We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room with balcony”
Review of Hotel La Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Rose
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Plano
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Large room with balcony”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We chose this hotel because it was NOT a chain establishment. We were offered a choice of 2 rooms: #42 in the main hotel or #63 in the carriage house. Room 42 was small and compact. We chose Room 63 in the carriage house which was very large with a very large bathroom. The carriage house was built in the eighties so it doesn't have the charm of the old building, but it does have a nice appeal of its own. You enter through locked gates into a lush courtyard. Each room has either a patio or balcony that faces the courtyard. Our room had a king bed and plenty of floor space. The continental breakfast was very good. The location has free parking across the street. A good coffee shop is on the corner, and the small old downtown Santa Rosa is on the next block. The only drawback is that the AC was weak and took a while to cool the large room.

Room Tip: Carriage house rooms are large and have patios or balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpa59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Recent Hotel La Rose guest,

Thank you for your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in room 69 of the Carriage House. The guest room balconies do offer a pleasant place to relax. I am glad that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast, and our convenient lcoation in historic Railroad Square in downtown Santa Rosa. I apologize for the challenges with the air conditioning. i hope to host you again soon.

Jeff Whitehead
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    185
    46
    24
    13
See reviews for
63
236
35
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a really beautiful hotel with a lot of character . The rooms vary in size but all have old fashioned canopy beds with lovely ' olde style' decor. Our toilet even had a chain to flush, all in clean and good working order. There was free parking across the road as well as free wifi and a public computer to use in the lobby. The staff varied is efficiency of service. We booked two wake up calls - the first one was forgotten and the second one was 30 minutes late . But really everything else was great . I would recommend this place. It is near some lovely antique and vintage shops and the town is dotted with Snoopy and Charlie Brown statues - very quirky.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a sitting area and small balcony . Check the type available first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Rashelle,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the unique character of our historic hotel, and our convenient location in the Railroad Square neighborhood. I am sorry that your wake up calls were not delivered as requested. i have shared this review with our front desk staff and stressed the importance of proper follow up on guest requests. Thanks again for staying with us. I hope to host you again on your next visit to Santa Rosa.

Jeff Whitehead
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here because of location. It is right off the Main road in Santa Rosa. Listed in the "Historic Hotels of America" guide I thought it would've had nicer amenities. Room was clean, good size but has a dated feel. Bathroom also clean but Not modern- i had trouble with the temperature of the shower water (older system). No fridge or mini bar in room. We did have a balcony but it's quite loud with the door open being so close to the road. The area around the hotel seems a little sketchy but not bad ( just more urban ). There are lots of bars close by and a cool coffee shop that had live music friday and saturday nights. Convenient parking near hotel included (1/2 block away). Included continental breakfast that had fresh cut fruit salad which was nice but the breads and pastry were similar to that offered at a chain hotel . Old creaky elevator. Stairs good alternative and there is history to them ( from San francisco cable Car Barn).

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Gemaroo,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hotel La Rose this past weekend. As a designated "Historic Hotel of America", we have the benefit of offering an interesting and unique lodging experience to our guests. This experience, however, does at times, involve some limitations in terms of some of our facilities and amenities. I was pleased to read that you found your room clean and comfortable. I also noted that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast buffet, and took advantage of our convenient downtown location, I hope to have the opportunity to host you again sometime soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Spent a night at the Hotel La Rose, a 1907 stone building that is now a nice hotel. We had a large room in the original building, very comfortable. It isn't like a modern room, it has old wooden doors, high ceilings and wainscoting. But very comfortable, clean, and a decent value at $129 in the wine country. And they allowed a one-night-only stay, which can also be challenging up there. Breakfast included, not fancy but good. And right off Fourth Street, so good local restaurants, coffee bars all very close walking distance. There are even a few thrift stores around the corner if you care.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for staying with us recently at the Hotel La Rose. I am happy that you found our historic property to be clean, comfortable and suited to your needs. Thanks for mentioning our complimentary breakfast buffet and our convenient downtown location. Please come back and see us again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My advice is to spend the extra money and stay at the Hyatt. Even though I made my reservation two or three weeks in advance for a room in the main hotel when we got there they didn't have the room I had requested so they put us in the carriage house, not at all the same as the main hotel. The clerk said "oh, you must have made your reservation online". Why have a website if you don't want people to use it?We had to wait 30 minutes for the room to be cleaned even though we had arrived a little after 3:00 pm. Their breakfast is the same thing that is served at Holiday Inn, we were expecting much better. When I checked out the clerk did not ask if I enjoyed my stay or even tell me to have a nice day. We sure won't be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Candy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I'm sure I'll be back to La Rose, I love the location, the friendly customer service, clean and because it was my second time staying here, I asked for the carriage house and although the rooms are small, you get the little patio or balcony that I like to use either to have breakfast (nice coffee shop across the street) or sit after a day of walking around and have a glass of awesome Californian wine.

Room Tip: Carriage House a lot better than the Main House, quieter and just better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vizbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naira G, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued.We very much appreciate your positive comments regrarding you last stay.Our staff are very much dedicated to providing exceptional customer service for every guest, every time.

We are also so glad to hear that your stay was satisfactory and you had a good time.

I would like to thank you once again on behalf of Hotel La Rose and hope to see you soon.

Naira Ghazaryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My bride and I were in Santa Rosa for our 44th anniversary and stayed at Hotel La Rose

The Good News:
Located in Railroad Square and close to a killer vintage shop (Hot Couture Vintage Fashion, both women's and men's clothes), a nice italian restaurant LoCoCo's, a killer French restaurant, La Gare, and a wonderful early Sixties style breakfast and lunch place Omelette Express. Lots of parking in their own lot about a block away.

We chose a Jr Suite Room and it was wonderful.. a small entry room and a big room with a small covered porch and a big bathroom right off the room. The room had a very comfortable king size bed and tons of pillows along with a couch, a desk, and a chair/table set up. It was too bad that the only place that you could watch the TV was from the bed. But in 1907 they weren't designing rooms with TV in mind! The furnishings were up to date but gave off an antique feel. Overall, very nice!

The Bad News
They used to have a bar and full restaurant. No more. We went down for breakfast on the first morning and it felt like being in a motel 6 with self-service breakfast with no "hot" options. We just walked a block to the Omelette House and had lattes and H U G E breakfasts like two eggs over easy, thick slice of ham, and either potato or veg and break or English Muffin for about 11 bucks. Also good lattes served in classic glass containers. Ok, we had to be as dressed as if we were going downstairs to breakfast. And the gals that served the food were universally competent and really friendly. Like diners USED to be "back in the day." and the service and the food came up F A S T.

Structurally Hotel La Rose is a "hotel" but amenity-wise, it's not up to what one would expect for a 21st century "hotel" should have. e.g. the wireless was spotty, probably my ownly GRUMP.

We enjoyed our stay and hope to go back soon. We'll just reset our original expectations and go there and enjoy ourselves! You should too..

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NaturalHorseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naira G, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for spending your time to give us a kind feedback on your recent stay.

Your nice comments and your loyalty is well appreciated.I'm so glad and pleased that you enjoyed our location. Please be assured that all of our guests experiences are important to us and we do our best to ensure they have a memorable experience when staying with us , We appreciate the feedback our guests provide us with, so that we are able to pursue our goal to provide the highest quality service and experience to our guests., we certainly hope you will choose to stay with us in the future the next time you are in Santa Rosa.

Thank again

Naira Ghazaryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
2.6 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,000 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
334 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rose

Property: Hotel La Rose
Address: 308 Wilson St, Santa Rosa, CA 95401-6245
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Rose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel La Rose was built in 1906. Our main building has antique furniture in the lobby and all guest rooms. Our Carriage House is more modern with balconies or outside room sitting areas. We are directly across from the Historic Railroad Station in Railroad Square where in 2016 the Smart Train will arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rose Hotel
La Rose Santa Rosa
Hotel La Rose Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing