We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Paula Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Paula Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Santa Paula
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A lovely time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Seven friends and I stayed in five very comfortable rooms this past weekend. We had a lovely time. The owner and manager were helpful and friendly. The Inn had a lot of character and had been very nicely restored while keeping its original character. I would recommend the Santa Paula Inn to friends and if I were ever in the area again I would stay here.

Room Tip: Note: I'm pretty sure there was no fitness center and there was no swimming pool. On the plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara_andres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    40
    13
    6
    12
See reviews for
43
41
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quantico, Virginia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

My family and I always stay here when we come up to visit family in Santa Paula. Christine has been so nice and helpful to us throughout the past 2 years we've been visiting. We love staying here because it is clean, cozy, homey, the beds are SUPER comfortable, and the breakfast in the morning is great. We are moving out of state soon and will without a doubt continue to stay here when ever we come to Santa Paula!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmam731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

I decided to stay here based on the reviews on this website, which sounded overwhelmingly positive. Unfortunately, I didn't find that to be the case.

It started with the check-in process. The woman who worked there, while very pleasant, was new I assume (if she wasn't new, she has no business in that job). She was totally confused about what the password was for wireless, and ended up giving me the wrong one. (I later went back downstairs to tell her the password wasn't working, but she was too busy chatting with some local priest about personal business and ignored me. A few minutes later, when someone else who worked there walked by, she said, "I think this guest needs help with his wireless." The other employee managed to help me.)

She also volunteered to give me suggestions about local restaurants, but these "suggestions" only involved handing me some brochure the town puts out about local restaurants, and then reading the brochure to me. (Um, hello?)

The room itself was old and needed quite a bit of help. While there was a kitchenette (microwave, rerfrigerator, sink), there were a bunch of empty cupboards too, which was kind of pointless. The window appeared to be the original one from a jillion years ago when the building was built; it wouldn't close fully and was the opposite of air-tight. The handle on the blinds (which appeared to be old as dirt...and dirty as dirt) would fall off every time I opened and closed them. The tile on the bathroom floor was partially broken off. The carpet was old and worn, and the floor tile was gray, but reeked of needing a good cleaning. I found hairs in the bathtub. The walls were the thinnest of any place I've ever stayed at. On the second night I heard the guest next door snoring, as well as the TV from someone's room.

On a positive note, the breakfast items put out each morning including cereal, juices, coffee, tea, fruit, and random bready (bagels, cake, bread) things, with a toaster available. It was really the best part of the place. The bed was pretty nice as well in terms of comfort. The manager introduced herself to me; she was very pleasant. The place is just old and needs major updating.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregs_out_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kvil
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the Santa Paula Inn and was pleased with the service. The Inn has quite interesting history and there are a variety of rooms to stay in. When I saw that my room was overlooking the car lot next door I was conderned at first however the room was quiet and a good value. Christine Burt checked me in and gave me options on my room.
There are a number of good cafe type restaurants just around the corner including an Irish Pub. The doors to the inn are locked at 8pm however you have the combo to get in from the convenient parking area. Give it a try, it is a nice departure from the standard commercial motels and hotels. And unlike many inns the bed was a very good sleep.

Room Tip: If possible look at different rooms to make your selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weberoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

The staff at Santa Paula Inn was very friendly and accommodating. The great value B&B was a freshly restored building built in the early 20th century. Walking distance to shops and restaurants in downtown. Beds very comfortable. Only complaint were the thin older bathroom towels.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoopster95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We recently booked up the Santa Paula Inn for a production shoot in Santa Paula. We put all of our talent and some of the crew up at the Inn, and it was by far the best hotel that we used in the area. The management, Christine and Donna, were incredibly warm, friendly, accommodating, and helpful. The rooms were clean, the showers were hot, and everyone felt taken care of. We'd definitely stay with them when shooting in the area again.

Thanks Donna and Christine!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

My wife and I spent Thanksgiving night here, after a dinner with friends. The manager (I think her name was Christine) was wonderful and made us feel right at home. It's an old building, and had a lot of character.

Most of all, it satisfied my "big 3" hotel requirements- clean, quiet and comfortable. It passed with flying colors.

I will definitely return whenever I am in the area again.

Room Tip: The second floor might be preferable. However, we were on the first floor and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Paula
0.2 mi away
Glen Tavern Inn
Glen Tavern Inn
#1 of 4 in Santa Paula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN la Posada Motel
11.6 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
13.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
13.4 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Paula Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Paula Inn

Property: Santa Paula Inn
Address: 111 North 8th Street, Santa Paula, CA 93060
Region: United States > California > Santa Paula
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Santa Paula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Paula Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Paula Inn is a fourteen room boutique hotel that offers comfort for business, leisure, weddings, film crews and pilots. In addition parents and staff of nearby Thomas Aquinas College enjoy staying here. A stone's throw from beautiful Ojai and Ventura, this charming boutique hotel is a perfect romantic Southern Californian getaway. Also an ideal stop between San Francisco and Los Angeles. After our complimentary coffee guests can enjoy restaurants, antique shops, live theater and museums in this quaint town. A wonderful getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Paula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Paula Inn California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing