We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, room service a bit dicey though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
Sierra foothills of California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice room, room service a bit dicey though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

This is a lovely hotel, very spread out in terms of the layout with a series of outbuildings. I've stayed in several hundred hotels across the US given my work-related travel. Decor was nicer than usual and I was surprised to see a coffee maker in the room (normally in my experience hotels with on-site restaurants don't have the in-room coffee). Setting is ideal, centrally located, and peaceful.

Stayed overnight on New Year's and ordered breakfast room service. Food was quite cold by the time it arrived, potatoes were oddly seasoned, they missed bringing syrup and butter for my friend's waffle. They did return with a replacement waffle but the bill for a fairly simple breakfast for 2 with a pot of coffee was $50! Alas, no microwave so also couldn't do anything about the nearly cold food.

Room Tip: I always ask for the top floor and did so this time too -- no use courting trouble by having someone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloSightseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Happy New Year! Thank you so much for the thoughtful review. Situated on 13 beautifully landscaped acres, the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel is a wonderful holiday retreat. We find it is often amenities like the in-room coffee that can really make our guests feel right at home and we are glad you agree. It is regrettable that your room service was not to your liking and we will share your comments with our staff. Thanks for the tips for future travelers and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    414
    281
    128
    63
See reviews for
263
478
47
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenwood, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Our family of four (2 late teen boys, my wife and myself) stayed at the Hilton in Santa Rosa over Thanksgiving. We were up from Half Moon Bay (south of San Francisco) for the holidays and needed a place to stay where we could visit friends, tour the area, and also which would welcome our two dogs.

The Wine Country Hilton was perfect -- we needed two rooms, of course, but the rates were reasonable and the facilities were great. The location was quiet, yet right where we needed it to be -- well located to the Santa Rosa downtown, wine country, and our friend's house.

Nice outdoor pool which we didn't use because it was pretty cold out -- but would be very welcome during the warmer months.

We'd go again, no question.

Room Tip: Keep in mind proximity to the pool during the warmer months. It's sure to get noisy, but you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMBParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
It is our pleasure to provide you and your family a comfortable and convenient place to stay for the holidays. Thank you for the kind words. The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel is a pet friendly facility and we are glad you were able to bring your furry friend along too! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to when we can welcome you back for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Hilton gold, had a nice experience. Feared the worst due to other reviews here, but was pleasantly surprised.

PROS: Very nice staff
Nice breakfast for golds (should be full buffet though)
Quiet Airconditioning
Nice rooms and bathrooms
Free Parking
Next to highway

CONS: Odd layout - think hawaii, but.....not in hawaii
poor security - anyone can access any building, anytime.
near highway (can hear traffic)

I would return though!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Isn't it nice to be pleasantly surprised? At the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel guests can always expect an enjoyable experience. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Decided to have a guys weekend away in the wine country. Fantastic hotel. Clean spotless rooms. Clean spotless bathrooms. The Hilton Breakfast was great every morning.

Really like the way this hotel is set up. Plenty of Parking and very peaceful even though if you look at a map it looks like it is right next to a busy road. No road noise at all. Staff is fantastic and very friendly.

I would stay here again without questions

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Young2by2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed a peaceful stay with us! Our housekeeping staff is committed to maintaining our guestrooms so they are always at their best for our guests and we will be certain to share your wonderful comments with them. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Their garden grounds is designed for a get away weekend. We had a lanai room overlooking the salt water pool and spa. A glass of wine and all was near perfect. Easy say trips to so many wineries and wonderful restaurants. A great hotel for a well deserved treat.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John4260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your visit and we hope that you enjoyed all of the wonderful locations nearby. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Love this hotel.. My second time here with the Military.. the only downside is the "upgrade breakfast" which costs twice more for few extra food... not good!
btw, great Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcello R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdurk-hilson, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your loyalty with us and we are pleased that we could comfortably accommodate you at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. We are excited to offer our guests many delicious breakfast options and regret to hear that you did not find this to be at a great value. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Friendly, clean and good restaurant on site. Only drawback is that there are not enough entrances to complex so could entail long walk to room.

Room Tip: Select draw close to entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Like8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdurk-hilson, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
We are glad that you enjoyed our services and the contemporary dining experience at the Nectar restaurant & lounge. We hope the walking distance wasn’t too inconvenient and that at minimum it gave you an opportunity to enjoy the panoramic views of Sonoma. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel for your stay and we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1763
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing