We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Real" Italian food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Restaurant

Riviera Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 524 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
windsor, ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Real" Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is an excellent restaurant that hopefully will continue to fly under the radar.

The food is prepared as it would be if this place were located in northern Italy (this is not Italian-American stuff). Service was friendly and efficient. The wine list had the usual suspects at very fair pricing. It's too bad they couldn't list some Vermentino or Pigato from Liguria (I believe the owners are from Genoa) but this is a very minor thing. Atmosphere is good and the food was authentic and, for the quality, inexpensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pinotperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    35
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Great Italian food, marvelous wait staff, quiet enough to have a dinner conversation! Four of us agreed this was the best restaurant we found in this beautiful wine country. Don't miss this place!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food like Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Small location but quaint, much like an Italian Restaurant in Italy, although they do like biking as there are bike shirts on the walls but it does not take away from the food. The fettuccine bolognese was as good and authentic as if you were Italy. Homemade pasta, Carbonara, homemade ravioli's and homemade bread is awesome here. The salads fresh and great tasting with just the right amount of dressings. Staff very friendly and attentive. We went early right around 5:30pm and did not have reservations on a week night and got in with no problem. I can see that you may need reservations on a weekend as it is a small place. Molto Buono!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KauaiOma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Simply delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We shared a stunning lunch here with friends. The service was wonderful and the meals excellent. Would totally reccomend

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nzdarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything they serve is delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

You know that you can't go wrong when local folks steer you to their favorite place. Our group was on a tour of wineries in the Russian River Valley when we asked some of the people at Hook and Ladder winery where they'd go for Italian food. They gave us an enthusiastic recommendation. And they were right! The Riviera has the rare combination of truly excellent food and good wines that is also reasonably priced. The prawns and scallops Veneziana (sauteed with lemon garlic sauce) was tasty and delicious - the special that evening was a similar dish served over risotto that others at our table raved about. My wife chose the ravioli "Odessa Gunn" with wild porcini mushrooms, tasty but the tomato basil sauce was a little weak on the basil. Of the deserts, the creme brulee was light and luscious, but the tiramisu was disappointing. Overall - I'd go back there next time I'm up in wine country.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank art l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riviera Restaurant also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Riviera Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing