We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a clean and efficient room”
Review of Sandman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandman
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Sandman had really everything we were looking for; a good value (under $100 including taxes), clean room, comfortable bed and quiet. They offer breakfast but since we had other plans we were not able to take advantage of this. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We only stayed one night to attend a wedding close by. The room was very clean and smelled fresh. Bed was a little harder than I like and pillows not great but all in all it was perfect for what we needed. Our room was in the very back across from the pool and was quit. You can bring a small pet but it is $25.00 more per day. We had our 7lb dog and just hid her since it was only one night, request a room in back. I think $25.00 is too much per night if they don't do anytime to the room. They should charge a small amount or take a deposit. If all looks good when you leave give the money back. I have never paid this much to have my dog with me. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and would go back. There is a restaurant right next door as well.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are quieter. Security cameras in parking lots which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirl929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The price is pretty fair ($87) for this hotel and the location is good if you want to access the freeway, the Armstrong Redwood State Reserve and certain wineyards. The major complaint I had was the high noise level due to the thin walls between the rooms and also the traffic noise.

Pros: Good price, continental breakfast included, large rooms, large flat screenTV, nice shower heads, comfortable bed, small gym

Cons: Noisy (thin walls)

I am not sure if I would stay here again as I was woken up at least twice every night by other tenants and loud vehicles.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MP4411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed here a couple of nights. The rooms were nice and clean and smelled fresh. The conveniences included a mini-fridge, microwave, in-room coffee and a flat screen hdtv. The continental breakfast was good with some nice choices. The location is centrally located and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverhawk95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was our second stay at this motel. It is very conveniently located for quick and easy access
to the highway for getting to the coast as well as Napa/Sonoma. Parking, wi fi and continental
breakfast are included. Breakfast is cereal, toast, waffles, pastries, a limited selection of fresh
fruit, as well as hard-cooked eggs and yoghurt. Dining area is well maintained and you can eat
in the dining room or at tables at the pool area. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are
clean and quiet, although they could use a bit of updating. There are lots of restaurants in the
area. There are newer and fancier places to stay, but we found the value for the price is hard to
beat. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcothibault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We booked this hotel at the end of September, 2013 while attending a wedding in nearby Sabastipol, CA. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and easily accessed. The breakfast included in the relatively low daily rate is substantial and has a variety of foods. A shopping center and a Trader's Joe are a few minutes away by foot. Also nearby by car are the Charles Shultz Museum and the Luther Burbank Home. I highly recommend these sites if you have the time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our car club stayed here during our trip into Northern California. The facility is quite large but the parking spaces were large which relieved us of having our cars dinged by those parked by us. The rooms are large and were very clean. I'd would stay here again if I find myself in Santa Rosa. The only downside was that there are few restaurants around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.3 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 24 in Santa Rosa
591 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#5 of 24 in Santa Rosa
706 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#11 of 24 in Santa Rosa
125 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#3 of 24 in Santa Rosa
459 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman

Address: 3421 Cleveland Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-2146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range: £99 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman is a mythical creature who brings good dreams by sprinkling magical sand on the weary eyes of those sleeping. In the city of Santa Rosa, the Sandman is a new incarnation of a roadside inn that brings a warm and offbeat experience to weary travelers. Situated at the northernmost edge (nearly within shouting distance of Sonoma's wineries) the Sandman's muted colors, warm woods, and relaxed design will welcome you in. Sink into the casual comfort of the lobby, lounge by the pool, or enjoy a local brew at Sandman's new poolside bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Santa Rosa
Sandman Motel Santa Rosa
Sandman Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing