We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst service I have ever received at a hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worst service I have ever received at a hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

The gentleman that checked me in joke that our room would be near the elevator and noisy (exactly what I didn't want so that was his idea of funny). I asked him about a cab to the airport and he had no idea what the charge would be. Wouldn't that be nice to know since they don't offer a shuttle? I asked for directions to a restaurant nearby which he made fun of my pronunciation. We went over to the "bistro" to see what was available and were told we did not get breakfast with our stay when inquiring what rme they started serving. The room itself was nothing to write about. They serve fake Starbucks in the morning and the service was no better than the night before. Very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard Santa Rosa, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to express your displeasure. It is comments such as yours that help us to continually improve. Sarcasm and poor information is not the type of service we wish to provide and is not typical of the associate you encountered. I assure you that your comments are being used for training purposes and our Starbucks is a real Proudly Brew Starbucks. I hope that you will consider us for a future trouble free stay.

Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    147
    68
    19
    8
See reviews for
54
101
14
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
palo alto, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Santa Rosa is going upscale and the hotel prices are reflective of it. Courtyard is, in my opinion, pricey compared with what you get. There is no small fridge in the room for example. The sink is outside the bathroom with no room to lay out toiletries. The pool is small, and the fitness facility just adequate with 4 cardio machines and a free weight room. There is no complimentary breakfast and the "bar" area serves as the breakfast area in the morning.

On the plus side, you can walk to a number of shops and Railroad Square. The staff is friendly and greets you when you leave or arrive. Computers are available (two) with printers at no additional charge. The room I stayed in had a sitting area, which is nice if you have guests.

Taxes are pretty surprising. There's a room tax, a city tax, and a use tax of some kind that added over $20 per day to the posted daily rates.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the entry side; it will be quieter. On the plus side if you lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betennat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed here for a couple's weekend. The service was quite friendly and helpful. I really like the updated modern lobby with the mini-mart and Starbucks stand. I was a little puzzled when none of the early morning Sunday football games were showing in the lobby, even I saw NFL flags and signs around the lobby. Not a big deal though, we walked to Russian River to watch the games and drink their beers (this was the main purpose of our weekend!) The pool and hot tub area was well kept.

The overall room and bed were comfortable. Good toiletries, always a plus in my book. Nice flat-screen TV. The main complaint I had was the very loud, intoxicated, and um, "amorous" couple next door to us that were incredibly noisy from midnight to about 3am. The walls were PAPER thin! It also didn't help that the thin adjoining doors were directly in front of our bed, so we could hear everything. We tried to knock on the couple's door, as a hint to keep it down, but they did not seem to hear or care, and again, one could tell that they were intoxicated. We did not feel comfortable calling the front desk, for our neighbors sounded like they were on a marathon session and did not care what anyone would say or do. Thank goodness the couple checked out on Sunday and that we did not have to hear them again on our last night.

Despite the paper-thin walls, I would probably stay here again based on price, location, and general quality of this hotel. We usually stay at the Hyatt across the street for our Santa Rosa weekends, but due to their limited availability and high prices, we decided to stay at the Courtyard this time around. I don't regret our decision, but I will check the Hyatt again first before considering the Courtyard.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room that has an adjoining door if you do not know your neighbors!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinat168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Courtyard Marriott in Santa Rosa is a great place to stay.
It was no problem to drive less than an hour to the Napa Valley and
other points of interest, plus all the Sonoma Valley vineyards are
easily accessible.
There were many good restaurants within walking distance and the
hotel restaurant was also very good.
By leaving the hotel after 10 and coming back later in the day, I
managed to avoid any work traffic. It was a very pleasant 8 day stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogogirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula
Level Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Pretty standard Courtyard. Could be great with just a little more updating in the guest rooms. Location is great and within walking distance of lots of restaurants and shops. Beds are comfy and rooms are a good size. The service is exceptional. Truly helpful and proactive staff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

This is not one of the quaint little hotels that many of the small towns in Sonoma county (Heldsburg, Forrestville) have but it is centrally located and a very nice place to stay. We had just 3 days and 2 nights and the Courtyard in Santa Rosa was perfect. The farthest we had to drive to visit a winery was 20 minutes. We went to the Russian Valley down to Glen Ellen and up to the Alexander Valley. The price was half that of the boutique hotels and we got to see more of Sonoma county. The staff was also very helpful. For a first time visitor to Sonoma County this was a great hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johninflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard Santa Rosa, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear JohninFlorida,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel, our great staff and our superior location. Please visit us again soon!

Best regards,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Overall this was a good stay. The lobby and bistro were excellent - good variety of food and drink in the bistro. All the employees that I encountered were responsive and courteous. Could walk to downtown restaurants also.

No bug bites or any evidence of bed bugs. Areas that could be better: noise control and requiring a key to go up elevator and stairs. Noise transmitted through front room door easily and random drunk people were in the hallways in the early morning hours and did not appear to be guests.

As another note, taxis are not readily available in Santa Rosa. You (or front desk) must call for them - allow time.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the elevator as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The Thirteenth Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard Santa Rosa, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you for recent stay and taking the time to review. It is great that you enjoyed our Bistro and the staff. It sound like folks were having a good time in and around the hotel. We are installing door sweeps that help minimize the guest hallway noise. This is an example of just some of the items that, through comments such as yours, help us continually improve. Sorry to hear you had to wait for a taxi - often times, they are parked just outside. Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Santa Rosa

Property: Courtyard Santa Rosa
Address: 175 Railroad St, Santa Rosa, CA 95401-6266
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Marriott Santa Rosa has 138 guest rooms including 12 larger king bedded rooms. All nonsmoking and offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and banquet space. Guests enjoy the outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, fitness center and business center. The modern lobby features a GoBoard 55" touchscreen virtual concierge. The Bistro serves breakfast, dinner, full bar and proudly brews Starbucks 24 hours. Offering free parking, this downtown location is only one block from highways 101 and 12 located in Historic Railroad Square with fifteen restaurants and specialty shops, a mall and downtown Santa Rosa is only a short walk away. "It's a New Stay!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Santa Rosa Hotel Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Courtyard
Santa Rosa Marriott
Courtyard Santa Rosa Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing