We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating to visiting marathoners”
Review of Sandman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandman
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very accommodating to visiting marathoners”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Wow! I was blown away at the courtesy shown to us visiting the city for the Santa Rosa Half Marathon. Usually hotels can barely keep their annoyance hidden at the flood of us overwhelming their city. This hotel had automatically given all the runners a late checkout to 1 p.m. Our room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. My only minor complaints were that the wi-fi signal was very weak and the morning breakfast they offered wasn't really good pre-race food. The walls weren't sound-proof, so we heard the guests walking past our door, but it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    203
    69
    28
    13
See reviews for
121
148
42
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We were here for a run cation with friends. The pool area with jacuzzi was well used by us for socializing together and for recovering after a half or full marathon. There is a Trader Joe's practically next door, and a roomy refrigerator that makes healthy eating feasible while staying here. It's also a 1.4 mile walk to the Charles Schultz museum. We were here for the August 24th earthquake and while we all were awoken by the quake, everything held together. Easy access to route 101. Breakfast nothing to write home about, but they did have cereals, coffee, juice, bread, waffles, and yogurt. Some friends thought bed was hard but we liked it. Nice, easy to use tv.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Treehugger14625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed here based on reviews from Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. This motel is clean, comfortable, and well-managed. Although "no frills," all necessary amenities are provided. The pool and Jacuzzi are especially nice and well-maintained with ample chaise lounges, tables, and chairs. I was surprised at the generous breakfast offerings at no extra cost with the option of eating in or poolside. Our rooms were ground floor and not far from the main entrance; however, we were able to park directly in front of each one and were not bothered by noise. My only complaint was that the queen bed, although still comfortable, was sagging at the edges. It seems time for new mattresses! The surrounding areas have a Carrow's, Carl's Jr, Trader Joe's, and a Mexican restaurant but seemed a little seedy on our walk. Overall, we'd stay again.

Room Tip: The 2- story property winds around the back near the pool, so there are many options. We found it q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cattylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Reading the other reviews on this property, we booked for a one night stay in August.

The property and staff exceeded our expectations, ( based on those other reviews we read), as the property was well maintained a the staff could not have been more accommodating.

The next time we are in Santa Rosa, we will lodge here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are most quiet, and there are plenty of convenience stores with in walking distanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1952Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I paid for this place for aprox $80 a night for a Queen room. Got it on a web discount. I was looking on Orbitz but all I found were expensive hotels for >$120 a night. Found this place on Google Maps and I am so glad I did. For $80 I get a very clean room, a comfortable clean bed with lots of pillows, minifridge, microwave and a free waffle breakfast every morning of my stay. The motel is also centrally located to a lot of restaurants and sundry shops so it really is perfect. It is also very safe as it is well-staffed. The pool is also very clean and quite largely sized. This place also seems to be rather full of guests - the parking lot is full at night, so they must be doing well (it is currently mid-August) The only con to this place is thinner walls so noises come through easier, but hey for $80 this place really can't be beat.

Room Tip: For elderly and frail guests, ask for a bottom-floor room. For quieter room ask for the rooms tucked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wonderland62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We were here for one night only, and found the place to be a great value. Huge pool, well equipped room, easy access to 101 and downtown Santa Rosa. Lots, of contractors stayed here, but made little noise in the morning as they headed off to work

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank crotchety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsburg, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was traveling here with my dog for a business trip and needed a relatively cheap place that would accept pets. A fellow associate of mine recommended the Sandman so I gave it a try. While it is an older hotel my room had recently been painted and overall it was clean and nice to stay in. The king bed room was large and had a huge stuffed chair in it as well. It was quiet most of the time and while the motel was full on Saturday night, I didn't hear much once I went to bed.
The grounds are good for dogs with a large grass area for relieving in the back which is lighted and has the necessary equipment to clean up after your dog.
The pool and hot tub were clean and nice to use after a long day of work.
Be prepared to outsmart the air conditioning wall sensor (I would suggest some painters tape and a piece of tissue!) if you want your room cool when you come back after being out all day especially during the summer time!
I would stay here again as this was a much better value than the Best Western I stayed in last time!

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor in the back and it was very quiet during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.3 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
573 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,016 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
451 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman

Property: Sandman
Address: 3421 Cleveland Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-2146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman is a mythical creature who brings good dreams by sprinkling magical sand on the weary eyes of those sleeping. In the city of Santa Rosa, the Sandman is a new incarnation of a roadside inn that brings a warm and offbeat experience to weary travelers. Situated at the northernmost edge (nearly within shouting distance of Sonoma's wineries) the Sandman's muted colors, warm woods, and relaxed design will welcome you in. Sink into the casual comfort of the lobby, lounge by the pool, or enjoy a local brew at Sandman's new poolside bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Santa Rosa
Sandman Motel Santa Rosa
Sandman Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing