We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't meet the Hilton standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Doesn't meet the Hilton standard”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The bar and restaurant area seems OK but the rest of the property is very tired, grubby and smells damp. The rooms only have a coffee machine; no fridge, microwave and nowhere to eat, so the description of this being a resort style residence is therefore untrue. The windows don't even open. The rooms are in blocks surrounding the car park with some being far away from restaurant/bar. We will not be visiting this "resort" again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awwhitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We are glad you chose to stay with us for your wine country getaway. However, it seems that we missed the mark when it comes to some issues for you and for that we are truly sorry. Please know that refrigerators are available upon request and if there is ever anything you may need while staying, all you need to do is ask. It is never our intent for a guest to feel disappointed in any way and we will be certain to share your comments with our management team. We hope to welcome you back in the future to provide you with a better experience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    429
    296
    137
    69
See reviews for
281
495
48
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francsico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My Mom wont a nights stay and a gift card for Nectar. She gave it to my Husband and I so that we could have a nice night away since we have a 2 year old and I am pregnant. The guy who checked us in was very nice but the rooms/building is very outdated. My Husband asked when was this built? he said it looked old and tired and I agree. Our toilet was making a noise off and on but since I didn't notice it until we were settled in I chose not to call about it. I was excited that we were on the end cause I thought it would be quieter. Um no....about 3 am I was woke by adult activities upstairs and drunk people in the hall opening and shutting their doors. It literally sounded like they were in our room. Not that I expect the room to be soundproof but my word! They should monitor noise/parties late at night and really should consider renovating. I saw how much the room would have cost and I wouldn't pay it for that room. We used our gift card for the buffet breakfast which was ok. They were out of a lot of items and the bacon was so thin. Again, if I didn't have a gift card I wouldn't pay to go there for buffet brunch. El Torrito in Rohnert Park has a better selection for the same price and includes bottomless mimosa's! Unless it's free I wouldn't spend my money staying at this hotel or eating at Nectar.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
It is thoroughly disheartening when a guest leaves feeling their expectations were not met in every way. It is always our ultimate goal for all of our guests to enjoy their experience with us and we regret that we missed the mark with regard to some issues. Providing the best accommodations in Wine Country is always our goal, please accept our most sincere apologies if this was not your experience or if your peace was disrupted by the sound of other guests. Our associates are always available to all our guests should they have any concerns. Your comments will be shared with everyone here. We hope that you will allow us to welcome you back again for the type of encounter you deserve. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I were taking a vacation without kids and wanted to stay somewhere nice in wine country. I love Hilton properties and I always feel I can rely on Hilton to be a good selection. This hotel was not up to Hilton standards, especially for the price. It might have qualified for one of their lower level hotels like Fairfield Inn. The rooms were out of date and the fixtures felt cheap. There was a smell in the hallways. It felt like a cheap conference center. The property was pretty and the wine hour was nice. If you are looking for a romantic wine country getaway with some nice amenities, this is not the place. If you are just looking for a clean place to stay, this might work for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler22312013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
A getaway to Sonoma Wine Country can be such a treat and we appreciate the time you have taken to share your impressions of our hotel. Whether feedback is positive or otherwise, we take each comment quite seriously. It is truly disheartening that your stay was not as you had hoped. Providing an outstanding encounter on all levels is of the highest importance to us and it is with deep regret that we learn that your experience was anything less. We encourage guests to share any issues with us at the time of their stay and we couldn't be more disappointed that we didn't have that opportunity, when it would have mattered most, to address your concerns. We will share your feedback with all of our management team so that we may reinforce our high level of commitment in all areas. Thank you sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Rosa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I don't even know how much it cost to stay here because I wasn't paying - but we chose it because it was one of the preferred hotels for a Sonoma Wine Festival.

It's not that the place is unclean, but it's very tired.

We checked in and when we asked if our Hilton Honors account had properly linked to the reservation and were told it had - and because we were silver we received two bottles of water, access to the gym and free internet. That was the good news.

The bad news was, we were placed in a room that looked out at the parking lot - which would have been completely acceptable, however, the hotel had removed the privacy curtains, so all we had were the black out drapes. Why would you do that?

The other downers: the shower that literally screamed at you (something with the water pressure and the shower head caused this high shrill sound when it was turned on); the to-go coffee urn that was empty when leaving the restaurant; the pool and gym that completely ran out of towels on a Saturday (really - zero towels).

Other than the above, it's a nice enough property, but not really close to things.

On the plus side, we had a very nice waitress in the restaurant on the day we arrived.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfimporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
It is disappointing when a guest leaves feeling they did not have their expectations met, nor does it reflect the high standards of service that we have set. We will take this an opportunity to share your comments with our housekeeping and maintenance associates to ensure that all areas are at their best. Someone from our management team is always available to all our guests should they have any concerns and it is disheartening to know that we were not given that opportunity to provide you with a better experience while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. While we never like to read that one of our guests was not fully satisfied, we are always grateful for the feedback. Thank you for sharing your opinions and thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Upon entering our building, it smelled like a bad nursing home. Our room was slightly better although still smelled. After walking on the carpet our feet were black. Not exaggerating. I would never expect this from a Hilton. The breakfast and service good. We tried to get help at the front desk for a driver for a day of wine tasting and the guy at the front desk shoved a business card across the counter without answering my questions. When we went to our next hotel, a very nice Hampton in Lodi, our luggage had absorbed the smell from the Hilton in Santa Rosa. Thankfully it went away after a day. There is NO way the employees could not smell the foulness of their hotel. The carpeting needs to be replaced. I would never expect to pay the price for this nasty hotel. Thankfully we were away from the room as much as possible. This was my first experience with a bad Hilton group in many years and locations. So disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
We appreciate that you have brought your experience to our attention. Excellence in all we do is extremely important and we apologize that your encounter was lacking in any way or if your accommodations were less than impeccable. Please know that your comments are being reviewed by our management team as well as our housekeeping associates to address any issues you have mentioned. While we never like reading that a guest has left with anything other than a wonderful impression of our hotel, we are grateful that you have shared the details of your stay with us. We will use this as an opportunity to reinforce only the highest level of hospitality in every way. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very pleasantly surprise by the large room and the amenities. We upgraded to a "lanai" room, which they called a patio room when we checked in, this allowed us direct access to the deck with patio tables and chairs, and easy access to the pool and fitness center. A short walk through the property to the restaurant for breakfast, quite good, I will add.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Visiting Sonoma Wine Country can be such an amazing experience! Thank you for sharing comments regarding your stay at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. Our Lanai guest rooms offer a lovely way to enjoy the beauty of the out of doors and our Junior Olympic sized pool is a favorite for many of our guests. The chefs at Nectar Restaurant love to create healthful and delicious dishes, thank you for mentioning your dining experience. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband was in Santa Rosa on a business trip and I, of course, tagged along. Its not all business. This hotel was perfect for what we needed. It is located minutes from Sonoma's beautiful wine country, sleepy little towns in between and some pretty darn good restaurants. The rooms are clean but average. Beds are comfortable. I do agree they are a bit on the pricey side for a standard room. Staff was courteous. It was also 5 minutes from where my husband needed to be. We had breakfast at their restaurant which was good. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We would most likely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1hapicamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay with us at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. Our hotel is nestled in the heart of Wine Country on 13 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, with panoramic views of the beautiful Santa Rosa Valley. Mixing some leisure into a business trip sounds like the perfect opportunity for a relaxing getaway! We are truly happy you and your husband enjoyed your overall stay and found our associates to be so attentive to your needs. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
0.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
573 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,016 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
673 reviews
7.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
2.1 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1763
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing