We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The is an old, outdated hotel with poor service and amenities. The internet didn't work on the iPad and the faucet in the room was plumbed backwards (hot was cold). The TV guide was missing and the TV had no indication of channel number, making it very difficult to find programs. Breakfast was an extremely poor experience, there were no little (cheap) plastic forks available, there was no coffee, there was no orange juice, and the garbage cans were overflowing. We left and went to Carl's Jr. round the corner. And it wasn't cheap!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 2wsx3edc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineCountryHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
I'd like to thank you for reviewing our hotel. I apologize that your stay was less than excellent. As you know from our emails, we checked the room and we were unable to duplicate the issue you had with the faucet. It sounds like our breakfast team was having an off day while you were here. I can assure you that this is not the norm, and I again apologize that our breakfast was not as good as it should have been. We are constantly working on improving our breakfast service, and we do appreciate the feedback. We hope that you give us another chance next time you are in the Santa Rosa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    154
    103
    51
    23
See reviews for
158
164
19
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Friendly, helpful staff really make the place! The room was nice and clean with a cute little balcony and having a refrigerator with FREE bottled water was nice. The breakfast was good and they started it earlier the day we had our bike ride. from location to the beds we had everything we needed!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineCountryHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
On behalf of Edgar, and the rest of our staff, we thank you for reviewing our hotel and services. We pride ourselves on our service, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your impressions. We were happy to start breakfast early for everyone, and we hope you enjoyed your ride.
We hope to see you next year (if not sooner) on your next ride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Best Western in Santa Rosa during our travels through Napa Valley wine country. This was a nice, comfortable hotel with a great breakfast included. All the amenities we had hoped for in our travels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Vaune K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineCountryHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We hope you had a wonderful time here in wine country. We are so happy you enjoyed our breakfast, and all our amenities.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to wine country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is on the north end of town in what appears to be an industrial area. The hotel is a little worn, although the room was comfortable, relatively quiet, and clean. The breakfast was more than the typical continental variety, but the breakfast area is in need of a definite refresh. There is an Applebee's across the street, but other than that, nothing real close for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineCountryHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
John, thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad you found your room quiet and clean, and enjoyed our expanded breakfast. In addition to Applebee's across the street, there is Carrow's around the corner, along with The Ticket and Puerta Vallarta. Down the street there is Luigi's, Mel's Fish & Chips and Lee's Noodle House. There are also numerous fast food places (not everybody's cup of tea for dinner) in walking distance from the hotel.
Again, thank you for reviewing our hotel, and we hope to see you again next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The front desk attendant recommended I upgrade my room. It was amazing. Small balcony, whirlpool corner tub, two large rooms. I wouldnt stay anywhere else. The employees made me feel like they appreciated my buisness.

Room Tip: First floor with the balcony facing the pool. Room 122.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineCountryHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We absolutely do appreciate your business. We also really appreciate you taking time out of your schedule and sharing your experiences with our hotel and staff.
Thank you, and we can't wait to see you again next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Hotel is right in the middle of wine country; would be a nice get away: We went while remodeling going on; and different sports groups staying. So other then breakfast staff not able to keep up at major breakfast time: Hotel and staff were nice, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineCountryHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and services. We are glad you had a great stay. We know breakfast can get a little hectic during peak times. We have recently added additional seating to the patio area to help ease some of the congestion.
Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Positive: Descent hot breakfast, excellent location- near freeway entrance, close to shops, restaurants and Starbucks.
Negative: Horrible beds, gave me back pain for 2 days, room and bathroom looks like construction or remodeling was never finished, white plaster cement looking stuff (or maybe paint chips) on sheets and pillow cases on both beds.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjlanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineCountryHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
I would like to thank Cjlanting for reviewing our hotel. I apologize that your stay was less the excellent. We are in the process of replacing our mattresses, and I will make sure that the room you were in is next on the list. It took a little research but I was able to figure out about the plaster you saw on the top of your beds. As part of our green initiatives we are converting our lighting to LED lights. There is a sophit above the bed which houses dimable lights. It would appear that when the crew changed the lights they failed to inform my housekeeping department that the room needed to be touched up. This is not acceptable, and I do apologize.
Again, thank you for reviewing our hotel, and I sincerely hope we get another chance to earn a more favorable review on your next visit to your area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Rosa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,000 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites
Address: 870 Hopper Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of the Sonoma Wine Country! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Santa Rosa is available to serve the needs of both corporate and family travelers. We are within minutes of 30 major wineries including Kendall Jackson, Korbel & Rodney Strong. Our location is just three miles from Charles M. Schulz (STS) Airport, 20 miles from Calistoga and The Napa Valley, and 55 miles from the city of San Francisco. For you Peanuts fans, the Charles M. Schulz Museum & Ice Rink is only one mile from our front door! Race fans can enjoy a short 20 minute drive to Infineon Raceway. All rooms include our expanded hot American Breakfast featuring our famous cinnamon rolls. We also have two separate conference room facilities that can accommodate up to 115 total attendees. Catering is also available. Please call for details. We offer an outdoor heated pool, zen garden and courtyard. Please call hotel for pet policies.All rooms have free high-speed Internet access, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, a private patio or balcony and an exterior entrance. We look forward to having you as our guest very soon! Thank you for choosing to Stay Smart! Credit card and valid ID required for all check-ins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Holiday Inn Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Holiday Inn
Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing