We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Atmosphere and Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
Mendocino
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant Atmosphere and Great Service”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I've stayed here several times and always found it to be a very comfortable hotel. The services is very good and the afternoon wine tasting is fun and tasty. A very relaxing place.

Room Tip: For the best deals try Priceline
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocketdude27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdurk-hilson, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Thank you for returning to us! The wine tastings offered at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel are a special treat we can offer our guests and we also offer ‘Wine O’clock’ in the Lobby on Friday evenings. We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    433
    297
    138
    71
See reviews for
284
504
48
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehall, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We spent five days at this property. The staff was helpful, considerate and friendly. We were there to tour the local vineyards and they helped us plan our outings. Our room was large and well decorated. The pool, hot tub and workout room were all well kept. Enjoyed the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSC4100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdurk-hilson, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel is located near 330 wineries and we are happy we were able to help narrow your search. Nectar’s provides a delicious onsite restaurant option and we glad you enjoyed it. The next time you tour wine country, we hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed here for a bike ride I was doing through wine country. During the ride we passed through a ton of wineries and vineyards and enjoyed some of the wines during dinner.
Great hotel, spread out over a good piece of property overlooking the wine area. I didn't use the pool, but it looked great! The rooms were spacious and clean, comfy beds and nice bathroom.
Parking was free and very plentiful. I'll definitely stay again next year for the bike ride!

Room Tip: Some rooms face the parking lot, some face the outside, ask for an outside facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgirl2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdurk-hilson, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Biking through wine country is a beautiful way to see the incredible scenery. We are happy we could provide you with a comfortable place to relax after your ride and appreciate your kind review. On your next bike ride through Wine Country we hope you will have a chance to a take dip in the pool and enjoy more time at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Nice location, nice rooms, but a but dated. Can't believe they charge for wi-fi in the room!! Free wi-fi in the lobby just doesn't cut it. I nearly always stay in Hiltons and never pay for wi-fi.

I am ambivalent about the recommendation because of this.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricemn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdurk-hilson, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Free Wi-Fi is offered in our lobby and business center and there is only a small charge for the convenience of it in your room. For future stays we encourage you to look into our Wireless Internet Package which offers this service at half-off the regular rate. The next time you are in wine country, we hope you take advantage of this offer and stay with us again at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The property is OK and located in a good spot. Our room smelled incredibly bad. When we requested a room change they gave us another room that also smelled - funky. So we bought some febreze - sprayed down the carpet, sheets and curtains - which mainly resolved the issues. Besides that our stay was good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdurk-hilson, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you for bringing the issue in your room to our attention and we apologize that changing your room did not resolve this matter. It clear we need to look into this further to get a better understanding of the cause and appreciate that you’ve brought this to our attention. It is good to hear the rest of your stay was pleasant and you enjoyed our beautiful location in Wine Country. The next time you are in the area, we hope you will visit us again at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Needed a one night stay in Sonoma at the end of our vacation. Looking for just a Friday night stay, which can be difficult in wine country on a weekend. Got a good rate, $150, but the room was not what I would consider up to Hilton standards. Lower brands such as Hilton Garden Inn and Hampton Inn have nicer rooms than this outdated facility. Service at front desk was undermanned. Long line of guests waiting to check in at 5 pm, and only 1 person working the front desk. Frustrating long wait to check in.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkuryak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdurk-hilson, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Your frustrations during check-in are understandable and we apologize for the wait. We appreciate your patience during this busy time and will look into more efficient to procedures to ensure it does not happen again for future guests. We regret we couldn’t give you a better ending to your vacation, but your comments will help us improve our hotel for future guests. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos,CA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My husband and I like to go up to Sonoma whenever we can and have stayed at different hotels. This one was a big disappointment as travelzoo made them sound much nicer than they are. The room actually looked pretty nice. It was clean and had quality bedding. Unfortunately, the balcony is actually a shared one. You
share it with several other rooms on the same floor and there are not enough tables and chairs for everyone. Not to mention the lack of privacy created by several rooms sharing the same long balcony-dumb idea.

The pool and hot tub area was in good condition. The lounge chairs and pads looked like they were new. The hotel has a restaurant and outside bar area. We didn't eat in the restaurant; however, we did have drinks at the outside bar. Extremely slow service but nice ambiance with fire pits and a view of green lawns.

The worst part was the night's sleep--or should I say the lack of a night's sleep. The insulation is extremely bad at this hotel. You can hear everything your neighbors are doing. There was a sick child several doors down and we could hear him cough all night long. It was like spending the night in a hospital.

I recommend spending more money and staying in a nicer hotel if you actually plan on sleeping at night.

Room Tip: There aren't any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan & Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdurk-hilson, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
As frequent travelers to Sonoma Valley, your opinions are very important. A good night’s sleep is essential and we apologize for any noise disturbances that prevented a restful stay. On the other hand, we are glad you enjoyed the pool and bar area as they help provide a relaxing atmosphere after a long day around Wine Country. The next time you visit Sonoma, we hope you will give us another chance to provide you a more restful visit and get the chance to try the Nectar Restaurant. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Rosa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
0.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
578 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,046 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
685 reviews
7.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
2.1 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1763
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing