We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wish we could have stayed more than 1 night”
Review of Vintners Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintners Inn
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Yes, I read another reviewer just wrote that when you check in as a couple they give you one key. That is true- so if that is not OK why don't you just ask for another? One key was fine for my husband and I, and I am a fussy New Yorker(had we found it inconvenient we would have just asked them for a second key). The room was large and clean, with a fireplace and lovely view of the courtyard and fountain. It has a quiet and romantic feel yet it was easy to drive to visit vinyards in nearby towns. I must say as we drove off the highway and there were powerlines and a power station on the corner we were skeptical turning into the driveway of this inn. However, the property is lovely. There are gardens, two fountains, and there is a working farm behind the inn with grapes, sheep and horses. The inn has a jogging trail for visitors to enjoy the farm. We had a delicious breakfast, with a very attentive waiter after a wonderful sleep in the most comfortable bed I had during my trip to the Sonoma area. My husband and I took a jog and enjoyed seeing the rows of grapes growing, as they are beginning to turn red.We were only disappointed in the fact that we could only stay one night and had to leave and find another local spot during our trip to Sonoma.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a second story room, the view is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suburbangirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank you. April is usually a pretty good month for sunny warm weather, however, we can't predict it. At least the wineries were open and the wine superb - we'll be here for your next visit. Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

Let me enumerate why my husband and I rated this as terrible:
1.) On checking in, the Front Desk was giving us only one key. All hotels we have stayed in automatically gave us 2 keys for access.
2.) Free half bottle of white wine from Ferrari Carano; but everything else in the room is chargeable, including 2 bottles of water (the Ritz Carlton, the Bardessono, the Aman resorts, even Hotel Healdsburg offer bottles of water for free!)
3.) Showerhead spurts water directly over the glass wall and not on your head so when you need to have a shower, you literally have to squeeze in to get some water. The showerhead is not even adjustable
4.) You have to wait 50 minutes for your breakfast but asking for your bill produces faster service
5.) the bog shakes so while you're sat there doing whatever it is you need to do, be careful not to fall off
6.) the lady who took our comments did not even list down these things so presumably, there'll be nothing done about it

We should have just stayed longer in Hotel Healdsburg and had another dinner at the Charlie Palmer's....

Room Tip: What room? Just do not book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank B-cube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

I'm so sorry your stay with us this past May was less than satisfactory. It is actually a compliment, however, that you compared us to those amazing hotels. Yes, I'm sure the amenities, including water, are complimentary at those hotels but the room rates are also much more than they are at Vintners Inn. There is a balance we try to achieve in order to keep the rates a bit more affordable. Vintners Inn is not for everyone. I'm pleased that you gave us a try but am sorry we're not the hotel for you. I hope the rest of your stay in this country was exceptional. Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here two nights so we could enjoy a wine-tasting event in their special events center without having to drive to another hotel. Bottom line: We loved it! Very quiet, tranquil and romantic place to stay despite its location next to a busy highway. Once you enter their property, the landscaping, water fountains and buildings combine to provide a peaceful retreat.

Positives: Rooms are absolutely lovely. Our second floor room was quite large and very clean; it had a fireplace, balcony overlooking the courtyard and jacuzzi tub/shower. The small cafe served a delicious and inexpensive breakfast and we had a great family style dinner at John Ash. The overall facilities were very well maintained and appointed. We particularly loved the 1/2 mile jogging trail through the vineyards.

Negatives: Small property so weddings and other events tend to leak over to your experience regardless of whether you are a part of those events. Nothing to do, see or visit (eg, other restaurants, shops, etc) withing walking distance. Jacuzzi tub was VERY small - would not fit anyone over 4 ft in length - kinda pointless. No on-demand movies and no DVDs available for the DVD players in the rooms (bring your own). No elevators for second floor rooms or bell service so expect to carry your own bags. (Not a big deal for us but could be for older guests.) Expensive rates but normal for the area and quality.

Overall, we had a great stay and would not hesitate to return. Thanks for a lovely and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickeyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Vintners Inn really out did themselves with this getaway . Beautiful Inn and grounds . FANTASTIC FOOD ! Room was really nice with a great complementary bottle of wine . Staff was warm , friendly . I had forgotten how nice Santa Rosa and the surrounding towns and country side were. FUN , FUN . I'd definately do it again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

i'm glad you enjoyed most of your stay. Although you didn't care for our location, we're easy to get to and a relatively short drive to the Russian River, Dry Creek, Sonoma Valley and Napa Valley appellations, the coast and only a little over an hour to San Francisco. While many people think of us as a romantic destination, we have many business associates, families and friends who stay with us every week. In the event friends don't want to share a bed, they usually ask for a room with a sofabed or for a rollaway. Thank you for thinking we're a fairly new property. The Inn was built in 1984 and the restaurant followed about 5 years later. The Event Center is new and was opened in 2006. Vintners Inn obviously isn't ideal for everyone, but i do hope you enjoyed seeing this beautiful area and experiencing the wonderful local foods at our restaurant and others in Sonoma County. Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Does it really get any better than this? You kind of have to go to experience what I mean. This place lacks nothing. Beautiful rooms, great gardens, and amazing service. Do yourself a favour and stay here. To boot, you can likely get a great deal through travelzoo.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaBigSexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you so much!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

What a deal from Travelzoo! My husband and I visited San Francisco for the summer and this was just a nice side-trip! Upon arrival, we were greeted by a friendly staff. The guest rooms were clean, good size, with excellent amenities. We had dinner at John Ash Restaurant because our package deal came with a big discount and the menu selection + qualify of food + quality of service are all excellent. The grounds and garden are well manicured that you can hardly tell you're next to the freeway. It's like a little oasis in the middle of the city that did not cost us an arm and a leg...overall and excellent deal!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwiselyprov31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful setting, right next to a vineyard. The architecture is reminiscent of country french villas, with the hotels rooms found in separate buildings all facing on a central fountain square. Some of the rooms have fireplaces with Juliette type balconies, perfect for a glass of wine in the afternoon or coffee in the morning. The grounds are lush with a bocci ball court on the side of the property. There is also a breakfast cafe offering a buffet, or you can order a full breakfast. John Ash Restaurant, located next to but on the same property, provides gourmet meals (but at a price!). Being one of the most romantic hotels we've stayed at, we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room overlooking the vineyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxandKrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
2.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 24 in Santa Rosa
591 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#5 of 24 in Santa Rosa
712 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#3 of 24 in Santa Rosa
460 reviews
21.9 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Address: 4350 Barnes Rd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1514
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range: £152 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintners Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing