We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tea with the Queen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tudor Rose English Tea Room

Tudor Rose English Tea Room
Ranked #10 of 23 Coffee & Tea in Santa Rosa
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tea with the Queen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The decor is English, the owner is English, ably assisted by her daughter, and the scones are decidedly English, baked on the premises. The tea room features a considerable choice of teas and pastries. It was a most enjoyable visit. I shall return soon for high tea.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GraycatbirdHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Oh, so, loverly... lots of chocolates for me to eat...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Life sometimes gets in the way of relaxing. No better place in the Bay Area to relax with friends, curl up alone, or people watch than at the Tudor Rose. The décor is splendid. Staff & chef are professional, yet inviting.

You are treated like the American cousin. Forgot your hat? Borrow one off the hat racks. Can't decide? Ladies will help you.
Lot's of perfectly brew tea. Each pot is fresh, not just adding hot water to old tea.

Ingredients are fresh and suppliers are local. Food choices are endless, full high tea with sweet, savory and gluten free scones. Among my favorites on the menu are beef, chicken, veggie pasties. Many sandwiches to select, I know you'll find yours yummy. What a simply taste? Soups or salad. Unwinding? Wine or beer, maybe with a sausage roll. Sweets are divine The chef creates seasonal selections, too.

Need not be pricey, split high tea with a friend. You really get your money's worth, be it high tea $20+ or just the many under $8 choices. Feeling too alone, ask Bears Betz or Sammy to join you.

This is a great place for a party. I've booked the nook for a holiday party for my friends.

I expect Eliza Doolittle and Professor Henry Higgins to walk in singing at any minute.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoop2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delightful downtown tearoom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Tudor Rose is a beautifully decorated English tearoom with a unique touch…the walls have a very realistic faux stone finish. Put that together with the lovely fireplace and we felt like we were in the sitting room of a British castle. The owner Angela is very friendly and attentive, as is her daughter, Leanne. Afternoon tea was served on beautiful vintage china. They have a very nice selection of teas--something for everyone. They also serve it iced, which was nice on one hot afternoon visit. The set teas include a nice assortment of savories such as sausage rolls and meat pies, as well as scones and sweets. The scone flavors vary by day and the three we had were all heavenly. The only reason I didn’t give 5 stars was that on two visits, the sandwich fillings were spread a bit too thinly and the pastie was quite bland tasting. However, they were very accepting of constructive comments, and I'm sure they have made improvements in these areas. Overall this wonderful tearoom is a great addition to the North Bay restaurant scene and I look forward to returning soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PrimroseLlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
856 reviews
581 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Tea and lunch with the "Ladies"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

A friend took two of us to tea and lunch to celebrate our birthdays. What a treat. The decor is a nicely decorated tea room. The charm of English tea cups, saucers and dishes were present on the tables and some on display. The mix and match of different sets made them interesting and eye catching. The menu has a generous variety of teas to be brewed by the pot. We choose the rosé tea and ordered a large pot for the table. Scones were ordered, fruit and savory. They were served with clotted cream, jam, and applesauce. Our Shakespeare salads were delicious, mixed greens, olives, hard boiled egg slices, slices of potato, capers and a tasty dressing. During our lunch one of the servers sang to us. She has an obviously well trained and beautiful voice. The other staff sang the chorus with her. We all enjoyed both our food and entertainment!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
287 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Our New Favorite Place in Santa Rosa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We JUST found this place! It has only been open for a few months, and we happened to notice it while in downtown Santa Rosa one evening. It is only open from 11am to 5pm, so we went back the next day for lunch. We will absolutely return over and over again! The food and pastries were delectable. The choice of tea was wonderful. The atmosphere is reminiscent of what you would find in Victoria, BC or Great Britain. But what makes this place REALLY REALLY special is the staff! The three ladies that were there that day were friendly and entertaining. Waiting on tables is more like playing a character in a play to them. AND THEY SING! Our waitress was Abbey, and she had the most beautiful singing voice. She was attentive, funny, and made our lunch extremely enjoyable. They have hats on the wall that you can take down and wear for tea. You get to choose your teacup. Everything about our lunch was special, and now we need to bring all our friends here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wildwoodatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tudor Rose English Tea Room also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Tudor Rose English Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing