We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better”
Review of Hotel La Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Rose
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Roseville, CA\
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expected better”
Reviewed 9 June 2007

I had never been to the area, and found La Rose as the most popular, according to this site. I showed up only to find no valet or bellman, a young, college aged reception person who seemed to have rather been anywhere else in the world but helping me. The rooms need updating, and there is quite a bit of traffic noise, as the hotel sits next to a busy street. I saw quite a few bums standing outside of the hotel in my 2 day stay, a few times bumming (no pun intended) a smoke from the hotel staff.

Overall, the service was the worst, followed by the road noise, then the quality of the room/cleanliness, and the akward location. A local I ran into told me that just a block west is the worst area in Santa Rosa.

I will not stay again.

  • Liked — Close to the Sonoma County Court
  • Disliked — front desk
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drnkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    187
    46
    24
    13
See reviews for
63
237
35
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2007

This is a really neat old hotel. The rooms are nice and the staff was great. It is located right in the heart of an old district with several resturants and bar within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank preslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandBS
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2007

I travel a lot for business and pleasure. It's been a long time since I've been so impressed by a property. We were greated with a glass of wine and freshly baked cookies upon checking in. The staff was tremendously personable. They recommended a great place for dinner. Parking is complimentary. My husband and I stayed in one room and my mom stayed in another. When my mom needed ice in the room, they brought it to her with two complimentary bottles of wine. The best part was breakfast - no other hotel had a European breakfast like this - the typical lunch meat which I don't care for but the fresh fruit, smoked salmon, bagels, toast, cereal, and the best homemade scones I ever had were all incredible. Upon checking out, they gave us water and extra scones fo the road! The best place to stay for the value. On a Thursday night, I had a AAA rate of $99 plus tax - no where else can you get that rate with such tremendous amenities!!!

  • Liked — All the extras, location, price
  • Disliked — I can't say one bad thing about this hotel except that I should have stayed longer.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RandBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORIDA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2007

A really nice place to stay while visiting this area. The Welcome Center is just across the street for good info on places to visit. In the hotel at the front desk, Janet and Jonathon are more than gracious and helpful too. Super restaurants are attached or just around the corner for evening dining. Lots of wineries are within close driving range. Don’t miss the State Reserve Redwoods on Armstrong Woods Road, the drive along the Russian River out to Route 1 and Bodega Bay for lunch, or maybe lunch another day in the town of Glen Ellen.

  • Liked — Service and Location
  • Disliked — soft pillows
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitor37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, CA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2007

My husband, nine year old son and I stayed for two nights in a room in the Carriage House. Everyone at the front desk is very cheerful and helpful. They helped us bring a ton of lugguage to our room very quickly.
Our room was fine, but nothing special. It was dated (1980's) and It was very dark. We were on the ground floor and there was only one small window where you could open the drapes. Unfortunately, when you opened the drapes, everyone could see right in. I would ask to stay upstairs next time where there would be more privacy.
The bedding was above average with soft sheets and a down comforter with lots of pillows. We had a king and a queen bed, and there was still a lot of room.
The bathroom was pretty good size, but needed updating. The towels were above average. We had a broken toilet which eventually overflowed, but they fixed it right away.
The location is great. We could walk to dinner at Syrah or to two cute coffee houses.
For the price, the stay is pleasant and the staff very nice. With some renovation, this could be a top spot.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The dated decor
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sparky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2007

We stayed March 11-14th and had a nice stay. The hotel is a great value for the location and the amenities. We read the other reviews before booking and agree with most. The room was nice, but a little loud in the morning with the highway construction. We didn't interact much with the staff, but they did give us a great place to use to ship our wine. Only downside was with the restaurants in town. We ate at the Italian restaurant and Syrah and both were good, but beyond that there wasn't much available. The French restaurant was closed the 2 nights we tried and Josefs didn't seem to have much to offer.

Best place to try is Aroma Roasters across the street - great coffee, tea and snacks!

  • Liked — Comfortable Room
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LoopChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2007

I booked this hotel directly with the hotel because of their "$100/night" special. I asked for a quiet room on a high floor away from the street, and that is what they provided. Our room, which was very quiet (I don't think I ever heard an outside sound when I was in it, even though there were plenty of people staying while we were there) was on the fourth floor of the main building and had a little patio. Even though there is night road work going on Rte. 101, it was quiet in our room and we slept well. The king bed was extremely comfortable, the staff extremely helpful with suggestions for wine tours (including very helpful and detailed maps), and the included breakfast very good and always fresh and plentiful. Shower had excellent water pressure and temperature control. As other reviewers have noted, the complimentary glass of wine at Josef's and the free parking are other nice perks with this hotel. We did not try Josef's for dinner due to other plans, but did enjoy dixieland jazz at the Last Day Saloon (down the block from the hotel) and had excellent omelettes at breakfast one day with family at the Omelette Express a block over. There are other very appealing looking restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel, and the mall, with a Macy's, Sears, etc, is a short walk or drive away. Wifi reception was not good in our room, but was excellent in the lobby of the hotel.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank AuntNorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
2.6 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
578 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
342 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,306 reviews
1.4 mi away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 25 in Santa Rosa
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rose

Property: Hotel La Rose
Address: 308 Wilson St, Santa Rosa, CA 95401-6245
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Rose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel La Rose was built in 1906. Our main building has antique furniture in the lobby and all guest rooms. Our Carriage House is more modern with balconies or outside room sitting areas. We are directly across from the Historic Railroad Station in Railroad Square, where the Smart Train will soon begin scheduled service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rose Hotel
La Rose Santa Rosa
Hotel La Rose Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing