I would.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ParisPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

My family and I just returned from this campground and had a really good time. It was our first time camping at a KOA, but we normally camp at state and national parks. We chose the location because it was about 20 minutes from home and we just wanted to get out and camp without all of the hassles associated with long drives or dealing with state/national campground reservation systems. This KOA fit the bill.

The reservations were easy to make and check in was simple and efficient. We asked about the "Bigfoot walk" and were told that both walks were already maxed out with people (30 per tour). However, the person at the desk told us to show up at the tour time and he wouldn't turn us away. This left a very good first impression and even though we didn't end up taking the walk, we appreciated the gesture. The campground was very busy and some sites were located very close to each other, but ours (site 41) was relatively secluded, spacious, and well shaded. We considered it a good value for the money spent.

After pitching the tent, we took a midday nap because it was in the mid 90's (slightly unusual for this area). Upon waking, we went to the area of the campground that had most of the activities going on. This particular day (a Saturday) they had rock painting for $2, tie dying a tshirt for $10, rock climbing/pedal racing for $10 (unlimited daily use for both), and the famous bounce pillow free of charge. There was also a play area consisting of a slide structure, "classic 1980's style" plastic space shuttle play area, and a great swing set with long chains for maximum fun for my kids. The problem was that the heat was oppressive and most of these things were in the direct sunlight with the exception of the craft area. The activities workers were sensitive to this, and turned on the hose to wet the kids on the bounce pillow. My kids loved that! After jumping around, on essentially a giant water cushion for 20 minutes, we decided to take part in some tie-dying. Again, the activities person was very helpful and attentive with my 6 and 4 year old daughters, who had fun creating a keepsake from their first KOA experience. The zipline was running and people were having a blast. However, our daughters are not quite there yet, but we will probably do it next time. The rock wall and playground were in direct sunlight so we came back at 7pm for the playground, but never did get on the rockwall.

The bathrooms were relatively clean, but the showers had lines for most of the afternoon and evening. My wife finally got the kids a shower and said that the line was about a 30 minute wait during the 8pm hour. The only other complaint that I had was that they decided to clean the bathroom at around 9:00 AM, which ended up being peak potty time for many of the campers. The wait for the men's room was about 10 minutes and a minor inconvenience.

Overall, the atmosphere was family friendly. There was definitely a feel that some areas were under construction. Piles of rocks and wood could be found along the pathways and equipment was parked in various places. There also were remnants of a frisbee golf course in some of the overgrowth, but most of this stuff was cool to "discover" through the eyes of my kids. The "river" or stream that runs through the property, had turned into a slightly trickling and somewhat stagnant lagoon, but there were daring individuals ankle, knee, and waist deep in it along with the dragonflies and some bees. There was constant road noise that finally tapered off after midnight, but the highway that runs near this area, is a main and scenic byway that all local Harley riders know about and use, along with local produce and delivery trucks. That noise wasn't like being right on a freeway, but it was just constantly there in the background. It was, however, drowned out by the sounds of laughing children all over the place (who did respect quiet hours) and the crickets, frogs, peacocks, and even roosters throughout the night (that did not respect quiet hours).

Overall, it was everything that we expected and a little more along with a little less. We will definitely be back and would recommend this place to our friends, but give them a heads up on some of the potential downfalls. This is also a place that we will keep in mind for larger family gatherings since it would be much easier to book for multifamily sites than the state and national park system. Hopefully, they will continue their improvements because there is great potential here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LogisticalNightmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We went camping here in January and had the time of our lives. The kids loved the jumping pillow, and the space ship. The swings (made out of giant trees) were really cool. We had so much fun we came back again in February. The first trip was empty and we got an excellent spot under some trees. When we called we asked for the same location again. The second time there was a huge boy scout troop having a camping trip so it was a lot louder, but my kids made new friends and had a blast. We will be coming back here, as well as recommending it to others in the future.

Room Tip: Well, our room was great as we like our tent! haha!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlinfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Going well beyond the traditional KOA campground, this facility has a multitude of upgraded activities for the kids including a very good rock climbing wall, zip-line, inflated bouncing dome, pedal power go-carts, etc. The planned swimming pool is a year or so away.

The camp sites are good - about average size but more trees for shade than most campgrounds. Upgraded campsites have very nice patios, tables and chairs. There are some teepees for rent (I did not investigate) and, for those that like their camping a bit further from the ground, there are some rental cabins.

All in all, a great place for families with children. The staff that handle the kids on the controlled activities (zip line, climbing wall, etc.) are good, attentive and very pleasant. However, many parts are still (or not yet) under construction so you may encounter some parts that have an unfinished or temporary appearance.

Room Tip: The mid-level campsites, with the patios, seem to have a bit more room and are a bit nicer. On each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WesternTraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

What a great KOA! We love KOA's, we have been to quite a few and this is for sure, one of the best! There is lots to do (zipline, rock climb, crafts, night hike for bigfoot, ect.) and we did try to do as much as possible. The staff here is really the best! Everyone we met was very friendly and professional. Kyle & Kevin on the ziplines were great, the owners were very sweet and the woman (sorry, I didn't catch her name) that did the bigfoot walk and craft area was adorable:) We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmamamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is one of the most beautiful campgrounds I have ever seen. We rode the zip line and and really enjoyed the peacocks. The staff were friendly and helpful. The lodges have a fireplace and have a Great view. They are still building and we look forward to going back to see whats new.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ralph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Paula
3.5 mi away
Glen Tavern Inn
Glen Tavern Inn
#1 of 4 in Santa Paula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.5 mi away
Santa Paula Inn
Santa Paula Inn
#2 of 4 in Santa Paula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN la Posada Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Show Prices

Been to Ventura Ranch KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Ranch KOA

Property: Ventura Ranch KOA
Address: 7400 Pine Grove Rd, Santa Paula, CA 93060-9628 (Formerly Farwest Resorts RV Park & Campground)
Region: United States > California > Santa Paula
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Santa Paula
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Info Email ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ventura Ranch KOA Santa Paula, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing