We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bargain with Quality”
Review of Sandman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandman
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Bargain with Quality”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a fantastic base for exploration of Sonoma Valley wineries and other sights. The price couldn't be righter. The room was perfectly serviceable and quiet. An unexpectedly large pool with several shaded tables/chairs, a lovely place to consume the provided breakfast. The included breakfast itself was the usual fare (including make your own waffles and hard boiled eggs) and featured quite good coffee. The young lady who took care of that was very sweet and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shermusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    203
    63
    28
    13
See reviews for
117
144
41
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Check in says 4 PM but I got to Santa Rosa early and it was 93 degrees. I killed some time at KMart across street but decided to try checking in hour early to get out of heat--no problem. Nice big room and a/c really works. They have Exercise Room & Laundry. Plenty of dining options within walking distance and a Trader Joes nearby. Motel located at the North End of Santa Rosa and fairly easy to get to. It was Nascar weekend and placed filled up Saturday and Sunday night it was fairly empty again. I liked the Continental Breakfast served in building by pool. It was clean with plenty of choices. Had girl constantly restocking. Gas stations are close. I was surprised at how big motel was, it has rooms in 3 buildings. For the conveniences and quiet it was a good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom95531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Was in Santa Rosa for a wedding and found this hotel in my search. Great decision! Had a top floor corner room overlooking the pool area. Spacious room had a queen bed, table and two chairs. Bathroom area had large vanity, separate tub/toilet room. The door to the room had a bit of a gap..would suggest they fix it for better efficiency. fridge and microwave too. Was just minutes away from everyone at the Hyatt that were paying more than double the price!

Room Tip: I always prefer upstairs so people aren't walking around above me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aztravelgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. We chose it for its location, amenities and price. The hotel also allowed pets and had a very nice area for our dog. For those items we were not disappointed. The room was clean and the other guests were polite and quiet. Continental breakfast was what we expected - nothing special. We were, however, disappointed with the way we were treated on our final day. Our room key would not work at breakfast and we could not get back in our room after we ate. When we went to the front desk we were rather rudely told that since we were checking out that day we only had a "one time" card use. At this point, our card had not worked at all. We were told that we should keep our door open while we were moving out of the room. We were surprised at this comment since we had never heard this before at any other place we have stayed. Another desk clerk then assisted us and gave us a full use card good until noon (checkout). We also had a package delivered there which arrived on the day we checked in. They did not let us know the package was there and when we learned that it had in fact been delivered by the retailer, we had already checked out and had to make a special trip to return to the hotel for our package. I realize that this is an isolated incident but gave us a not-so-good feeling about the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COHarleyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in room 210 for a Friday and a Sat night. 2 queen beds. The room was very attractive; included a frig and microwave; coffee maker, ironing setup, etc. It had a really nice sink area with marble type top..nice fixtures. Very nice tub/shower with attractive surround. Shower head was wonderful..lots of massaging water choices. The whole room was spotlessly clean. The rooms there have apparently been upgraded and modernized, but unlike other hotels...this one did an outstanding professional job doing it. The price for the area was excellent. $95/night with AAA. You must show your AAA card upon check-in. Also included breakfast with the standard fare of waffles, hardboiled eggs, cereals, etc. etc. Very well run by an attentive staff. The coffee in the thermoses was constantly monitored and replaced.
THere is also a swimming pool and a jacuzzi..heated. They also have pet-friendly rooms available for a $25 deposit.
Our relatives in the area said they have never recommended this Inn because the outside has an older look so they assumed the inside was as well..but they will recommend it now.
My husband never comments on any places we stay but he told me this one was a winner.
I base the 5 star rating not on a comparison to a a Ritz-Carlton which really isn't fair, but I base it on the value for the area and the quality of the room. The other motels in the area ranged $200-400/night as it is a high tourist area close to Sonoma. You need to book this one way ahead as it will be booked if there is a wine festival or wedding in the area.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Second floor..smoke free; pet free
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greensgirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I wasn't impressed when we first arrived as it looked like a standard motel with exterior entrances and the front desk person wasn't particularly friendly at check in. The property is also grouped into buildings and we were left without direction late at night to find our room. The rest of the stay however was very enjoyable. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with convenient amenities including a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The hot tub on the property welcomed us at the end of the day and although we didn't use it, the large pool was very enticing. The motel is located within minutes of hundreds of wineries (Santa Rosa to Healdsburg) and is also central to several restaurants, diners and markets. The toiletries included a conditioning shampoo, soap and lotion so be sure to bring a true conditioner if you need it. There are many smoking rooms on the property so be sure to be specific when booking as well as paying attention to the size of the bed. There were some noises at night that we couldn't decipher and the air conditioner is rather loud so bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFCrabette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Check-in and check-out process was a breeze. They gave us a choice of a 2nd or 1st floor room. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. A huge plus was extended hours for breakfast on the weekend; they serve until 10:30a. There is also a trader joes close by in case you want to get something a little more to eat.

Main issue with the room was that the walls are a little thin so you can hear what is happening in adjacent rooms. Not enough to keep you awake but enough to be slightly annoying. Also, our door had to be slammed shut in order to lock and the a/c wouldn't work. We didn't bring these to the attention of the motel because we only stayed one night but based on their front desk customer desk, I'm sure that they would have fixed it.

Overall a good place at a good value.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.3 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
570 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,000 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
447 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman

Property: Sandman
Address: 3421 Cleveland Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-2146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman is a mythical creature who brings good dreams by sprinkling magical sand on the weary eyes of those sleeping. In the city of Santa Rosa, the Sandman is a new incarnation of a roadside inn that brings a warm and offbeat experience to weary travelers. Situated at the northernmost edge (nearly within shouting distance of Sonoma's wineries) the Sandman's muted colors, warm woods, and relaxed design will welcome you in. Sink into the casual comfort of the lobby, lounge by the pool, or enjoy a local brew at Sandman's new poolside bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Santa Rosa
Sandman Motel Santa Rosa
Sandman Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing