We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good basic place to stay”
Review of Sandman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandman
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“good basic place to stay”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I give this 3.5 stars. We stayed one night while passing through the area. This hotel was not far from the downtown area (maybe 10 minutes) so it was in a good location. In general I felt quite safe in this area. Check in was easy and staff was friendly. The room was adequate for a one night stay. Most everything was clean. The bathtub did need some cleaning as there was a nasty ring where you could see the clean versus the dirty part. A good scrubbing would take care of it. The pool and hotub looked fine, we didn't use either so I can't really say anything more about those. One nice perk with this place is that it provides a pretty decent breakfast as part of your stay. The breakfast room is located by the pool. It is pretty small and tables fill quickly. Many people were getting food to go. We managed to get a table. Fruit, yogurt, bagels, english muffins, bread (for toast), cereal, waffles (make your own), and hard boiled eggs were available. coffee, tea, and juice were also provided. I was quite pleased with this selection. The young woman who was working in this area, did a good job making sure food bins were full and tables were cleaned. Overall, I would recommend this place as somewhere to stay while in this area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hulagirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    210
    73
    29
    14
See reviews for
127
155
43
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This motel offer excellent value for money, the rooms were very large & clean nice comfy bed with a superb large screen TV. Service was very good when checking in. Nice pool area to relax. Breakfast area is quite crammed and for the size of the motel a little on the small side.
I would recommend asking for rooms away from the main highway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our 2nd visit, and it was just as good. We are budget motel folks as I'd much rather spend money on fancy food and wine. For the busy July 4th weekend, you just couldn't beat their prices and corresponding quality: $91/night, good mattress, big screen TV, spacious/quality room, good service, decent free b-fast (if you can handle the crowds). An assorted range of regular folk seem to stay here. Nice pool area. Glad we came back. We will come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I needed to spend a few days before and after a cycling trip to the Redwoods and was very pleased with this accommodation. Most of the hotels in this area are extremely expensive and I only needed a place to sleep and shower. It was very hot but the room was comfortable as it had air conditioning. The motel was sold out the first night as there was a wedding but the people were quiet and I did not hear them come in. A bus transported them. I would stay here again if I was in the area and just needed a place to sleep. There is a swimming pool and it is close to many attractions.

Room Tip: If you travel in the summer ask for a room where your car will be close by and in the shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan35614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We generally stay in hotels and resorts when traveling so my wife and I were a bit skeptical about a motel that isn't even affiliated with a brand name/chain. But when we decided to make a weekend out of a day trip to go canoeing on the Russian River 2 weeks before the 4th of July weekend our choices were limited . Everything else in the area was booked (or absurdly overpriced) Boy were we surprised and pleased with our choice! Sandman has everything you'll find at the brand name places at half to one third the price. And you can't beat the location - 10 min. to downtown Santa Rosa, 5 min. the Charles Schulz museum, one exit from wineries on River Road.

Check in was a breeze, The room was sparkling clean. The beds were comfortable and the free wi-fi had a strong signal everywhere on the property. The mini-fridge kept everything super cold and the microwave was useful to heat up leftovers so we didn't have to run out for lunch.

The complimentary continental breakfast was definitely adequate (although the space is rather cramped when there are more than a few people trying to grab a bite and eat inside the poolside cabana). The woman attending to it keeps everything stocked, cleans up the tables quickly and makes sure the entire operation runs smoothly.

Our 6 y.o. loved the pool which was big enough that it never felt crowded - there was always somewhere to sit and plenty of tables with umbrellas. The one suggestion I have is to find somewhere else to keep the clean towels at the pool - looking in the bathrooms isn't intuitive and just seems a bit odd.

Bottom line - we liked it so much we've decided that we need to go canoeing again Labor day weekend so we can spend a couple days at Sandman relaxing in the Santa Rosa sun!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveInBernal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hadn't heard of this motel until reading about it on TA. Really good value for the money. It was clean and had the typical continental breakfast in a separate building by the pool. It was raining when we were there so didn't use the pool, but it looked clean and nice. Staff was very friendly. Location ideal for seeing the local sites around Santa Rosa. We would stay there again (2 adults, 2 small children).

Room Tip: We had a room in the rear building facing the pool and was satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpc97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great rooms, more than just clean but updated as well. Only few miles to downtown for adult beverages at RUSSIAN RIVER BREWING. I usually don't need anything but coffee in the morning but really enjoyed the poolside continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DINKS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.3 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
578 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
685 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,308 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
453 reviews
1.5 mi away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 25 in Santa Rosa
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman

Property: Sandman
Address: 3421 Cleveland Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-2146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman is a mythical creature who brings good dreams by sprinkling magical sand on the weary eyes of those sleeping. In the city of Santa Rosa, the Sandman is a new incarnation of a roadside inn that brings a warm and offbeat experience to weary travelers. Situated at the northernmost edge (nearly within shouting distance of Sonoma's wineries) the Sandman's muted colors, warm woods, and relaxed design will welcome you in. Sink into the casual comfort of the lobby, lounge by the pool, or enjoy a local brew at Sandman's new poolside bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Sandman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Santa Rosa
Sandman Motel Santa Rosa
Sandman Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing