We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Hotel”
Review of Hotel La Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Rose
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Reviewed 10 December 2008

My husband and I spent two nights at the Hotel La Rose and we loved it. It was an older hotel - more along the lines of a Bed and Breakfast. It had antiques, quaint furniture and a delicious European style breakfast that was included in the price of the room. The staff was very friendly.....will definitely stay there again if we are in Santa Rosa!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calgal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2008

We had a great stay in the Carriage House across the street for 2 nights. We had the back corner room, first floor (room 56), which was very private and quiet. Had no troubles with motorcycles or traffic. The rooms were very big and bathrooms huge by any hotel standards. Toiletries were a fabulous blood orange scent. The bathroom was all done in marble and had everything you needed in it (hairdryer, iron, wardrobe, etc.). Beds were very comfy. Breakfast was very delicious and kept us full (hard boiled eggs, bagels, scones, lox, fresh fruit, cereal, teas/coffee with to-go cups as well). Coffee shop across the street was great as well (Aroma Roasters) and so was LoCoco Italian and Thai House (both in walking distance on 4th street). You get a free glass of wine upon arrival and a discount at the restaurant. This hotel was a great central point for our wine touring vacatio!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonfly12882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

We stayed 4 days,visiting family and first time to wine counrty. Stayed in the cartiage house across the street from hotel. Just a few steps front door of the hotel. first 2 nights (room 60) faced the street with a 4 way stop. So the motor cycles very loud all night . A bar down the street music loud. After that, we requested a more quiet room. it was ok. Rooms cute,and I found the bed and linens in our first room, beauiful. The second room missed by this.Breakfast served, nice and enough to hold you over until lunch time. Coffee cafe across the street . We had lunch at the inside resturant, it was OK. The small park across the street,cute be the homeless took it over. The homeless mission a block away. Didnt bother us.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank socalsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

I was traveling on business and normally stay at a Starwood since I am a member. I am used to the attention from the staff at a W or Westin. I have to say that NEVER have I been treated with more personal attention then when I stayed at La Rose. Valentin, with the hat, is so sweet. I came down for ice and he filled up my ice bucket and topped it with fresh fruit. The staff at the desk was equally helpful and respectful. Check in and out was a breeze.

This is a vintage hotel and I stayed in the main building. The room was very romantic - too bad it was just me on business. I would certainly come back and stay with my husband. If you are not a big fan of vintage then stay in the carriage house. It looked more updated from what I saw on the tv.

I didn't eat at the hotel, but took advantage of a Chevy's across the street. On the other corner is a really sweet coffee shop. They seemed to be open all hours and even had evening music.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Hotel La Rose leaves nothing to be desired. Our room was pinpoint clean. The bed was rather luxurious. The breakfast sets the standard. Staff and managment bent over backwards to attend to every need. It's hard to imagine what improvements can be made.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cranktower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

I agree with the best reviews of the Hotel La Rose. Its downtown location in the historic district, its convenient free parking and its well attended and appetizing continental breakfast served in a 19th century dining room all make this hotel one that we will long remember. We stayed in the Carriage Room section of the hotel which is directly across a non-busy street from the hotel. Our room was on the ground level in a gated courtyard entered using the room key. In the center of the courtyard is a very pleasant old-world style fountain. The room was entered first through a little gate that opened into a private alcove with a wrought iron table and chairs. There was then a final door that opened into our room. The private outside alcove proved just perfect for our daughter who smokes. She spent countless hours during our 4-day stay sitting in the covered alcove writing in her diary, working on her laptop and reading. One last thing: Santa Rosa holds a very large outdoor market each Wednesday night from 5:00-8:30pm during the summer. It is adjacent to the large downtown Santa Rosa Plaza Shopping Mall and stretches for two square blocks. This market is an easy 5-10 minute walk from the Hotel La Rose as is the shopping mall. All manner of goods are sold at vendor stalls including food. We found the huge barbecued oysters on the shell particularly delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CasualView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

I stayed at his hotel on a Thursday. Since it was not on the weekend and I had a AAA card, I got an incredible deal for this hotel. The room was lovely and comfortable. I loved my canopy style bed. The bathroom had nice products and was covered in marble. The breakfast was divine. The breakfast consisted of coffee, tea, hardboiled eggs, lox, bagels, juice, granola, cereal, yogurt, muffins, and toast. It sounds simple, but yet was so good. I will come back to Hotel La Rose the next time that I visit Santa Rosa.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
2.6 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
589 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
#9 of 25 in Santa Rosa
347 reviews
1.4 mi away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 25 in Santa Rosa
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rose

Address: 308 Wilson St, Santa Rosa, CA 95401-6245
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range: £118 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Rose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel La Rose was built in 1906. Our main building has antique furniture in the lobby and all guest rooms. Our Carriage House is more modern with balconies or outside room sitting areas. We are directly across from the Historic Railroad Station in Railroad Square, where the Smart Train will soon begin scheduled service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rose Hotel
La Rose Santa Rosa
Hotel La Rose Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing