We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time Around”
Review of Santa Ynez Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Ynez Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second Time Around”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We had a rare opportunity to take a romantic stay in the Santa Ynez Valley. Of all the things we could have done or places we could have stayed we chose the Santa Ynez Inn. We had stayed there a few years ago and were excited to go back. We had great memories from the previous visit and had hoped this time around would be the same and it was! We strolled through the quaint garden area and enjoyed some quiet time before walking down the street to eat at a wonderful Italian restaurant. The Inn is just such a luxurious place that we came back early just so we could enjoy the room itself. Stunning Victorian style, huge bathroom with a whirlpool tub, and a lovely fireplace kept us lingering in the room. Breakfast is way better than anything you can get at the nearby restaurants--totally gourmet. Hands down the best place to stay in the Santa Ynez Valley.

Room Tip: Not a traditional quaint, kitschy bed and breakfast if that's what you are looking for. Instead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takingtheride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    31
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
36
300
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Inn is a truly beautiful, well appointed, gracious hotel. The service is wonderful and the staff very accommodating. The rooms are decorated in a Victorian style and the furniture is stunning. Our room had a big jacuzzi tub and a steam shower. The breakfast was awesome, I missed the wine and cheese but the evening desserts was unique.
The only slight negatives were the views aren't great and the beds a little hard. However, I would recommend this to anyone who wants an elegant and relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: If you like a tub, get the room with the jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triangletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas,Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Great service, recomendations were spot on. Beautiful room, whirlpool tub. Balcony, fireplace in August! Close enough to walk to dinner and antique shops. Quiet place to relax and enjoy the views. The wine and cheese was a nice touch. Breakfast was delicious and convienient. We took advantage of in house massages. Bed was very comfortable and the jacuzzi tub was a Bain that was wonderful

Room Tip: Our room was on the east side and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodandwine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We spent 3 night in a deluxe king room as part of our honeymoon. Beautiful room, VERY big bathroom with a large shower cabin and a whirlpool tub. Comfy bed and quiet rooms, even though our room windows were directly above the hotel entrance.

Breakfast was made to order. They had 2 specials each day, but were open to modifications and off the menu orders. Wine hour and appetizers are nice and dessert hour is a treat:)

Small fitness room downstairs with a treadmill, elliptical and a stationary bike. They also have 2 rooms in the same area for massages/treatments you can arrange for with the reception. We took advantage of that and got very nice massages.

Reception staff is extremely helpful. They've made all of our dinner reservations and arranged for private wine tastings. They really set themselves apart with superb customer service. Great stay, we will be back!!

Book early. If there is no available online, call the hotel directly. When I booked our room, only standard king rooms were available online. I added a note saying that I would like to upgrade if a larger room becomes available and got a call right away from hotel staff saying that they had a deluxe king room available and processed the upgrade over the phone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga_trvlrfrmla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Pull off the highway, and you are taken back to the Old West. I think the Town was created for the Inn. There are 3 restaurants in this 2 block town, a Saloon & Coffee Shop.The Inn itself is a 5 Star Hotel. Beautiful Rooms, with balconies, and a view of the gardens.
They have a wine and cheese hour, and serve a wonderful breakfast in a beautiful dining room. The staff is great, and Chris could not be sweeter.
Very Memorable

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNICKRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We checked in to the Tower Suite at Santa Ynez Inn and while I will describe the room in a moment, I wanted to take time to mention up front what sets this inn apart from many in Santa Barbara's Wine Country, The Santa Ynez Valley: its people and the service. Its luxury is unpretentious and the staff was warm and welcoming. We were greeted promptly and the gentleman who checked us in also loaded up our items on a bellcart and escorted us to our room where he oriented us with every aspect of that suite. From the fridge, safe, how to use the TV, turn on the fireplace to a detailed review of how to work the steam shower and turn on the bathroom tiles to get them warm and so much more. He truly loved his job and was excited to point out different features of the inn as he walked us to our room. He let us know when hors d'oeuvres and wine would be that evening, as well as dessert, turn-down service and reminded us of breakfast in the morning- which , if we didn't want to come down for, he would have delivered to us to enjoy on the privacy of our balcony. The room had lovely views and the jacuzzi tub in the bay window was later filled with bubblebath under a full moon. The food was delicious and what I loved the most was the upscale luxury without pretense. The Santa Ynez Inn is conveniently located near almost all the wineries. If you don't feel like driving, you can walk everywhere downtown Santa Ynez and enjoy dinner or lunch as well. Finally, I had a massage with Tina. It was unbelievable. Her background in the medical field and almost 20 + years experience of massage therapy are evident in her work. She was incredible. She has also been with the inn since it was first built and opened. How many places can boast about the longevity of their staff? At the Santa Ynez Inn the attention to detail in the amenities and service team really show. Much of the Santa Ynez Valley is constantly undergoing ownership and management changes and it is often hard to find consistency. But the Santa Ynez Inn stays constant.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi is lovely - especially in the evening under the stars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BohemianCowgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
472 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

5 star has valet and bell boys this has neither. The rooms are big but last decor update I'd guess in the 90s. Having just spent the weeken at the bel aire hotel 2 days later I was expecting semilar. No where near. This is a great 3 star but not a 5. The past reviews made me think it would be. Go there expecting a good 3 star you'll be happy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ynez
3.7 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
795 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
257 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Santa Ynez
92 reviews
6.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Ynez Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Inn

Property: Santa Ynez Inn
Address: 3627 Sagunto St, Santa Ynez, CA 93460-9577
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Ynez Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond rated luxury boutique inn. All rates include a full gourmet breakfast, evening wine hour with hors d'oeuvres and nightly desserts. Located in the heart of wine country, the Inn also offers complimentary tasting passes to a select group of wineries in the area. Most rooms have fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and flat screen television. Suites have steam shower and patio or balcony. Please contact the hotel directly to confirm room type and specific room amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Ynez Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Hotel Santa Ynez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing