We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for a Sonoma weekend getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value for a Sonoma weekend getaway!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here twice on two different Sonoma weekend trips. The courtyard is modern and the location is convenient. Also, there is a flying goat coffee shop nearby for amazing coffee and a breakfast treat. Lodging options all over Sonoma area can be very expensive and the courtyard is a good value. We are from the Bay Area and it's not too far away but it is after a long day of wine tasting. Last minute, we still got a room at a good value. This location was about 15-20minutes from the vineyards we were visiting. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard Santa Rosa, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear YenC,

Thank you for your stay with the Courtyard Marriott Santa Rosa over the summer. We value your business and the gift you left us in your review. I am glad you enjoyed our guest service and your experience. We look forward to having you back for yet another trouble free stay.

Sincerely,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    147
    68
    19
    8
See reviews for
54
101
14
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. The staff were very helpful. I was stressed about my bicycle arriving via Fed Ex. They called me to let me know when it arrived. We asked for a refrigerator, this is not standard, and we had one in our room within minutes. There was no extra charge.

I used the gym twice and so did my husband, different times, different days. It was a bit crowded at the time you would expect, morning, a few hours before check out. But I only waited a few minutes for a machine. It was clean and did not smell.

The room was a good size as we had a lot of gear. The bathroom was large.

On nights 3 and 4, a Friday and Saturday, we had VERY noisy neighbors in the next room and the hall was noisy. We called the front desk and within minutes they had someone up to speak to the noisy party. After that it was better.

The business center was in the lobby, very easy to use. Wi-Fi in the rooms was fast and no problems.

The food available at the restaurant was not healthy enough for my taste, looking at the menu, so we did not eat there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard Santa Rosa, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. The title of the review does not reflect all the nice things said about the hotel. I do regret the noisy neighbors and am glad they were quieted quickly for you. I hope you will consider us again for a trouble free stay.

Sincerely,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Unfortunately the Courtyard did not have availability for my group coming up this Labor Day weekend, but I spoke to Charmaine who was extremely helpful in pointing me in a different direction to a resource that could potentially help me further. Of all the other hotels I have called today (all so far are sold out for groups), she was the only one who proactively gave me a different, viable option. Because of this, I will be calling this property first next time I am in town. Thanks so much, Charmaine!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard Santa Rosa, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Kwansy,

Thank you for taking the time to write about the great service you received from Charmaine. She often goes above and beyond to assist people and I am glad that it was so well received by you. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards,
-Max Childs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent City, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I and an associate had a two-night stay at this hotel, and had a very comfortable stay. Check-in was very quick, and the clerk was very helpful and cheery following our long travel day. She called up to our room within a half-hour to ask if we had everything we needed, and if the room was to our liking. It was an extra step that was very appreciated.

I was also very happy that their "shop" had a nice variety of snacks and frozen dinners (such as Stouffers), as I hadn't an opportunity to eat dinner.

The room was clean and spacious, as was the bathroom, and the shower offered nice hot water, although the showerhead was very high up (I'm sure those who are 6' or better really appreciate it). There was a refrigerator, microwave, toiletries, writing desk, lounge with ottoman, armoire with flatscreen TV. The hotel offered free WiFi, and had ice machines and soda machine on each floor near the elevators. There was breakfast service (which I did not partake), and an afternoon wine tasting and appetizer social hour (this is Sonoma County, after all!).

Overall, this proved to be a very comfortable stay for the business traveler.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyfern31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard Santa Rosa, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Ladyfern,

Thank you for your recent stay and the fabulous review you gave about it! It is guest like yourselves that make working here such a delight! I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and hope you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Max Childs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Upon arrival, we were assigned King bed room 220. When we went in, we almost immediately noticed "motor" noise every time one of the elevators moved. I went to the lobby and was told that they've had that complaint about that room before and that it was supposed to be on their "out of order" list. (I couldn't quite figure out why there was elevator noise in that room, as the elevators were not adjacent to the room.?.?) We were given a different room -- no elevator noise, but no king bed either. Apparently, now, only rooms with dual double beds were available.

Let's talk about the mattresses. Worn out. Mushy, soft, ready for the dump. Uncomfortable . . . achy backs in the morning. The room had two beds, One of the mattresses had a dip in the middle, like it had been primarily slept in by a single person. Badly worn out. The other was mushy and just as used up as the first.

Lobby area is nice and inviting. Adequate parking with too-narrow spaces. Try to park next to a new-looking car, so you don't get your doors dinged.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SDBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard Santa Rosa, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us and the feedback you provided. I regret the shortcomings you encountered. All but a couple of the rooms have the bed brand that Marriott uses pretty much exclusively and we usually get very positive feedback on our beds. I hope you will consider us again for a trouble free stay.

Sincerely,
Max Childs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, tx
Level Contributor
207 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Four of us stayed here to use this hotel as our "base" for a cycling trip through Sonoma. The rooms are typical updated Courtyard style hotels smallish bathrooms and decent beds. Rooms all have flat screen TV's and free wifi. We had 2 rooms and my opinion is 4 people to a room would be fairly crowded. What makes this hotel nice is the location and customer service. The hotel is in walking distance of the "Railroad District" where there are several bars / restaurants along with some shops. Downtown Santa Rosa is on the other side of the highway and is a short drive where there are more places to eat and drink. There are several wineries / vineyards a short distance away as well. The customer service here is outstanding. The staff was very helpful to meet any needs or questions we may have had.

There is a small restaurant that can cook some smaller orders of food. We ate breakfast there every morning. It was just ok. They do serve alcohol at night and we heard they had some wine tastings as well there in the early evenings.

The hotel is located right next to the Santa Rosa bike trail, so this was convenient for us as it allowed us to start our ride from there. Btw, if you are looking for a great place to rent bikes, Uber-Bikes, owned by Denver Booker and located in Santa Rosa is a great person to rent high end road bikes from. He will bring them over and pick them up at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cseanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
180 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We chose this property based on location... and not wanting to pay for a lot of extra frills. The staff here is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms are very Courtyard basic - clean and comfortable. The entire property is well maintained and clean. Parking is free. The hotel and Santa Rosa provide a great jumping off point for anyone wanting to visit both Healdsburg and Sonoma area winerys; even Napa is only a :30 minute or so drive. Santa Rosa provides some great places to eat and has lots of shopping options. The hotel is within a block of the Historic Railroad district, with lots of antique shops. There is a major indoor shooping mall only blocks away as well (Macy's and Sears anchor stores.) You could also easily walk to 4th Street/Downtown which has many different restaurants and shops to choose from, as well as a movie theater. The Russian River Micro Brewery is a hot spot. We had lunch there as well as a great beer flight. Just behind the hotel and across the street behind the Hyatt Hotel is a really nice paved walking/biking path that runs along a creek. It is about a 15 minute walk to downtown on this path.

We didn't eat anything at the hotel, there are too many other options within a few minutes walk. Just down Railroad Street, within a 3 minute walk is the "Depot" where you can get good coffee and light breakfast items. Another good breakfast option is Omlette Express (which is really very much full service) that has a nice atmosphere and good, home-style food; portions are very generous.

I would definitely stay here again as a "base camp." Good value, no frills but great proximity to everything else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel, we didn't have much of a problem with noise on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandyceW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Courtyard Santa Rosa, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Candyce,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write about your experience. It is always reassuring to learn we are doing acceptionally well. I am glad we met your needs and you were able to enjoy local restaurants and shops. I hope you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Max Childs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Santa Rosa

Property: Courtyard Santa Rosa
Address: 175 Railroad St, Santa Rosa, CA 95401-6266
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Marriott Santa Rosa has 138 guest rooms including 12 larger king bedded rooms. All nonsmoking and offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and banquet space. Guests enjoy the outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, fitness center and business center. The modern lobby features a GoBoard 55" touchscreen virtual concierge. The Bistro serves breakfast, dinner, full bar and proudly brews Starbucks 24 hours. Offering free parking, this downtown location is only one block from highways 101 and 12 located in Historic Railroad Square with fifteen restaurants and specialty shops, a mall and downtown Santa Rosa is only a short walk away. "It's a New Stay!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Santa Rosa Hotel Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Courtyard
Santa Rosa Marriott
Courtyard Santa Rosa Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing