We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Hilton.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not the Hilton.”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This short stay was marked by inconvenience and exertion. I don't routinely do a drive-by of the lobby door before parking, unless there is specific check-in parking available, so I missed the sign instructing me not to take my luggage into the lobby. I shouldn't have done this because - I found out later after returning my luggage to my car and walking back to the lobby - behind it is a vast complex of buildings, one of which I would soon be assigned. After I found a parking place and dragged my stuff into the Chardonnay building, I called room service only to discover that the restaurant was under remodel and that no food was available. Automated check-out was also on the amenities list but not available. On a personal level, I felt somewhat unsafe coming and going from my room.

If you go:
1. Leave your luggage in your car while you check in.
2. If you aren't travelling light, look in your building for a rolling luggage rack.
3. Don't arrive hungry unless you plan on going out for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pareolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for detailing your experience while staying with us. Whether positive or otherwise we are always grateful for your feedback. It is disappointing to hear when a guest's experience does not live up to their expectations in all ways and we truly regret if your accommodations were not exactly as you had hoped they would be or if you were inconvenienced by the layout of our property. We can understand how frustrating it can be when things are not ax expected. Please do know that our restaurant is not in the process of any remodeling so we are confused by some of the information you have provided here. Your comments will be shared with our management team. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    434
    298
    138
    71
See reviews for
284
506
48
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel has so many great features. Its location in Wine Country, foothill scenery, views, great climate, freeway access nearby. The lobby and main building were top notch. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable with some very nice decorating touches. Each staff member I met was friendly and welcoming. The bedrooms were in separate buildings and it was the exterior and hallways of these areas that really lacked the Hilton standard. I stayed on a business trip, booked that day at a great rate from a third party website so I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnK1767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
With spacious accommodations and the best of wine country close by, we're glad you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. There is nothing quite like waking up to the beauty of the area and amazing weather year round! Whether for business or leisure, our hotel is just right. Thank you for your comments, we would love to welcome you back again for another visit, and we hope it is soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Staff was very friendly and we were welcomed with wine and fruit setup in our room upon arrival. This was a second trip to this hotel by a friend accompanying us and told us before hand based on location it was a good value. It's almost hard to believe it's a Hilton with old smelly carpet in the hallways and the dated closets, etc. The restaurant had a very decent brunch daily with fresh fruit, smoked salmon, eggs and a variety of breakfast juices and cereals. Overall it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We greatly appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. Our menu selections at Nectar feature locally sourced ingredients with an exciting blend of California Cuisine and we are delighted you enjoyed your brunch dining experience! We do apologize if you found any area of our hotel to be not at its best and we will be sure to share your comments with our associates. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for your next trip to the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here for three nights. We had a nice view, but the windows were so dirty. It made us feel like we were in a cheap hotel. The room was clean. They had room for another chair which would make the room very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had happy hour in the lobby, and no one seemed to mind. The hotel restaurant was terrific. In fact we ate there for two nights. We would stay there again, as it's convenient to wineries.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. Ensuring our guests comfort is one of our top priorities and it is a pleasure to read that you appreciated your experience with spacious accommodations as well as our central location. As you mentioned, we feature a Wine O’clock Happy Hour in our Lobby that many of our guests enjoy. Please accept our apologies for the housekeeping issues you encountered. We will share your feedback with the appropriate departments to ensure that all areas are at their best. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I booked this hotel for a business trip, it was convenient to the business location and it's a Hilton.
The positive: a convenient location, good customer service, a nice lobby, restaurant and lounge.
The negative: unfortunately where it matters: our rooms were located in a building that had an incredible stench. I am guessing it came from the old carpeting, it was overwhelming. The rooms looked a little dated, but we could overlook that. The bed's mattresses were lumpy and "tacoed" in. The heat did not work at all (in one of the room), or very erratically (in the others) on very cold nights). We found several small roaches in the bathrooms. The pipes made stranged high pitched noises when we showered.
Maybe some of the rooms are due for renovation or updating soon, I would inquire before booking there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineP1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Although we are happy you found the central location of our hotel to be beneficial, it is truly disheartening to read comments like yours. Your comfort is our highest priority and we regret we did not meet your expectations. We offer a variety of room types and it is our hope that our guests will make us aware of any concerns immediately so we can address them together and get you back to enjoying your time here. We would like to assure you that the hotel has very strict standards and protocols in place, including pest control. Please know that our management team is always available should any issues arise and we regret that your encounter was not all you had hoped it would. Your comments will be shared with everyone here. We would love for you to give us another chance to earn your trust back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Rosa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Dorado Hills
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We've stayed at the Hilton several times on wine-tasting trips. We've always found the staff to be friendly and the rooms comfortable. It's an older property with several different buildings so it can be a bit of a walk to your room or to the restaurant. The restaurant is nice, particularly if it's warm enough to eat outside. The pool and health club facilities are a plus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanJElDoradoHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We're always pleased to learn when our convenient location to Sonoma Wine Country’s attractions works out so perfectly for our guests' needs! With comfortable guest rooms and hospitable service, everyone at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel is happy to do all we can to provide the best stay. Dining outside at Nectar Restaurant can be such a treat. We hope you'll think of us again for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located from the main highway. It is an older Hilton property. Our room was nice size with both a refrigerator and a microwave, which you usually don't get at Hilton properties. The room we were in overlooked the pool. The parking is very convenient. There are several different buildings so you drive from the main lobby to your room. We had breakfast in the restaurant and it was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel offers the perfect accommodations for convenience in getting around the area and we couldn't be more pleased that you agree. Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay as well as your appreciation for our well-appointed accommodations. It is our ultimate goal to provide impeccable hospitality and we strive for perfection in providing comfortable accommodations to all of our guests. We hope you will consider staying with us again for your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
0.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
578 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,048 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
685 reviews
7.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
2.1 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1763
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing