We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For those who want food with flavor and organic and locally grown.”
Review of Dos Carlitos

Dos Carlitos
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Santa Ynez
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“For those who want food with flavor and organic and locally grown.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great eatery! The corn tortilla are made fresh, the beef and chicken are hormone free and grass fed. The food is made fresh with local ingredients and the fajitas were wonderful. Happy hour you save 45% on fresh made margaritas and other drinks. Foodie must stop and eat place. Sit outside for a great dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvtravelVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    98
    19
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grass fed beef and organic chicken”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Try the burrito filled with chunks of tasty grass fed steak and you will not be disappointed. We were very pleased to find this place across from Chumash Casino. Next visit, we intend to try one of the great selections of Tequila found here. The service is worth 20%.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place and good food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Forget the tacky interiors that tend to fill the Southwestern/Mexican food space, this place is gorgeous. When you park next to a feed store, you are hardly prepared for a place that seems tony even if it was relocated to LA.

Food was good if a bit too toned down for the tastes of hardcore lovers of Mexican food. Clearly the menu has been adjusted for the tourists on their way to nearby Solvang.

That said, salsa was very good and the margaritas were great. My tamale was perfectly prepared but could have used a bit more flavor. Then again, my usual level of spice would probably send European tourists streaming from the place so, Dos Carlitos is playing it down the middle.

The other people at my table (lower tolerance for heat) thought the food was great.

In summary, if your idea of "flavor" tends toward a dare on Jackass, you will be offended by the lack of heat. If you are a seasoned pro who likes strong flavors, you'll want to focus on some of the more flavorful menu items. If you like Mexican food but always ask the waiter is items are going to be "too hot", you have found a home. But all can delve into wonderful salsa, imbibe delicious margaritas and enjoy the gorgeous appointments around the room.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go for the Margheritas”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Food was very bland everything needed seasoning. We didn't feel we were eating anything close to Mexican food. We had the halibut ceviche that had no acid/salt and no flavor. Prices are high. Drinks were good though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank italaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Won't Be Back”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Edit review
Delete review

1.0 star rating
6/26/2014

First let me say, I love Mexican food. This was NOT Mexican food. From the chips and salsa to the combo plate containing an enchilada and tamale there was no taste at all. It was the most "Americanized" Mexican food I have ever tasted. We were advised that the food was just OK, but we went anyway. Never again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c21carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dos Carlitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing