We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
Reviewed 22 November 2009

The service and effort from the staff of this BW get an extra star. However, the place itself isn’t very much, but to be fair, this is a BW motel, and it is what it is.

The first night we got a pool-side room in which you could feel the room rattled every time a screen door was opened or closed. And the next door’s TV noise pierced through the walls. Donna, the manager, was understanding and moved us to a different building at the NW corner, which was solid and quiet. (She said that she wouldn’t put any guests next to us.)

The next night, there was no WiFi signal in the room and we notified the front desk. The next morning, Donna told us she would contact IT and would add an access point. We got WiFi that evening.

The remaining two nights were fine and comfortable. House keeping was good everyday.

The fridge and microwave vary in size and quality depending on the room. The location is very convenient with a Trader Joe’s and Costco Gas nearby. This was a good base for trips to Sonoma, Dry Creek Valley, Healdsburg and the Russian River.

Because our rates were 20% lower than regular, this stay made a mark for good value.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schneidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    256
    126
    45
    30
See reviews for
201
225
36
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Nice Hotel with a small Mom and Pop Restaurant that had 5 star food. The breakfast was the best part of this stay. The Hotel was clean and served us well. Make sure you eat in their Restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RANDY823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I have been disappointed by some Best Westerns in the past, but not this one. It was clean, quiet, comfortable, mostly new inside. It was well maintained inside and out. Although the hotel was full, I never heard any noise from other rooms or outside. The staff were helpful and courteous. And they have a very good attitude about accepting pets. Only one problem: the TV reception was not good, with a lot of snow and static on the screen. But overall a very good value for the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SQ1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the county fair grounds. Though not in a very attractive part of town, we found it to be a wonderful lodging option for our needs.
The design is that of an old "motor court" hotel with strings bungalows as well as a 2-story building.
The grounds are well landscaped and really "make" this place. Lovely plantings throughout create an oasis atmosphere in a very dreary neighborhood. There are 2 swimming pools, both heated, an on-site breakfast cafe which was clean, comfortable and served very good made-to-order dishes at a very reasonable price. The bungalows in the middle section of buildings have walk-outs to small patios. Though it is possible to see over to the neighboring units across the garden, it still creates a very restful ambience and we found it quaint as opposed to problematic.
Rooms were scrupulously clean and quite large. They are of the old motor-court design where the bathroom, sink and closet are across the front of the unit and the sleeping area is beyond that "hall". The king-size bed did not overwhelm the space at all. There was a comfortable easy chair with ottoman, a large desk and an entertainment center with a large tv, and best of all, an honest to goodness "individual" room thermostat which allowed us to determine our own room temperature. A microwave and dorm-size frig were also included.
If you are a person who needs to be pampered with lots of amenities and trendy frills then this is not for you. If you are looking for a good, clean, quiet place to stay, and your focus is on a comfortable bed and spotlessly clean sleeping quarters at an exceptionally good rate, then you should consider this facility.
It is dog-friendly, by the way.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footloose57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

This "hotel" was rated as good on here! It was more of a motel, to expensive almost $190, and not worth it. The room was clean, but old, and had a bad smell. Like it needed new carpet. We actually only stayed 1 hour and left.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alb76ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

I was on a road trip to Southern California, and made this reservation on the road since I wasn't sure where I would be when I stopped for the night. When I got there, the room I was given was dark and drab, but the worst part was that it had not been serviced by the housekeeping staff. I went back to the office and requested another room, which the obviously bored clerk gave me. She did not apologize.

The bed was made in the second room, but the remnants of somebody's lunch at a fast-food restaurant were on the table. Nice.

At that point I went back to the office and told the clerk that I did not want to stay in the hotel and asked her to void the transaction. She did so, and made some lame comment that the housekeeping staff probably didn't know that the room was being vacated by the previous occupant. I didn't bother asking the obvious question - wouldn't they have made up the room in that case? Once again, she didn't apologize. She should have been embarrassed - I sure would have been.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrailBlazer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We based our booking on the reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel is very conveniently located close to Sonoma and Napa. The room on the second floor we were in was very large with a coffee table and two armchairs so we could relax. The facilities were very clean. When we checked in the front clerk was not exactly friendly but since we didn't come to visit him, we didn't mind. On the other hand on Saturday by the checkout there was a very lovely lady in the reception. We didn't use the pool due to weather so I cannot comment on that. They don't have a free breakfast but there is a restaurant right there. Overall we would definitely come back. It was a superb value for the money you pay for lodging in Napa or Sonoma.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjmtCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
3.7 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
3.8 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
5.5 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Garden Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Address: 1500 Santa Rosa Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95404-5428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Rosa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tour the Sonoma Wine Country while staying at this beautiful, garden setting Santa Rosa hotel.The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, located in Santa Rosa, California features 79 guest rooms and a beautifully landscaped quiet garden. Hotel guests are only minutes from Sonoma Wine country and all of the area attractions which include the Sonoma County Fairgrounds, the Russian River Redwoods and downtown Santa Rosa.All spacious well-appointed guest rooms come equipped with a microwave, refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Guests can start the day off with breakfast at the coffee shop located on the hotel premises. The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn also features two outdoor seasonal pools, dry cleaning services and free parking.Families will appreciate being only one mile from the Snoopy Museum. The Luther Burbank Gardens and the Jesse Peter Native American Art Museum are also close to the hotel. Make a reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN Garden Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Hotel Santa Rosa
Best Western Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Best Western
Best Western Plus Garden Inn Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing