We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place !!”
Review of Hotel La Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Rose
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Reviewed 22 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here out of default really as the hotel were had booked had a fire and would not be able to open, they actually recommended La Rosa. We could not be more pleased, we were upgraded at no charge and just great people. Lots of things nearby too! I would highly reccomend.

Room Tip: ask for the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobby59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Thank you for your kind words and joining the Hotel La Rose family. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

The Hotel La Rose is located in the perfect spot in downtown Santa Rosa, within a few feet of the Visitors Bureau, a French restaurant, numerous wonderful restaurants and coffee houses, and also has a very nice restaurant of its own located in the hotel.

The staff was exceptionally attentive and helpful. The room was clean, nicely decorated - just know that it is a vintage hotel, built in 1906 with a distinct charm of its own. If you are looking for new and modern, this is not for you. If you are looking for historic charm, a romantic ambience and a quaint feel, this is definitely the right hotel. I would definitely stay there again. There was no ghost sighting - which was fine with me!

Room Tip: My room was a junior suite but had some noise from the neon sign. Other family members stayed in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinnyN417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel La Rose and Bistro 1907 on your recent visit to Santa Rosa. We always love to read comments from our guest / Hotel La Rose Family concerning your rooming needs. As you stated we have our in house restaurant Bistro 1907 that joined our management May 7, 2012. We look forward to hosting your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at Hotel La Rose. The location can't be beat in order to take advantage of the Santa Rosa area. The staff is friendly and the hotel is very clean with lots of personality. The street traffic does tend to pick up in the early morning hours and since the hotel is old, noise easily carries into the rooms facing the street. The TV in the room is old-fashioned and small, but if you're in Santa Rosa, chances are that you're not spending time watching TV in your room anyway! Across the street is a terrific coffee shop call A'roma, which would be worth visiting even if it weren't so convenient. Parking for the hotel is free in the lot behind A'roma. This hotel is a great option for anyone who doesn't want to stay in a chain hotel and who wants something more reflective of the area.

Room Tip: ask for something quiet, maybe away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MjsAjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Thank you for the kind words concerning Hotel La Rose. On your next stay with us remember to try our in house restaurant Bistro 1907. The entire staff wishes to thank every guest / family member for staying with us and works hard everyday to uphold a long tradition or hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

For the last 5-6 years, we have visited Santa Rosa every February for a weekend of beer tasting. Yes, beer! We know most come to this area for wine but the breweries around are worth a stop (Russian River, Lagunitas, Bear Republic) and Hotel La Rose is a nice central location. In addition, the hotel is within walking distance of a fantastic coffee shoppe (Aroma), dozens of restaurants, and the local mall.

We have returned to Hotel La Rose five times - and we will be back again. The hotel is quaint, clean, and comfortable. The rooms are a nice size and include a table with two chairs and some include a couch. The TV is small and hard to see from the bed - but, then, we aren't really there for the TV but to sleep and rejuvenate after a full day of touring and beer tasting. We were buried among the cozy down comforter and pillows. Best of all: the curtains suitably block out the daylight should you find yourself in need of a nap after ice skating at Snoopy's Rink :-)

The staff has always been warm and welcoming. In particular, Janet has greeted us with a smile for the last five years ... and remembers us!! We love knowing we'll see her and she has been the source of many a fantastic recommendation for food or a sports bar to watch our beloved hockey team.

We'll be back again next year. It is an annual get-away that we really look forward to and we'd be sorely disappointed to not get a room at Hotel La Rose.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Thank you for your kind words and most importantly your return stays with Hotel La Rose. Updates for all of our rooms as we are continuing to do and listening to all of our family / guest new TVs have already started to be replaced in some of the rooms and we look to continue until all guest rooms have been updated.

Once again thank you and we look forward to your next stay / visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed at Hotel La Rose from June 23 - 28th 2012. Santa Rosa is a great base camp for touring Sonoma and Napa wine countries. The hotel is historic and very central to downtown Santa Rosa. Great restaurants and bars are within walking distance of this hotel. Our room was dark but quiet and clean. The bathroom was huge, bright, and full of character with an old fashioned feel. We loved the feather bed and the free wifi, even though it didn't work too well in our room. The hotel is allegedly haunted, which adds a nice mystic to the hotel! Supposedly there was a family staying in room 42 and the family was killed by bandits. The ghost of the little boy and maybe his sister, who were killed in the murders, rides the elevator up and down and climbs the stairs at night looking for their parents. I have no verification that this is true but the story is very interesting!! There is a video on YouTube of a Halloween seance at the hotel in room 42! Free parking is across the street in a shared parking lot next to an awesome coffee shop. The hotel restaurant was waiting for a liquor license when we were there and never seemed to be busy. All in all a nice hotel but is lacking 5 stars due to the darkness of the room, the weak wifi, and the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Thank you for your thoughts and kind words concerning your stay with us. I have not been told lately that our rooms were dark, I have been told romantic lol. Please note that we take all comments and suggestions very serious as we are here to truly please our guest. The restaurant Bistro 1907 is a work in progress and we look forward to continued growth and perfection as it moves forward in time. Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We love this hotel and return often. This stay was on Thanksgiving day, Nov 2012, and we arrived with no reservation, just hoping we could stay in Hotel La Rose, since we prefer always to stay in historical hotels, and this is a favorite for many sentimental reasons.

Usually we LOVE our room, but not so much this time, although we're not complaining because it was the ONLY room available. It was room 47, top floor. Bed nice, pillows just okay (and too few of them), TV much too small for the room, one smallish window. Due to top floor, ceiling is sloped, but there was plenty of room to walk around - the room is positively cavernous. Two chairs to sit in, also, and good bedside lights. Because of the busy holiday, we were lucky to get a room at all, and were so happy to be able to stay in Railroad Square area, which we really love.

We both felt the rate ($129) a little steep for the room, which was just okay in terms of decor/design.

Biggest drawback is that the tv was miniscule for the size of the room. Could barely see it from the bed, which was pretty far from the TV, and the TV was far on the right side, and pretty low on a table, so two people would have to contort themselves a bit to both have a few of the tv. Since we couldn't see the TV, we read books - a good solution!

There is a bar and restaurant combo downstairs, which are small-town friendly. Since it was Thanksgiving, they were not serving off the menu, but instead had a huge feast dinner. Since we're vegetarian, paying to eat a turkey would have been horrendous, so they graciously let us choose a few items from the "feast" and we dined on fresh veggies and other "side" dishes, which were excellent to outstanding. The bartender suggested a Pinot which was also outstanding.

The location is wonderful - Santa Rosa's "Railroad Square." Walk to a few good restaurants, great shops, and even the huge mall just a few blocks away. Great coffee house across the street where you can go to use and plug in your laptop (see separate review: Aroma Cafe).

The personnel at Hotel La Rose were excellent in every way, bending over backward to make sure we had a good stay.

If you dine in their restaurant, provide your room key for a 15% discount on your entire bill!

There was a breakfast in the morning in a roomy back room. We always sleep in late when on vacation, and still made it in time for coffee and bagels.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 47.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Hotel La Rose and Bistro 1907 wish to thank you for your comments and look forward to your next stay with us. Remember your comments and comments like your help us make your stay a better one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We have stayed at many historic hotels in the past and make a point of spending a night at one whenever possible.
The location of the La Rose is very nice as it is in the old part of Santa Rosa with restaurants, coffee houses and bars nearby (walking distance). A very nice change of pace from staying at a motel on the outskirts of town. On location alone we would rate it a 4.
Parking is funky, you need to park about a half block away behind a coffee house, but that is part of what you get when you stay in an urban setting, things are not always as convenient as you might desire.
The hotel itself was nothing special. The staff was OK, and the facility was old but appeared to be relatively well maintained. The rooms were quaint but again nothing special as compared to other historic hotels at which we have stayed.
Overall, it was nice and if you seek a place to stay in a lovely urban setting I would recommend you spend a night or two. There is a restaurant adjacent to the hotel which can be entered through the hotel lobby but we did not eat there so cannot comment.

Room Tip: Get a room that is not facing the freeway, it can be noisy particularly if you want to open your win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyBoomerNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel La Rose for your stay. The staff tries hard to make sure that every guest stay is a stay that they will remember. Once again thank you for staying at Hotel La Rose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
2.6 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 24 in Santa Rosa
591 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#5 of 24 in Santa Rosa
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 24 in Santa Rosa
598 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
1.4 mi away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#11 of 24 in Santa Rosa
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rose

Address: 308 Wilson St, Santa Rosa, CA 95401-6245
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Rosa
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range: £118 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Rose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel La Rose was built in 1906. Our main building has antique furniture in the lobby and all guest rooms. Our Carriage House is more modern with balconies or outside room sitting areas. We are directly across from the Historic Railroad Station in Railroad Square, where the Smart Train will soon begin scheduled service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rose Hotel
La Rose Santa Rosa
Hotel La Rose Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing