We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I don't usually stay in MOTELs but budget was a problem on this trip. I found this motel to be WAY better than I expected. Right off the freeway, so it was easy to find, but the rooms admitted NO traffic noise. The appearance at arrival was surprisingly nice. The room was spacious and elegant with all the amenities of a high end hotel. The staff were superb. And I especially appreciated the breakfast cafe, with REAL, HOT food, not just a lobby of cold cereal and cold muffins. I enjoyed the pool, which was heated to the perfect temperature. I have never had a better stay anywhere and the value for the price was wonderful!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lorna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donadidit44, Manager at Best Western Plus Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you Lorna T, I do appreciate your comments, I am glad our property was more than you expected. Please do not hesitate to call us when you are in town again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very nice room however only one entrance of highway and it was a little tricky if you didn't know where you were going. Very friendly staff. I like the little night lights that help you see your way in the dark without turning the full light on.

Room Tip: Try to check in during the day so you can see the road turn better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuroaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donadidit44, Manager at Best Western Plus Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for your input, Knowing that was staff was friendly is always a good feeling. Sounds like you enjoyed the pool. And yes the little light makes it nice when you first enter the room. Not over powering. Again thank you Auroa B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This property is a mixed bag: It's not really located in an ideal part of town, although it's very convenient to the highway and downtown. It's as if it's also stuck in the mid-century, but not in a bad way. It's an old fashioned "motor court" motel, yet it's well maintained, clean, updated, and has all the amenities. The linens were good quality and seemed recently updated. The check-in and check-out desk clerks were very, very friendly and helpful. There was no included breakfast, but there's a little cafe on the premises, and the breakfast was inexpensive yet complete and good. The waitress was very friendly and attentive, and the cafe was bright and cheerful. I needed a laundry opportunity, and their little laundry room was just that -- little. Only one washer, one dryer, yet both were clean and the laundry room was clean. But it would have been nice if there had been at least 2 washers, 2 dryers. It meant I had to hang out there for 2 consecutive loads, vs. 2 simultaneous loads. No biggie, I guess. Small concession for an overall great room at a great price.

Room Tip: Sorry, I accidently rated "kids activities", which I know nothing about. So in fairness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donadidit44, Manager at Best Western Plus Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you Sarah T. I appreciate your comments on our property, and how you view everything about an older property, as having all the amenities that a guest needs. and being clean. and my staff as being friendly. . Thank you, and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We used Trip Advisor reviews and pictures to pick this hotel and we were actually shocked when we pulled up and realized it looked nothing like the pictures on here. We booked a King room and it was very small with the tiniest bathroom I've seen in a motel. I am not sure why it is a plus as it appeared to be just another motel with no added amenities. There is a pool but it was close to the busy road and not the cleanest area. The room itself was clean enough but many of the fixtures are looking tired. None of our party slept well as the two rooms we booked had extremely noisy air conditioners that seemed to not work very well. I would look elsewhere for a better hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontario_Sun_lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donadidit44, Manager at Best Western Plus Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

So sorry that you did b not enjoy your stay. I see you booked a standard king bed, not a deluxe king.
There is a big difference between the two rooms. The deluxe king room have a large vanity area, and the room is larger also. By the way we have two swimming pools. The one that you did not mention is in the back section of the hotel, in the garden area. Not sure what your idea of a plus is.
But we meet all the requirements for a plus property. All Best Westerns are individually own, there are no two alike. If there was a problem with your air conditioner, if we would have known we would have been more than happy to see what the problem was. We are actually getting ready to replace the furniture in all of the rooms in the one story building. Again sorry you were disappointed. Next time you are in town, you may want to pay $100.00 more a night, and find what you are looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at multiple Best Western pluses and this one let us down in terms if overall amenities. Nice, clean, friendly - but didnt feel like a plus. Probably would stay somewhere else for less next time

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donadidit44, Manager at Best Western Plus Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your input, I am not sure what you are looking for in a hotel, Or where you have stayed before. But rates are based on the area that you book a room, After all Sonoma County is a destination area, especially in the summer, and fall season. No we do not have a hot tub. And that is not a plus feature that we have to have, But we do have two pools. Hopefully when you are in the area again, you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I've stayed at this motel at least a half-dozen times, usually after a long flight from the East Coast followed by a long drive from SFO. The room is always immaculate and comfortable, WiFi is reliable, the garden area beautiful. This place is a great value run by people proud of what they do. Once I stayed at the most expensive hotel in Santa Rosa. Never again. The Best Western really is best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donadidit44, Manager at Best Western Plus Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you Peter, I am glad you keep coming back to our hotel. I like the fact that you feel comfortable when you are here. and the room is immaculate. On of the most important things when traveling in this day and age, is the WiFi. We are always doing upgrades so our guest have no problem getting on line. Hope to see you next time you are in from the East Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel is located with easy access to the 101N and shopping mall and lots of great resturants. They have their own breakfast cafe and serve meals to order unlike most Best Westerns that just have continental meals.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marga W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donadidit44, Manager at Best Western Plus Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you Marga W. I am glad you like our breakfast cafe. It is nice to be able to have a nice hot breakfast cooked to order, over food that has been siting on a steam table, or out of a package.
I am glad the location worked for you. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
3.7 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
589 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
3.8 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
457 reviews
2.5 mi away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 25 in Santa Rosa
125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
#9 of 25 in Santa Rosa
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Garden Inn

Address: 1500 Santa Rosa Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95404-5428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Rosa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range: £79 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tour the Sonoma Wine Country while staying at this beautiful, garden setting Santa Rosa hotel.The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, located in Santa Rosa, California features 79 guest rooms and a beautifully landscaped quiet garden. Hotel guests are only minutes from Sonoma Wine country and all of the area attractions which include the Sonoma County Fairgrounds, the Russian River Redwoods and downtown Santa Rosa.All spacious well-appointed guest rooms come equipped with a microwave, refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Guests can start the day off with breakfast at the coffee shop located on the hotel premises. The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn also features two outdoor seasonal pools, dry cleaning services and free parking.Families will appreciate being only one mile from the Snoopy Museum. The Luther Burbank Gardens and the Jesse Peter Native American Art Museum are also close to the hotel. Make a reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN Garden Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Hotel Santa Rosa
Best Western Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Best Western
Best Western Plus Garden Inn Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing