We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a story!!!”
Review of Worth Our Weight

Worth Our Weight
Reserve with OpenTable
Worth Our Weight is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #225 of 530 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Worth Our Weight is a culinary apprentice program for under-served youth. Our restaurant is open for brunch on Sundays only. Reservations available on Open Table. We also cater.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a story!!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We know the story behind this place so the family and I went for breakfast one Saturday morning. WOW is right. Great service, food was excellent and the value is outstanding. We dropped a $45 'donation' for their service and great food (2 adults and 2 small kids who split a meal plus coffee and juice). Go there, enjoy and know you are contributing to a wonderful cause in Sonoma County if not the USA or world.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kmbyopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    5
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An amazing start to the day, with solid food”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

We came in for brunch, and the 6 of us enjoyed our meals, and walked away feeling good. I had a very well prepared eggs benedict, yum. I understand that the restaurant trains young adults and teens, who experience significant hardship or adversity, culinary skills and food service training. The food was good, the service was great, and when I'm in town next, I plan on stopping by. At the end of the meal, you are given an envelope to pay what you would like (like a donation), so make sure to bring cash or check. Overall, outstanding experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A stop worth finding!”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of finding this quint, hard to find, culinary special restaurant. This restaurant employees students who are getting first hand education in the art of cooking, serving and presentation of brunch specialties. The service and food were very good. The hours of operation are only Saturday 9-2 and Sundays 9-1. Recommend you call ahead to make reservations as space is limited. Charges are a donation based on the customer perception of quality of food, presentation and service. I would recommend this stop to anyone passing through Santa Rosa.

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Dream Come True.”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I've wanted to be a part of the WOW legacy and I finally got my chance! The students cooking and serving were SO polite and kind. The food was simple and authentic. We were humbled to donate the cost of our food - they don't charge prices. They allow you to decide what to give.

There are cooks on this globe with dying passions for their work; they should meet and eat at WOW to rekindle the fire.

Best breakfast I've had outside of my own home in years.

Go and give them a huge donation so they can keep up the incredible program!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandyanapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Here's the bottom line: the food is excellent. Even if you don't get the part about helping these once-troubled but deserving youth to find a career path in the culinary arts, you just have to try this place. Service is great, food is great and you decide how much it was worth as your bill is 100% up to you to decide upon when you're done.

But if you do have a soul and want to add some good karma to your portfolio, you'll get even more satisfaction in knowing that your meal donation was something that was going towards helping these youths to find a better path in life. I would eat here every week if I could.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TR182Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Worth Our Weight also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Worth Our Weight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing