We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite possibly my favorite winery for Santa Ynez so far”
Review of Zaca Mesa Winery

Zaca Mesa Winery
Ranked #5 of 27 things to do in Santa Ynez
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fresno, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quite possibly my favorite winery for Santa Ynez so far”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stopped in and the grounds were very nice. The staff was busy but the Welsh woman who helped us was friendly and took good care of us. The wines were good, glasses were nice enough to purchase (although one broke as I cleaned it and my child broke the other). They had a musician and stated they have live music frequently. The Syrah and Rousanne were my favorite wines. Not too many Rousannes (or California Syrahs) around, which was nice that they had. The wine, to your taste or not, is a good quality wine and this is a good example of wine and a wine tasting room. I'd love to come back someday (and other than Zaca Mesa, try other wineries instead, lol).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShannonLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    19
    7
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rainier, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
816 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Away from the madding crowds”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

As others have pointed out, ZM is not close to much (except nature). Maybe that is why Miles and Jack never made it up this far! They have a pleasant tasting room, lovely, shady outdoor picnic area, and, on this weekend, two-for-one tasting! I learned how to correctly pronounce Vee-O-Nay here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalamariverrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the oldest wineries in the area, fabulous setting, fabulous Syrah”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This winery and tasting room nestled back amongst oak trees along Foxen Canyon makes fantastic 90-point syrahs. I also recommend their roussanne, and was pleasantly surprised by their chardonnay. Because this winery is a little more off the beaten path, they're not quite as busy or filled with such a young clientele as wineries in the near Los Olivos area or the tasting rooms in Solvang. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. My family is in their wine club, and we never find a reason to complain about our shipments.
Fun things about the property:
Nature trail along the oaks on the hill of the property.
Large sized chess board and picnic tables in the courtyard outside the tasting room.

Go visit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Wines, Good Service, Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Zaca Mesa makes good wines and we tasted several fantastic Syrahs, a very good Voignier, and a tasty Rousanne. The staff was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the wines. This winery is a little more off the beaten path, but well worth the scenic drive. They have lots of shade, picnic tables, bbq's and even a trail you can take a walk/hike on. Bring your own picnic lunch or you can order food there. Of all the wineries, this is one of our favorites.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandrell5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Welcoming tasting room that's bigger - but not too "corporate"”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This was my third time visiting Zaca Mesa in several years. Each time was enjoyable. The surroundings are an interesting blend of authentic-looking ranch motifs with designer touches inside.

What stood out most this trip was that we arrived sort of on the late side, but the bartender happily waited on us and did not rush us.

If you like Syrah and Rhone style wines, this is the place to stop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SunshineGirl2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zaca Mesa Winery also viewed

 

Been to Zaca Mesa Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing