We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rabalais Bistro

Rabalais Bistro
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Santa Paula
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Southern New Orleans Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, including but not limited to: Gumbo, Fried Chicken (Tuesday Night), Po'Boys, Shrimp, Biscuits & Gravy, Soups & Salads. Dinner served Wednesday through Saturday including full beer and wine list. Beginets hot out of the fryer, or hand crafted breads and baked goods. Proudly Serving Intelligencia Coffees and Teas.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I think I have a new favorite place in Santa Paula! My husband and I camped near Santa Paula for years and knew every restaurant on Main Street. Years went by with no camping trips involved so we lost touch with the goings on there. When we found ourselves in town this weekend, after a long absence, we gave Rabalais Bistro a try based on the Tripadvisor reviews - and I'm so glad we did! Lovely old building, easy on the eye decor inside and a very friendly staff. We shared a Fried Shrimp Po'boy which was excellent (love that spicy remoulade!) and a side of Fried Green Tomatoes. As a Georgia native I feel qualified to say that they were delicious. I will look forward to my next visit, whether it's just for coffee (such good coffee) and a beignet or a full on meal. Did I mention that they make their own potato chips? And I'm anxious to try the Shrimp & Grits!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    49
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Paula, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great desserts, great food, friendly staff. Beautiful building.
Whenever I think of a pleasant place to go and have some coffee with a friend or my sisters, I always suggest Rabalais.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexLisa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, South Dakota
Level Contributor
355 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My husband ate there 3 times in a 24 period & we dined as a family (us & our granddaughter) twice, a takeout dinner & breakfast....this is extremely authentic & we speak from experience as we have traveled extensively in Louisiana. The grits were thick & creamy, the spices were subtle & tasty on my Bayou Benedict. The gumbo....yum! And the seafood chowder was excellent....we highly recommend Rabalais, enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank cdenoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Salad Was Worth the Trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Santa Paula is one of those towns I've driven through a hundred times but rarely stopped. This time we went to the California Oil Museum there and discovered Rabalais Bistro for lunch. It's New Orleans menu seems a little strange for this solid farming community, but people have discovered it. It is located in the middle of the downtown area a few blocks from the museum. There is plenty of free parking there. It is inside an old building with a high ceiling and a hardwood floor. It has a sort of natural feel to it. There is ample outdoor seating in front. It is a bakery and coffee shop that serves a decent lunch menu. Service was very friendly. We started with the bacon salad, which came complete with hot bacon and fried green tomatoes (might explain why it took so long to come out). This was really tasty! And I don't normally like salads. The Croque Provencial was nice but not as great as the salad. It came with homemade potato chips. The servings were large. We will come back to the museum again, but this time we're going to have breakfast at Rabalais first.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ihitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved Rabalais”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you are in Santa Paula do yourself a favor and eat at the Rabalais Bistro. Food is fantastic, top of the line Bistro with a great menu to choose from, nice ambience. Food was wonderful. Service very nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rabalais Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Rabalais Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing