We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vintners Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vintners Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

truly a great finish to a day of wine tasting in sonoma county. we were able to get an upgraded room so we had extra space for our luggage. bed was very comfy and the bathroom was spacious and clean. each room comes with a balcony or patio and is a good place to relax with a glass of wine before dinner. the excellent john ash & company restaurant is right next door so there is no need to leave the complex for dinner. our room rate included the continental breakfast which includes pastrys, fruit, and grains. we opted for the menu selection out by restaurant patio since i was craving the veal sausage. fyi, if you intend on doing some wine tastings, check in first and ask the front desk for free wine tasting coupons to local wineries. the five of us were able to visit 3 wineries that day and it cost us nothing except for the few bottles we bought. :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phokingood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    119
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
55
377
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
springfield, mo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We enjoyed every moment at Vintner's Inn. We walked in the vineyard, at at John Ash, excellent breakfast, and very attentive staff.
Everything was pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssharrison2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

This is a nice property, even though it's by the huge power station across the street, once you're inside it feels very secluded and the grounds are very pretty. However, our shower backed up, water above the ankles, the entire time we were there. We called for the plumber who came promptly, although we were trying to get ready to go out while he was there. Whatever he did wasn't enough to fix the problem and we had to call three more times to get it fixed. It never got fixed. We got a bottle of wine for compensation, which I felt was not enough. They did not offer another room, and it was obvious that this shower had problems before. The sheets were also very stiff and scratchy. On a positive note, the breakfast area is nice and the waiters were super nice. But for rates they charge, I expected nicer, and certainly a working shower is not too much to ask for!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
I am terribly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. This truly was a first for us and what puzzled us was the maintenance staff and plumber couldn't find the problem. Their efforts to clear a slow drain seemed to work but only temporarily. The problem was discovered and resolved on Monday. If we had not been fully booked that weekend we certainly would have moved you at the first mention of a problem.

I sincerely hope that you'll give us another try when you're next in Sonoma Wine Country and ask that you contact me directly for a special rate. We strive to make every guest experience a positive one and appreciate your candor in letting us know how we let you down.

Thank you and I hope we do see you in the future.
Sue Burnet
Manager, Vintners Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a short getaway. The service was great but the location leaves a lot to be desired. The grounds are beautiful, but the nearby hwy 101 noise is noticeable. Once inside the grounds the power station is not visible, but if you choose to leave for a day trip, you are ushered out by the hideous PG&E eyesore. If I had it to do again, I would choose a more tranquil setting. I think the Inn is better suited for group events like conferences, retreats and weddings.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorCalifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights while on our honeymoon, and of the 4 hotels we were in on the trip, Vintners Inn was our favorite! We found out about it through Travelzoo and got a great deal. As soon as you turn into their driveway, you forget that it's located near the freeway and an electrical power station... or at least we did. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and well-kept, and the fountains on the property were relaxing. All of the staff members with whom we interacted were very friendly and helpful.
We stayed in an upstairs fireplace room overlooking the vineyard. When we arrived, we found a note congratulating us on our marriage as well as a box of chocolates. We also had a bottle of wine waiting for us. Very nice! The room was spacious and the high ceiling made it feel even bigger. The bathroom was very nice as well. We enjoyed our bottle of wine on the balcony... just wonderful! The fireplace in the room and the chocolate chip cookies on our pillows at night were also wonderful touches! As part of our Travelzoo deal, we received a complimentary breakfast both mornings from their hot breakfast menu. We sat outside and enjoyed our surroundings as well as the food. The breakfast sandwich and omelette were very tasty. The waiters were friendly, and it was just a very peaceful and relaxing way to start the day. We also dined at their restaurant, John Ash & Co., and it was very good.
When we look back on our trip, we will always have fond memories of Vintners Inn. We will definitely return when we're in the area again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

A delightful gem of luxury, though more affordable than most in the area. Vintner's Inn is located 5 miles from downtown Santa Rosa and an easy drive to many wineries in Sonoma County such as the gourmet and charming Iron Horse Winery in Sabastopol. The Inn has thought of everything to make their guests feel pampered. Our room was beautifully decorated w/turn down service and warm cookies on the pillow. The building we were assigned was super quiet overlooking the vineyards from our 2nd story balcony. Our rate include a tasty breakfast. Late afternoon wine tastings were posted. There is a wonderful jogging path that begins at the property and meanders thru vineyards. No mistaking where you are as you work out !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and I celebrated his birthday at this beautiful inn... from the minute we drove up to the wonderful welcome we got, we knew this was a precious gem in Santa Rosa. The grounds are lovely, fountains everywhere, flowers abloom and every attention to detail is everywhere. The dinner at John Ash was superb! They even brought my husband a little special dessert for that extra touch... gorgeous ambiance inside... If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway to a beautiful inn which is more like a paradise and a slice of heaven, stay at Vintners Inn... We can't wait to come back for a longer stay next time!

Room Tip: upstairs fireplace rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cat6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
4.7 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
22.0 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
13.5 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Property: Vintners Inn
Address: 4350 Barnes Rd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1514
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintners Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing