We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort? I think not. More like a pricer motel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Reviewed 5 November 2012

For a hotel with 'resort' in the name I really expected a resort-like experience. Unfortunately, my stay at Flamingo left a lot more to be desired.

I was not too thrilled with the motel style decor in the common area. It appeared more dated than retro and not particularly pleasing.

We stayed at the executive king size pool view room. The interior of the room was thankfully modern. Some area could use a bit of renovation but the overall quality wasn't too terrible. My main disappointment was housekeeping. I have found several stains on their linen. Some of the towels had seen better days and really need to be replaced. During our stay we have even found a dirty rug left by the housekeeping staff.

The bed was reasonably comfortable despite being a bit springy. Bathroom is roomy since there were no tub. Would have been a lot better if there were more counter space. The wall hairdryer in the bathroom is long hair girl's worst nightmare. They actually left a more powerful one in the closet but I didn't find out until much later so don't make the same mistake I did.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Verlisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don H, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2016

Thank you very much for your review. We're sorry your experience wasn't quite what you'd expected. Our recent renovations have addressed some of what you bring up here. But training has corrected the others. We hope you'll give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

We were in the Wine Country for a wedding and stayed here for two nights. It's clearly an older property, but very conveniently located if you don't mind a little driving and I prefer these older properties for their character. Since our events were over in the Calistoga side, we had to drive over Calistoga Road several times, which for some may be a might unnerving, but was no big deal for us being so close to the highway.

The Flamingo offers some great benefits not the least of which is their fantastic pool. Lap swimmers rejoice, as it has a full 25 yds of laned swimming bliss awaiting you. The hot tub is a bit of a hike from the pool, but isn't a deal breaker. The swim area is nicely appointed, clean and has plenty of towels.

We stayed in a "family suite" which is an interesting design. The main bedroom area is comfortable and spacious enough as it also has a very narrow separate sleeping area for the kids featuring two single beds. This was perfect for us, but maybe not what some would expect. The bathroom was clean and updated, but small and maybe one improvement I would suggest is having a mirror and dresser outside the bathroom so more than one person can get dressed at once.

Make sure you don't miss a chance to have breakfast at the nearby "Worth our Weight" restaurant, staffed by underprivileged local youth. It's a fantastic experience both for feeding your body and for your soul and the food is nothing short of culinary magnificence.

Room Tip: The family suite is an excellent compromise of space and budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TR182Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don H, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2016

Thank you very much for your review. We can't wait to see you again. And yes, we're 20 minutes door to door from Calistoga (in the Napa Valley).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stayed at the Flamingo while visiting family and really enjoyed the hotel. Front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. Food in dining room was great and offered two healthy menus in addition to the main menu. Location was perfect for shopping with CVS just across the street and Montgomery Village 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don H, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2016

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We spent 4 nights here on our trip to wine country and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great weather helped but the hotel is a classic old resort with multiple low level (2 story) buildings around a central pool area. The pool is large and the surrounding area is open with lots of lounges and nice grounds. Our room was in the "Executive" wing on the ground level with a balcony looking towards the pool and it was great to sit out here and be able to listen to our music and enjoy a glass of wine. The room itself was large and comfortable although the TV was too small for the area. Another knock for the room was the lack of a full length mirror. We ate at the hotel twice and were satisfied with our meals which were good but not great but then there were several restaurants nearby that were good.
The hotel is not in the downtown but close enough to it that you could walk there. If you enjoy walking or running the surrounding streets offered good opportunity through upscale residential neighbourhoods. In particular the slope behind the hotel was a great walk by some very nice houses on heavily treed streets with some open areas for vistas of the Santa Rosa area.
We would definitely stay here again if we returned to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. A $20/night upgrade they comped us the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cam_and_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don H, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2016

Thanks for your review Cam_and_Laura. We want you to spend another 4 nights with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Loved that I could bring my dog and my toddler without any concerns. The pool is beautiful and sitting out there for dinner was fantastic. Room was clean and loved having a bathtub for the baby. Crib was standard and not one of those playpens that a lot of hotels use these days. Overall, great experience.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Alison U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don H, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2016

Thank you very much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We were certainly interested in this hotel after seeing pictures of the retro styling, all the way up to pulling into the lot under the giant neon sign. However, from then on, this hotel offered disappointments aplenty. We booked this supposed "value" of a hotel on Hotwire, which may share part of the blame, as the rate we paid was about 50% higher than what the hotel itself indicates as its bargain price. That price should certainly be justified by a 3.5 star hotel on the booking site; our experience was more in line with a budget chain hotel (that happened to cost twice as much). Parking at a Motel 8 would certainly have not been such a hassle. We were assured by the front desk that our room has "a parking spot right in front of the door". This was technically true; however, we shared this spot and door with three other rooms, so were forced to park a pretty decent walk away from the room and carry our bags. The rooms were bland and dated, though relatively clean. In a word, they were utilitarian-- much more in line with this straw man budget motel I keep comparing it to. Wine country wasn't our destination, and we didn't use the pool, so we're forced to judge this hotel simply on the parking, room and service. In these areas it sorely lacked. Do yourself a favor and book the Hilton. It's a predictable commodity, and for a similar price, miles ahead of this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don H, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2016

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We do take pride in our heated year round pool. Our acreage around it is also extremely rare in this area. Our location and our history are plusses, but our modern renovations since this review are what makes many many thousands of people coming back. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Retro but updated. Rooms aren't huge but completely adequate. Good location close to vineyards, parks, grocery store, not too far from SFO. Great pool ask for a room with view of it. Good value. Walls are a little thin.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmcvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don H, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2016

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
715 reviews
2 mi away
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
464 reviews
6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
4.8 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa

Address: 2777 4th St, Santa Rosa, CA 95405-4795
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range: £122 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Landmark located between Sonoma Valley Wineries and downtown Santa Rosa, walking distance to upscale Shopping Montgomery Village, 5 restaurants, 24 hr CVS Pharmacy and Safeway/Starbucks. Full service affordable Destination Resort with 8 treatment rooms Spa featuring a Couples Massage, facials, manicure, pedicure, Vichy Body Scrub,2 Olympic size Outdoor heated Pools, 5 Tennis Courts with Pro, 8,000 Sq ft Montecito Heghts Health Club with child care, personal trainers, Indoor Cycle and Warm Yoga Studios,Free Parking, 170 rooms including 13 Pool view Suites,newly remodeled Executive Kings,Pet friendly rooms upon request,Family rooms-3-4 beds; all non Smoking rooms with mini refrigerators, King or dbl-dbl size beds, complimentary Wine and Cheese tasting every Friday 5-7pm, Poolside Dining, Lounge with nightly entertainment- dancing on weekends, Salsa Sundays,3-6pm Happy Hour,2 Bars,Healthy menu choices, Sunday Champagne Brunch, 15 function rooms 15,000 sq ft of function space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Conference Resort And Spa
Flamingo Resort Santa Rosa
Flamingo Hotel Santa Rosa
Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing