We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Santa Ynez Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Ynez Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I rarely give 5 stars, but will go out on a limb and do so for the Santa Ynez Inn.

My wife and I chose the Santa Ynez Inn for our 1-year anniversary vacation, and we so impressed when we saw our room (202), that we immediately changed our plans and extended our stay. When I first found the SYI (via an old Travel & Leisure) article, http://www.travelandleisure.com/articles/15-quick-summer-getaways/2, I was a bit leary of the Victorian decor. However, once we stepped inside, we found everything to be tastefully done and not over the top. We stayed 3 nights, during the end of February, so the Inn, and area in general, was fairly empty (a good thing in my opinion), We had the basic room, which was more spacious than some apartments (e.g. NYC). And the amenities: jacuzzi tub, steam sauna, and fireplace. And this place doesn't nickel-and-dime you like many of the bigger chains: free wi-fi, complimentary bottled water; a nice breakfast with two made-to-order options and a continental buffet; a regular wine and hors d'oeuvres hour from 5-6pm; and a dessert hour from 8-9pm. Staff was super friendly. Oh, and if you are a cyclist, they also have bike storage available. Inn is walkable to several restaurants. There is also an outdoor jacuzzi, but we didn't try it. One minor downside: even though there are dual-pane windows, you can still hear the windmill when it rotates from shifting wind direction (can't hear the blades turning). Kind of sounded like a faint rooster call or rusty gate swinging. Our room was on the corner, facing the parking lot and street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oskibear95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    31
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
35
297
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

All I can say is Wow! This place is amazing down to every detail. A bottle of wine was waiting for us in our room along with robes and slippers. There was ice in the ice bucket and soda in the refrigerator. The piped-in music in the room was a touch I have never seen in a hotel. It certainly added to the ambiance. The bathroom was huge. There was a shower for two as well as a jacuzzi tub. Even the glassware used wasn't just your standard hotel tumbler. The fireplace was great as well as the comfort of the bed. All the food and drinks included in the restaurant, as well as the free tastings at wineries really make this place a great deal. I told the wonderful front desk lady I had only one complaint to which she gasped because she said they never have complaints. I told her that after all the wonderful food and wine I jokingly told her they needed to get rid of the scales in the bathrooms. Lol. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manymiles2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We upgraded to the deluxe room with a patio and fireplace. It was worth the extra money. Our room was elegant and spacious as was the bathroom. 5-6pm was happy hour...we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the wines plus the appetizers were excellent. No need to go out to dinner. At 8pm deserts were available plus coffee...excellent. For breakfast we had Eggs Benedict...not one, but two...plenty of food plus muffins, juice, coffee, etc. All of this was included in the price of the room. The Santa Ynez Inn is a bit pricey but everyone should experience it at least once in their life. Also, if you are up to it, the staff will give you coupons for numerous complimentary wine tastings around the valley.

Room Tip: I doubt if there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OC, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent two nights at this property, just to get away from the rat race. It is a very well kept, beautiful and clean B & B. Our room was ready when we arrived and it was decorated in a Victorian style and very large. We had room 214. We ordered room service the first night and it was from the restaurant next door, The Vineyard House. The food was delivered promptly, not horribly expensive and was pretty good. The restaurant is completely closed on Tuesdays, so, unfortunately we could not get room service the second day of our stay. That was a bummer, but we drove to Solvang and were able to get dinner there.
The property is nestled in a low-key, residential neighborhood and is incredibly quiet, which is exactly what we were looking for.
It's definately on our list for a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommyto5kiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We've been thinking about spending time in the Santa Barbara area but decided on Santa Ynez since a special promotion came along. We chose the Santa Ynez Inn. We are not usually B&B guests but this wonderful inn is a gem. No lacy, faded overly flowery "country decor" here. They have elegant rooms with no charge wi-fi, and flat screen tv's. Our room had a fireplace that actually heated the room. The Inn is clean and bright. The only downside was the bedside lamps which were not bright enough for reading. Not really a big complaint! The hot breakfast is included and is wonderful. Very generous portions. They also have granola, yogurt, fruit and muffins or pastries available. The wine and cheese time and evening dessert and coffee are nice touches also. The staff is helpful and understated.
We enjoyed the restaurants in the area and the short drives to Solvang and Los Olivos. We met several couples at the inn who were cyclists on a getaway. This is a wonderful and restful experience. Our stay was two nights and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artistpalette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Really a classy Inn. We arrived unannounced as we were in the area wine tasting and liked the look of the Inn. Had a very nice room on the 2nd floor with a king size bed and a small balcony. The bathroom was large with a separate jacuzzi tub. I think they even provided bath salts. We were tired after wine tasting so we borrowed the DVD Sideways and watched it before dinner. Great to watch when you are in this area! We went to the evening wine/cheese reception which was quite nice. Walked to dinner (there are some nice restaurants w/i walking distance). And had dessert and coffee "gratis" at the Inn after! The next morning we had a delicious breakfast. Choice of 2 hot entrees as well as a sideboard with fruit, granola, and other goodies. We will definitely stay here again!!! Just lovely!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffview12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Santa Ynez Inn is incredibly nice. My family stayed in a room with a massive bathroom, a waterfall shower, and a jacuzzi tub, and the room itself was spacious and very nice. The service was great, with many free meals/snacks, including a free wine/massage hour, desserts, and wonderful breakfast. Usually out of our price range, this was a magnificent way to celebrate the new year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trumpetguy3995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ynez
3.7 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
774 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
238 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Santa Ynez
79 reviews
6.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Ynez Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Inn

Property: Santa Ynez Inn
Address: 3627 Sagunto St, Santa Ynez, CA 93460-9577
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Ynez Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond rated luxury boutique inn. All rates include a full gourmet breakfast, evening wine hour with hors d'oeuvres and nightly desserts. Located in the heart of wine country, the Inn also offers complimentary tasting passes to a select group of wineries in the area. Most rooms have fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and flat screen television. Suites have steam shower and patio or balcony. Please contact the hotel directly to confirm room type and specific room amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Ynez Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Hotel Santa Ynez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing