We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Dinner in Santa Rosa!”

The Spinster Sisters
Ranked #21 of 525 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the Arts District of Santa Rosa, The Spinster Sisters restaurant is open every day: Monday 8am-2:30pm, Tue-Thur from 8am until 9pm for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner (10pm Fri/Sat dinner service). We serve Brunch on Sat-Sun from 9am until 2:30pm. American cuisine inspired by the flavors of the world, served family style in a casual, modern setting. Experience the large rectangular bar where wine country locals, wine makers and chefs meet.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Dinner in Santa Rosa!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had an unplanned dinner at The Spinster Sisters, because the restaurant we had originally wanted to eat at was closed. We were surprised by the number of people that were there when we arrived since it was getting a bit late…especially for a Tuesday night, but once we had eaten, we understood. My husband had the chicken and I had the salmon (in addition to sharing two appetizers and a dessert), and it was all delicious. We would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    35
    16
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I wanted it to be better than it was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have been here several times but the last two sadly have been progressively gone from mhhheh to downright bad. Started when we ordered wine, they did not have it and we ordered another asked for recommendation and didn't get one she didn't know the wine list. Then, they didn't have second bottle third one was good they were out of the special the fritters were so undercooked we had to send them back runny dough inside. Finally got lunch and they had put bacon into salad when we ask asked please no bacon, waitress said they would redo but they didn't see any bacon in salad what sorry to bother you... Last straw so many flys one went into wine glass decidedly bad meal maybe it was just an off day we will go again and that be the determination of if we will continue to go. Kinda bummed

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Minimalist”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We wanted to go out last night and spent a lot of time trying to figure out where to go. We used a Sonoma Magazine-where to eat now to help us and went online to research the menus. Seems like most of all the places they recommend are hoity toidy mooshy poofy froo froo $30 a plate and up, expensive wines types of place, so we picked the Spinster Sisters not far from the RR District. Talk about minimal and insipid. I ordered a Mixed Local Greens salad and it consisted of about seven pieces of lettuce with hardly enough dressing to coat the lettuce which consisted of oil and vinegar and that was it for $6. We also ordered a Charcuterie plate of salamis that we thought would have cheese with it, but it didn't, but included some burnt bread and little tiny olives $16. More insipid.For the main we ordered the Pan Roasted King Salmon dish and it was over some rice and hard undercooked cubed zucchini. $25. The salmon had a little bit of olives mashed on the top of the burnt skin side, but was dry-dry-dry, and not worth finishing. So after we figured out it wasn't blackened fish, after a bite, and just burnt skin, we flipped it over, scraped the dry olives off the burnt skin to eat. No flavor and no sauce. Obviously, the Chef never tastes the food before he serves it or if he does, he has no taste buds. So with such insipid courses, we passed on desert as I didn't want another disappointment. So after all that research looking for a good place that doesn't charge too much and gives tiny portions with little dots and swiggles of colorful insipid sauce painted on a plate, we got some overpriced salmon and insipid food for around $120. We each had two glasses of Chardonnay (happy hour prices, so that was a deal).Oh, well, so much for all that research. Also when we went in, we were the first ones there, and the noise level was through the roof, can't imagine what it would be like if lots of other people were there. I read articles in the paper about this place that said how good it is. Hummmm. We wanted to try a new place. Was fun, good service, wine and coffee, just because we enjoy wherever we go, because even with bad or insipid food it is tolerable with good company (Steve). Not that the Spinster Sisters left a bad taste in my mouth, it left a dry, no taste in my mouth.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome dinner spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

When I'm working in Santa Rosa, I always try to make it to Spinster Sister's for dinner. I love the menu items whether bites or full plates, the service is always good, and the food is fantastic. Great wine, too. The vibe there is really relaxed and the decor is very hip, artsy, easy on the eye.
Although I ate there with colleagues, it's not the most private setting for a serious business as the tables are close, and the hard surfaces tend to echo sound just a little. There is a nice long table for groups, too.
I hear their brunch/breakfast is also worthy of a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They've got the goove goin...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I commend whomever it was that took every detail into account when they conceived this place. Hip but tasteful in service, decor and menu, right down to the servingware. We've eaten here four or five times now, and have always been delighted with the uniqueness of the offerings, and the skill with which they are both prepared and presented (both kitchen and waitstaff have always been on perfect point.) In what will be if it's not already, the new cool neighborhood with the new cool "SR" vibe, Spinster Sisters is forging the path for hipness in (previously decidedly un-hip) Santa Rosa. Thanks for that!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KimWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spinster Sisters also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to The Spinster Sisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing