We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 10 November 2008

Hotel is more like an apartment complex. Exterior construction going on, but we were there on a weekend so no work being done then. Elevator out of service. Ice machine near room not working. Housekeepers chatting loudly in hallways in the afternoon. Large rooms. Caulking in tub/shower needs to be re-done as it was moldy. Also, hair in our tub. All in all, might stay again if price was right. Got a Travelzoo special for about $95. Would not pay more than that for this property at this time of the year(low season). Not a bad place, just not a typical Hilton.

  • Liked — It was more like an apartment complex, not a hi-rise.
  • Disliked — Mold in caulk in tub. Some parking blocked off by construction equipment.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank LSUalum87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    433
    298
    138
    71
See reviews for
284
505
48
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

My girlfriends and I stayed at this hotel for a girl trip. It's a very nice property, and we found the stay to be very comfortable overall. The rooms were large and clean. And the location is wonderfully central to Sonoma area wineries. However, we had a limo on one of our days, and I inadvertently forgot my jacket in the car. The limo driver was unable to return the jacket right away, so he came back later that night, after I had already retired for the evening, and left if with the night manager. Long story short, the night manager gave the jacket to someone else, even though my name was given as the owner. And, my follow-up requests for attention to this problem have been ignored. My advice if you decide to stay here is to not rely on the front desk. Their professionalism is in need of polishing up.

  • Liked — Location, room size
  • Disliked — Apathy of night manager
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Rosa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2008

We stayed at the Hilton Sonoma for a wedding in October. The hotel was clean and nice, but not what I expected of a hilton. The elevators were out of service, and the sign stating it looked permanent.
The service in the resteraunt was very sad. We sat there 20 minutes just waiting to get a menu. I wasn't once offered a coffee refill.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2008

When I book a hotel room I am really looking for a few things but at the top of my list is a comfy bed and the Hilton took care of that one no problem. After a long day of wine tasting I want that comfort of a nice bed. In general the hotel was not my favorite mostly because it is spread out so much and looks like an apartment complex. The elevator in our section was broken and the ice machine was broken in our complex also. We spent $89 a night and for that price I would go back but if you are looking at spending more than a $120 I would say you would most likely be disappointed. Oh the pool was great too!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi11197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

I stayed one night at the Hilton with my husband on Hilton Honors points in September. The rooms and hotel are nicely kept and rooms are fairly large. Very clean. Location is rather quiet. Not the most romantic location, as there are many smaller inns in Sonoma area, but for the value and location, it's a great place to stay.

Equus Restaurant down the street at the Fountain Grove Inn is a great option for a nice meal. Pretty cozy, sexy atmosphere.

We stayed at this hotel 2 years ago, also on points, and had no complaints.

  • Liked — Clean, large rooms, value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

Despite the reservations about location expressed by some reviewers, the hotel is a short drive from many vineyards in the Russian River and Alexander Valleys. Unlike vineyards in Napa these are not over-run with visitors and many tastings are free. The hotel provided some tasting room guest vouchers (do also check vineyard websites to print out 'special offer' tasting room invitations).

The rooms here have been remodelled to a very comfortable standard and the gardens and grounds are well maintained and the pool clean and well presented.

The shared lanai (deck walkway /balconies) for the rooms around the pool is not an ideal layout - and quietness depends on the consideration of neighbours. Our first night we had noisy neighbours who sat outside our room drinking until midnight, while the next three nights were peaceful. If noise bothers you I suggest avoiding these rooms. While we stayed midweek the pool was very quiet.

The breakfast buffet costs $14.95 (if not included in the room rate). The outside breakfast terrace requires updating - and the service is amateur at best - as others have remarked. The hotel does appear to be making further improvements - the area with the ice-vending machines was re-tiled during our stay, but the 'temporarily out of order' signs on the elevator in the Riesling block appeared to be more permanent than temporary.

Overall at the hotel website pre-paid rate of $140 for August mid week this was good value.

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country for 3 nights while we explored wine country. The accommodations were average for a Hilton, not the best or worse I have stayed in. The room needed some minor updating to get a rating of above average. As far as a location for exploring wine country, you would have a hard time finding a better spot. It was a quick drive north to Healdsberg, Russian River, Dry Creek, and a quick drive south to Napa or Sonoma. We arrived late in the afternoon after a long flight from Boston and decided to just have a glass of wine and dinner at the Hotel. The outside area was surprisingly nice as was the wait staff and food. Overall, this is a great central location making it perfect for exploring the surround wineries.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTravelmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
0.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
578 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,047 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
685 reviews
7.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
2.1 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1763
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing