We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quaint and friendly”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country is in the middle of busy Santa Rosa but you would never know it. it's quiet and very "country". Rooms are large, parking is free, restaurant has good food. Even though we were there for vacation, it looks like a great place for business meetings. Close to downtown Santa Rosa for restaurants and shopping. Would definitely go back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BAZ6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Your glowing review of Hilton Sonoma Wine Country is delightful! Sounds like every part of your visit with us suited you perfectly, and that makes us very happy. From our central yet quiet location, large rooms and great dining, we’re grateful to have provided you with a memorable wine country stay. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    420
    288
    132
    64
See reviews for
269
485
47
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My husband, two young kids and I stayed here last night after we attended a "wine pick up party" at Balletto Vineyards on Occidental Rd. This hotel is located just 15 minutes from Balletto & just minutes from many other vineyards and wineries. The room we chose was a standard 2 Queen. The room appeared to be a bit dated but it was still nice, spacious & clean. The mattresses were a bit firmer than I like but I still slept pretty well. One thing that helped me sleep were the black out curtains... those were amazing. There was not one speck of light seeping through the windows at all.
We all enjoyed the pool area. It's a nice large patio area with plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. The pool is very large (junior Olympic size) It's not heated in the summer but it wasn't too cold. They had a tent next to the Heath club complete with a bar set-up & bar tender. The bar tender, Sean, brought my husband and I complimentary mini margaritas as soon as we arrived, as well as 4 towels for all of us to use. After we enjoyed the drinks, we ordered a Mojito. It was the very best I have ever had. They use all locally grown &/or organic mint & sugar cane. It was awesome. I highly recommend you order one.
Dinner- I had read very good reviews for the property's restaurant, Nectar, so we decided to give it a go. The staff was very nice & extremely accommodating. When we arrived it was pretty nice out so we opted to sit outside. However, after just a short while it started to get pretty chilly & my husband and son didn't have a jacket with them, so we asked if we could move inside. Without hesitation they got a table ready for us and in we went. The view from the restaurant was beautiful. The hotel sits at the top of a hill & overlooks Santa Rosa.
Our dinner was great. Both my husband & I ordered the pan fried chicken with a twice baked potato and seasonal veggies (carrots, asparagus & spinach) it was all delicious. We both cleaned our plates.
Since we had a great dinner experience we went back for breakfast. Breakfast was just as good. Kids 5 & under get the buffet for free and they also offer complimentary Starbucks coffee in the lounge area just before entering the restaurant.
They also offer convenient check out through lodgenet on the tv. I love not having to go to the front desk in the morning. I also opt for this unless there is an issue.
If this property were to update it's appearance & get some pillow too mattresses, I'd give it 5 stars. I loved everything else about it.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mecruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
It is positively delightful to read your detailed review of Hilton Sonoma Wine Country. We love to know how our guests spend their time while visiting with us. We’ll be sure to tell our associates you found them so responsive and friendly wherever you were on our property. And your mojito and other dining selections sound delicious! It was a privilege to welcome you and your family here, and to provide you with such a memorable stay in wine country. It’s our hope you will come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great physical hotel and housekeeping staff, but business practices of not accepting business credit cards and charging your personal credit card for the entire stay bill is unexcusable. Even after multiple calls from company to the hotel during my staff it was not changed. Staff were rude and obnoxious dealing with my company about this issue. At this time bill is still on my personal care and Hilton refuses to reverse charges and charge the business card.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 262cynthiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent visit. While we cannot address the specifics of your bill in this forum, it is regrettable if you were troubled in any way. Please know that our team is here to assist in any way possible during or after a guest’s stay. We hope you’ll allow us to provide you with a better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Everything was a 5-star experience at this hotel in Sonoma. The staff were exceptionally helpful and even the General Manager helped reunite me with my glasses I so carelessly left behind. The restaurant offered a great menu and a killer patio. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davebelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of Hilton Sonoma Wine Country. We’re glad you chose to stay with us for your wine country trip, and grateful that we were able to provide you with the memorable stay you deserve. All of our associates are committed to providing the very best in customer service, and they will be glad to know you found them exceptionally helpful. Your high recommendation is an honor. We hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel has a great location, great pool, and awesome wine happy hour. The restaurant is also fantastic. The staff is friendly and efficient. Highly recommend this property to anyone looking to stay around Sonoma!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denvergrl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
A getaway to wine country can be such a treat and we appreciate the time you have taken to share your impressions of our hotel. Your recent visit at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country sounds perfect in every way, and it was our privilege to have provided you with such a memorable stay. Your recommendation of our hotel is an honor, and we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Nice hotel. Pretty much what you expect from a Hilton property.

Plus factors - the pool is great, the food in the restaurant was really good and definitely worth making the most of, the service was friendly and accommodating

Minus factors - we missed the turning to the hotel twice although once we found it it was obvious...the bedroom decor was a little tired here and there as others have reported but really not that bad....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airmilesadict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
All of us at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country are delighted that you had such a nice stay with us. We’re glad you enjoyed our beautiful pool. All of our dining associates at Nectar will be grateful to know you found the food and their service so good. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how satisfied you were. We would love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is not a bad hotel and the staff is quite good. It just has a lot of annoying things wrong with it. You will hear, loud and clear, every door on your floor slam closed. You will hear most of the conversations from the next room. You will find that the TV station you want to watch does not really come in. And,worst of all, the wifi can only be described as "mickey mouse".

Room Tip: Pool view is a better choice but having no neighbors would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your candid comments. It’s great that you enjoyed some features of your recent stay, and you appreciated the customer service of our associates. We do apologize however if you were troubled by the sounds of other guests nearby and any inconveniences that you encountered with your in-room amenities. Your experience will certainly be shared with our management team for review. We hope you might return in the future for the kind of stay you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1763
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing