We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in lovely Santa Rosa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
Hollis, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in lovely Santa Rosa”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a good hotel, with very good food and a great outdoor bar and restaurant area. The rooms are average and aging, but the food service and food service people really shine. In addition, their outdoor dining and evening sitting area is delightful. The people at the front desk ranged from helpful to seemingly distracted. The food service people, from the chefs to the servers, were tremendously accommodating, friendly, and delightful to interact with - from the morning servers to the cocktail waitresses late at night. Great view from their outdoor area. Overall a good place, but don't come here for great rooms - just the location and some nice people.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGuy03049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your detailed comments about your visit. We are delighted with all of your positive words about our dining staff and food, and how well you enjoyed our Nectar patio. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    434
    298
    138
    71
See reviews for
284
506
48
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I didn't really get on with this hotel, to be honest. I'd chosen it as I am HH Diamond and tend to stick to brand and claim the benefits and ability to make reward bookings etc.

Check in was friendly and efficient enough. I asked for a quiet room (my one real pet hate in hotels is noise) and was assured that it was.

The rooms are in blocks set way from the admin building, with car parking by the blocks so access is OK.

My room was nicely appointed but it soon became apparent that it was not the quietest. One of the main issues during the evening was a constant slamming of doors to other rooms (this is, I expect, a function of the self-closing mechanisms - and the uncaring guests who let them slam).

Then, in the morning, I was awoken by the sound of my neighbour having a somewhat heated and extremely loud telephone conversation at 6.50 in the morning in which he was using extremely unsavoury language. The fact that my room had a connecting door to his made it even worse.

Breakfast was OK but the service was so-so (perfunctory) and the dining room was dark and a bit gloomy for a breakfast room. The dining room was also (because of the layout of the hotel) a fair walk from the bedroom (I noticed many folks drove up to breakfast).

Overall, I was left non-plussed by this hotel. I was glad to be on my way in the morning and shall probably not be calling back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juninho_pp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your wine country getaway. While we are glad to know you enjoyed your guest room and your breakfast, we must apologize if your stay fell short of your expectations in any other way or if your peace was disrupted by the sound of other guests. Our associates are always available to all our guests should they have any concerns. Your comments will be shared with everyone here. We hope you will allow us to welcome you back again for a future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north attleboro, ma, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a great trip to wine country for family wedding. The hotel had a great pool and exercise room by the pool. The rooms were a bit updated looking but the rest of the property was very well maintained. The staff was very friendly and did their best to make the stay great. Would return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
It was our pleasure to host you while in town for a wedding. We’re so glad Hilton Sonoma Wine Country made your stay so memorable. Our associates will be grateful to know how friendly you found them, and that they were an important part of such a great trip. We would be delighted to have you again on a future trip to wine country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I chose the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel when I was on a business visit to Santa Rosa because I am a loyal Hiton Honors patorn. What a pleasant surprise. Everything about this hotel has placed it on my favorite list. The room was roomy, comfortable, clean, quiet and modern. The service was very courteous. But it was the breakfast that rocked my boat. It was fantastic with almost everything that you could want for breakfast. I have always favored a savory breakfast with cold meats, cheeses and breads. They had it. They also had plenty for the sweet tooth or freshly prepared omlettes, eggs and pancakes for those who prefer a more traditional fare. The nice part was eating on their patio which has a view of the rolling green hills in the area. On the patio you will meet "Racer", the house cat which is the biggest fatest cat that I've ever seen. Racer was fast asleep on his throne with the remnants of his feast at his feet. Somehow I doubted that his name was representative of his passion but I'm told that there was a day...

I will be back to the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, but the next time with my wife and a plan to visit some of the vineyards.

Room Tip: The facility has several buildings. If you want to be near the breakfast area, you will need to be i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMFLYBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your glowing feedback and continued loyalty. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your accommodations, and our lovely views from the patio. Breakfast is so important when traveling, and it’s wonderful that you appreciated the extensive buffet selection we offer our guests. It will be our pleasure to welcome you and your wife on a future trip to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The location is beautiful, there isn't a bad view. The bar is very nice and the outside seating, with fire pit, is an ideal way to relax after a long day. Breakfast is a tricky thing - be sure you discuss with the front desk about that for clarity. Facility is clean though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sierra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your glowing comments about our beautiful hotel! We’re so glad you enjoyed taking in the views from Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, and that you relaxed on our patio after your busy day. We apologize if any of our dining options were of any confusion but it is great to know our associates were able to help. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a "3 Star" hotel and no more. I don't know if somehow they were allowed to buy the fourth star but it is definitely not deserved. The cleanliness is a huge factor, because it's not. It's like they redid a 70's motel put in granite countertops, fluffy towels and said ok were a four star hotel. Really, tell other four star hotels that's all they needed to do, I'm sure they could have saved a ton of money on amenities and staff training. I was very disappointed. Although, I wouldn't have been if they would have been honest and given a "3 Star" rating. Then again maybe it's just me.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
While guest feedback is always welcome, it is truly disappointing to learn that you were not satisfied with your stay. Since guest satisfaction is our top priority, we can assure you that we have taken good note of your concerns. Your experience is not reflective of the high standards we have and we hope you'll consider visiting with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Booked a junior suite top floor. Open the door has absolutely no character or warmth. Carpets are stained. The junior suite I booked was like being a prisoner. Half window high up on wall and no other windows. Furniture is old and chipped and carpet is stained the entire hotel ie run down.

Food sucks as well and so does staff that cleans the hotel. If you want athletes feet and some unwanted critters jump into you bag to go home don't be surprised,

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Treeses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay. It is very disappointing to hear of your dissatisfaction with your junior suite. It is always our desire at Hilton Sonoma to provide exceptional service and great accommodations, and it appears we missed the mark with your room. We encourage guests to reach out during their visit if everything isn’t just right, so that we can assist them immediately. Please accept our apologies, and we hope you will try us again so that we can impress you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Rosa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
0.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
578 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,048 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
685 reviews
7.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
2.1 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1763
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing