We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small cozy Inn”
Review of Vintners Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintners Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent small cozy Inn”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Great location, friendly, very helpful staff. Terrific on grounds dining room. Meals were fabulous in the restaurant, separate cozy breakfast area in the main lobby. All this in the middle of a beautiful vineyard. Mornings consisted of a jog on their track winding through the vineyards. Hot tub/ Jacuzzi & workout center at the end of the trail. Lovely, lovely setting. Our group consisted of three couples, all of us loved our stay there, and would recommend to all.

Room Tip: Try to get a fireplace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lendegrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    121
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
55
389
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at Vintners Inn early this week, using it as our home base during our time in both Napa Valley and Sonoma County. It was easily accessible from the Napa side (less than a 45 minute drive over in the morning and back at night) and even closer for our stops on the Sonoma side.

The Inn was delightful. It is picturesque and despite its proximity to the highway, was in a lovely setting. (If you go back behind the property, you can see where the highway is, but you don't see or hear traffic when you're within the property). Our room (King Deluxe) was spacious and very clean (I'm a germaphobe...trust me, I looked around!), and our bed was plush and comfortable. A half bottle of wine awaited us upon arrival, and each night, turndown service included cookies! Each building also has a little coffee/tea station in the lobby area, so you can grab a coffee for your room or the road.

We stayed in room 315 which faced away from the vineyard but toward the courtyard and fountain. The view was lovely. I had hoped for a vineyard view when I booked, but now that I've been, I believe the courtyard view was the way to go. We had a small balcony with a table and two chairs. We didn't use it other than to peek outside in the mornings but it was pretty nonetheless. Our room was quiet with one exception, rolling suitcases on the cobblestone path outside were a bit noisy, but that happened rarely.

We ate in the restaurant for breakfast each morning and were very impressed both with the food and service. We ordered some combination of bacon, eggs, and pancakes each time and found it to be of high quality and prepared well. We celebrated our anniversary with dinner in the John Ash & Co. restaurant and were very pleased. I ordered Mary's Brick Chicken (½ Mary’s boneless chicken griddled under a brick, creamed corn & leeks, sour cream whipped potatoes) and really enjoyed it. The chicken was cooked perfectly and seasoned well. It was, perhaps, just a bit too salty. But the corn, leeks, and potatoes were perfect! A great meal and I even had some to share with my husband. My husband ordered the Durham Ranch Beef Filet (with king trumpet mushrooms, sautéed spinach, cabernet reduction, and Redwood Hill smoked goat cheddar twice baked potato) and really enjoyed it. The steak was prepared just as he requested, medium-rare, and he was impressed with the reduction. For dessert, we were treated to a celebratory mini-crème brulee to celebrate our anniversary, and we ordered a seasonal fruit crumble off the dessert menu as well. Both were very good. My favorite was the housemade vanilla ice cream topping the crumble.

We played a game of bocce ball the afternoon we arrived, but I wish we had stayed an additional night/day, in order to rest more at the Inn and walk the jogging path/trail around the vineyard. We would happily stay here again and recommend this to others in the area. It is a perfect launching point for wine country travel. It is important to note that it is not within walking distance of wineries, etc. (as if you stayed in Healdsburg or St. Helena or somewhere similar), but it is in a lovely setting and is very near by car (or bike, if you prefer). It is a small Inn, so it certainly feels more warm and romantic than a hotel, but provides a little more privacy than a bed and breakfast. We found it to be perfect.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor of building 3 (at the back of the property), room 315. We had to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finertasteskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Vintners Inn exceeded my expectations. The room was beautiful as was the grounds of the property. The property sits right next to a vineyard and has a great jogging trail through the vinyard. In the morning, I awoke to this beautiful view complete with a hot air balloon in the sky. The staff were all extremely helpful. The on site restaurant was pricey but delicious. This can easily be a home base for exploring Sonoma and Nappa (about 45 mintues away).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2vk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at VIntner's Inn for my husband's 60th birthday. Upon our arrival, there was a complimentary half-bottle of wine in our room. Also, there was a birthday card and chocolates for my husband, which was such a nice surprise. Also, we had dinner ath their restaurant that evening, and they brought a complimentary creme brulee dessert with a candle on it. (I didn't request it; they just did it! So thoughtful.). The setting at the Vintner's Inn is beautiful; not like a regular hotel; but several attractive buildings clustered around a courtyard with a fountain in the center (that is lit up at night), flowers, gardens, etc. There is no pool, but there is an outdoor hot tub. Also a jogging trail around the property. Another reviewer said everyroom has a fireplace, which is not the case. Just some of the rooms. Ours did not, but we had a little balcony overlooking the courtyard and fountain. The restaurant on the property is excellent and has wonderful views overlooking the vineyard. All the staff were so welcoming, friendly, helpful, and professional. We highly recommend Vintners Inn and will definitely stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovemytravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
181 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

One of the most romantic spots I've ever stayed in. We stayed at the Vintners Inn on our honeymoon 25 years ago, a couple of times in the interim and again last week. It is a very lovely romantic setting. There is a fireplace in every room and logs are supplied. We lit a fire every evening and every morning of our stay. Beautiful grounds. They used to include breakfast but no longer do. Small private balcony with furniture.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darylqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you. How kind of you to not only say such kind things about Vintners Inn but to travel across country to stay on your 25th anniversary. I keep saying, our guests are the best! Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in the Healdsburg area many times.Usually downtown.
However, every thing was booked.
As members of the FC wine club their newsletter mentioned Vinters inn.
So we booked for a two night stay.Our experience was great. Very pleasant and helpful staff . Kudos to the manager of the breakfast room.
Sorry, HH.



Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fosterjlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We booked a suite at the Vintners for my 40th birthday dinner along with a reservation at the Restaurant. Both are excellent.

We paid an extra 50 for a suite and it was the best money I have spent on this vacation. I had 405 and it was HUGE. Private garden and furniture, just lovely.

The restaurant is a fabulous setting with very good food and inexpensive but damn good wine. In short, go there. It's smashing.

Room Tip: Pay the few dollars for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,000 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
570 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,282 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
447 reviews
21.9 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Property: Vintners Inn
Address: 4350 Barnes Rd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1514
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintners Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing