We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Pleasant Surprise - Excellent all around”
Review of Rabalais Bistro

Rabalais Bistro
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Santa Paula
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Southern New Orleans Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, including but not limited to: Gumbo, Fried Chicken (Tuesday Night), Po'Boys, Shrimp, Biscuits & Gravy, Soups & Salads. Dinner served Wednesday through Saturday including full beer and wine list. Beginets hot out of the fryer, or hand crafted breads and baked goods. Proudly Serving Intelligencia Coffees and Teas.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Surprise - Excellent all around”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

What an outstanding restaurant. The four of us each chose different entrees for lunch, and each was a home run: Shrimp and Grits, Shrimp Remoulade Salad, Field Greens with Blackened Shrimp, and the Arugula Salad. We finished with Lattes and Beignets. We visit Santa Paula regularly, and Rabalias wins our vote as Santa Paula's best. Clearly the owners and staff give much expert attention to providing impressive quality in the food selection and preparation, and even the nice touches in decor and presentation. One final note: Don't overlook the bakery! The baked goods are a site to behold. We get to try those next time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler6548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    49
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
brea, ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great touch of New Orleans”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Went for dinner and really enjoyed it! The staff member that we made the reservation with told us of a large party before, and after, us and asked us if we minded. No problem and a nice touch letting us know (pay attention Glen Tavern Inn).

Menu was a nice mix of southern foods and we liked the fact that many of the entrees were available in small sizes.

There is a bakery there so my dessert conscious wife went up there to look before ordering. Our waitress took the time to go with her and explain the offerings.

We ordered a variety of the small dishes to be able to try many.

Having been to New Orleans (the main influence of the restaurant) we were familiar with, and love, the cuisine. Rabalais' dishes were all very good.

My wife found out they made beignets so came back the next morning for some at breakfast. Our friendly, helpful, waitress from the night before was working and helped us again!

We would definitely go back

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank gtimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth riding my bicycle 20 miles for a beignet!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

The bakery is a monthly bicycle destination. Rabalais has a nice patio to enjoy a chicory latte and beignets. I want to try their breakfast as I see wonderful plates of food coming out to the tables, but I just can't seem to get past the beignets. They are wonderfully crusty on the outside with a soft moist inside.

Every one of the people who work there are nice. They all smile and often ask if you need anything.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvDZnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

What a fantastic little gem! This family-owned restaurant/bistro has THE BEST beignets and french toast I have EVER had! Never mind the amazing lattes! If you are in the Santa Paula area in the morning, you must stop by for breakfast!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good food, good service! Homemade biscuits are delicious. Inside seating can be a little loud, outside seating is wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rabalais Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Rabalais Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing