We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fountaingrove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fountaingrove Inn
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a little tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This facility was really not to my taste .. it seems quite worn and tired - needs updating. I must be in the minority in my opinion as other reviews I have read here love the place. The carpet in the hallways is won and appears dirty.
However , the front desk / concierge Chris is one of the bets I have ever run across- kudos to Fountaingrove for having him on staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    245
    89
    36
    16
See reviews for
107
242
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sycamore, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is my second stay at Fountaingrove Inn and once again I enjoyed the stay. The hotel is quiet, clean, and comfortable. It is unpretentious and warm. The staff was helpful and Chris was especially helpful in suggestions for wine touring. It is a great central location for going any direction in Sonoma County.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPaso
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Comfortable, clean and quiet. We stayed in October 2013 to visit family and do Sanoma and Napa Valleys wineries. Nice resturant and bar but a bit pricy, which I would expect considering the location. Didn't have time to use the pool or fitness center. Our concierge Chris, was very helpful with locations and times of certain wineries. All the staff was very helpful and friendly. Eye pleasing Inn but is limited in property site, so don't expect a view. Not the typical looking Inn but is nice to see some originality for a change.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana4ElPaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Love the very cool vibe of the place. Clean, comfortable, quiet room. Pretty property. Good customer service. Easy access to wine country. Two caveats: because of an odd design choice, many rooms have no view at all and instead face a vine-covered wall. Also, the hotel seems out of place amid all the suburban sprawl. Pick it up and move it to Petaluma!

Room Tip: Ask if they have any rooms with a real view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N2NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stay was during October 2013. My wife and I really enjoy our California wine country trips, and like the Sonoma county area much more than the Napa county area. Santa Rosa seems to be a great central location, and has some decent hotels, motels and resorts. Fountaingrove Inn, as other places, has its pros and cons. Our room was a junior suite.

Pros:
1. Great location for easy access to Sonoma county wineries.
2. Polite staff.
3. Clean and very quiet rooms. The only noise you really get is from the outside, which is minimal. The door to the main hallway is solid wood (oak I believe), as is the door to the tub/commode room.
4. Very very comfortable beds.
5. Equus restaurant. We had a dinner there one evening, and it was very very good. Service was fast and polite. Had the breakfast buffet one morning. Good, but price was a bit on the high side (fortunately we were each given a complimentary breakfast due to some minor issues during check-in).
6. Complimentary wifi. However they ask you to not use too much bandwidth (i.e., no streaming videos, online gaming, and things like that).
7. Large granite-top bathroom vanity (separate from the tub/toilet room). They supply a lighted makeup mirror (my wife appreciated that), and a hair dryer.

Cons:
1. The hotel is built at the bottom of a hillside, located at a busy intersection. Don’t expect beautiful views from your room; you’ll either get a parking lot or a hillside with the typical long brown grass.
2. Several places I’ve stayed offer a small refrigerator and microwave oven. This place has a tiny refrigerator, but no microwave. Not a big deal, but a con nonetheless.
3. Not much drawer space to place unpacked clothes.
4. We stayed in building 2 (where the junior suites were located). There is no elevator in that building for getting luggage up and down, but if you drive up the hill to the rear door there is a curvy ramp you can wheel large suitcases down/up. A bit of an inconvenience. I would also like to say that it is even more of an inconvenience for handicapped guests. Although there are no marked parking spaces near that back door, I noticed a couple cars with handicapped permits parked up near there. A bit of a hill to negotiate for those guests.

Not really a con, but there were a couple spots where the carpet in our room was showing signs of wear.

I really have nothing bad to say about this place. However, I think Fountaingrove’s rates are a bit high for the ambiance you get. Not that this stay was bad; the beds are really comfy, and the rooms are ultra quiet. But, I’ve still had better stays at other hotels or resorts. I’d would like to extend my thanks to Fountaingrove Inn’s staff for a good stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DLandDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We travel to or through Santa Rosa 3- 6 times a year and have found our new favorite hotel. The location is perfect for our shopping trips. We were pleasantly surprised how quiet the room was being right off the freeway. Staff was gracious and helpful. Our server in the restaurant was absolute delightful and our dinner was very good. Yes, the view is not noteworthy, but that wasn't a priority for our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VizziZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My sister and I (in our 70s) stayed here on a business trip.. What a delight! We were so impressed with the meticulous maintenance of the 1980 structure. .. We were also impressed with the updating of the rooms. We stayed in a Jr suite in the upper north building. It had plenty of room.. two beds and a sitting area. But.. they need to add a mirror There was just one mirror over the bathroom sink.. not enough.
People need to understand that this place was built in the early 80's when land was cheap and technology was expensive hence the sprawl. There are no elevators, so if you can't deal with stairs you need to be on the first floor.
We ate at Equus. . We shared the lamb bits and crab cakes and a salad.. enough for us but not for a man..
Drinks were reasonable $6.00.. We don't do wine.

Room Tip: We had room 278 Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountaingrove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountaingrove Inn

Property: Fountaingrove Inn
Address: 101 Fountaingrove Pkwy, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1777
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fountaingrove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fountaingrove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountaingrove Hotel Santa Rosa
Fountaingrove Santa Rosa
Fountaingrove Inn Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing