We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried and true, I love you, Jhanthong Banbua,”
Review of Jhanthong Banbua

Jhanthong Banbua
Ranked #55 of 535 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
902 reviews
612 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Tried and true, I love you, Jhanthong Banbua,”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

I have been eating here for years!!!! I love the food, and love the choices with the lunch specials. One of the staff, I pronounce her name Naun, is the best. Friendly, great service, a smile and humor. I will continue to enjoy the food here as often as I can. Always delicious, fresh and fine even if you are on a working lunch schedule!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ukiah, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Authentic tasting, lots of choices, fresh not frozen or canned!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I have been to Thailand a couple times so I am kinda spoiled when it comes to Thai food. I really appreciate the use of at least some of the many indigenous Thai spices & herbs, fresh greens & other fresh veggies, & choice of coconut milk or curry w/I coconut milk. I am vegetarian; 2 of the 3 dishes we ordered were delicious: red curry w/coconut milk & veggies/tofu w/peanut sauce. Very nice spectrum of flavors.
The veggie pad thai was a bit bland however & not at all reminiscent of the street vendor pad thai--no cabbage or bean sprouts mixed in (some supplied on the side I think). Overall tho the 3 of us at my table were pleased

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovefur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not so much.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is an interesting place but we really weren't happy with the food. Weirdly spiced, slimy rice noodles and the rest of the food was "meh." On top of this, the music they played was a little worse than elevator music which made the whole experience less than fun.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myszia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Too oily for me....”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

When I think of Thai food I don't usually think of grease bombs. But, unfortunately, my food came out a bit too oily for me...Which was too bad, I was really looking forward to a new Thai place in town!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Regular Thai Place”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We've been going to this place for about 20 years--since it first opened, as a matter of fact. it's changed hands a couple of times I think, but the food has remained great. They have nice lunch specials, and the dinners are always good. My fave for many years has been a noodle dish called Kanom Jean Nam Pik, Thai rice noodles with tiny shrimp, sliced green beans, hard boiled egg and greens, covered with a lightly spicy peanut sauce. Delicious! Oddly, the restaurant is set at the front end of a residential motel complex; be careful to park only in restaurant spots. Friends and coworkers and I have had lunches, dinners and even birthday and retirement events here, always leaving with smiles on our faces. Jhanthong Banbua is a treasure! Oh--They'll do take-out, too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmcredwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jhanthong Banbua also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Jhanthong Banbua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing