We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally Located For Dry Creek Wine Region”
Review of Fountaingrove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fountaingrove Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Northern California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideally Located For Dry Creek Wine Region”
Reviewed 7 December 2009

My wife and I spent a three day weekend at the Fountaingrove Inn. Typically, we stay at the Hilton located on the hill directly above the Fountaingrove, but this time, it was the Fountaingrove that accepted our bid through priceline. This was our third stay at the Fountaingrove as well as stays at several other hotels in the area; so, we do have a good idea of what is available by comparison.

The room and bathroom were large enough and appeared to be spotless. It was convenient having a small fridge in the room for snacks and drinks, and the other amenities, which were standard for a 3 star hotel, were all in good working order. The toiletries were of good quality, and while the linens were not spectacular, they were above average for a hotel. The front desk clerk at check-out and check-in was both friendly and efficient. A nice bonus was a wine tasting at the hotel on Friday night. The wine presented by Gloria Ferrer, both still and sparkling, was pleasant and the tasting provided an opportunity to socialize with some of the other guests at the hotel.

Now for the bad. I said the room appeared to be clean. Well after walking around the room in socks, it became apparent that a good shampooing of the carpets was definitely in order. You could see the wear in the well traveled hall carpeting,and I have no problem with that, but the carpeting in the rooms should not only be clean to the eye, but should be truly clean. My second gripe is something that I doubt the hotel has any control over, the showerhead. It was a low flow showerhead, undoubtedly required by local ordinance, that provided what amounted to a damp spray of air. I've talked about this before with my wife, but I may just start packing a real showerhead when I travel. Finally, the WiFi was spotty at best. I eventually gave up and took my lap top along with me when I went to get a mocha in the morning and used the WiFi available at the coffee shop.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lumbergh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    248
    90
    38
    16
See reviews for
109
245
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, KY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

Everything about this Hotel was 1st class...Service was AWESOME! Peaceful, quiet surroundings...nice property, very clean...employees couldn't do enough for you!!!
Would Definitely return w/my husband & found out pets are allowed, as well! (GREAT BONUS!!!) LOVED the Whole experience there!!!

Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank kcgilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Yep, second time staying here, liked it both times. I really like the location, just 35 min. from downtown calistoga - and cheaper than staying in the Napa Valley. It is also just 25 min from Healdsburg area (including Dry Creek). Rooms are comfortable but average. Not a great luxury stay but nice. Restraunt on property, but there are a ton of great places to eat around here. My recommend is Willeys Wine bar not even 10 min up the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2009

we enjoyed the stay at this hotel. Average value for the price. the room was clean and comfortable. the on-site lounge/restaurant had great happy hour specials. travelers should know this hotel is located on a busy intersection 4-5 miles from the very nice downtown area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarHeelTourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

I've stayed at the Fountaingrove many times over many years, typically 6-10 times a year. It has gone through various room remodeling and changes, but remains a quiet and comfortable inn, with friendly staff, convenient location, nice rooms and an excellent adjoining restaurant/bar (so-so breakfast but great lunch and dinner).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tez1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

This hotel is extremely nice and in a great location! I would definitely stay there again, especially at the Priceline rate that I got! :)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCChristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Received a great rate through Travelzoo. Room was a nice size. Very clean. The bed was comfy. Bathroom was roomy. The room decor was nice. Some of the distressed accessories in the bathroom just looked old. Easy access on and off the freeway. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaTravelstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountaingrove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountaingrove Inn

Property: Fountaingrove Inn
Address: 101 Fountaingrove Pkwy, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1777
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fountaingrove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fountaingrove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountaingrove Hotel Santa Rosa
Fountaingrove Santa Rosa
Fountaingrove Inn Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing