We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing wine country getaway!”
Review of ForFriends Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ForFriends Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Santa Ynez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing wine country getaway!”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Gee and I have stayed at this fantastic Inn multiple times, beautiful rooms, quiet area, wonderful restaurants to walk to. The new owners are friendly, helpful and Debbie's gourmet breakfasts are to "die" for, especially the rosemary popovers! Can't wait to return, this is truly a gem of an Inn! Bruce and Gee!

Room Tip: We always stay in the Paladin suite with its covered balcoony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Bruce and Gee,

Thank you so very, very much for the 5-star review. We know that you two have been coming to the inn many times, so your words and review means so much to us. You both hold a special place in our hearts, and seeing your kind words really makes us feel like we're doing a good job. We always enjoy having you stay with us. It's so nice to be able to relax and enjoy wine/food and each other's company. Next time, we'll have to play more music. Maybe try and stump the guitarist. . . My guess is that you two could easily do that.

All the best to you both. Hope to see you very soon.

Jim, Debbie, Dave, Katie. . . and Smitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    5
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
170
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moorpark
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

This was our first Bed & Breakfast. Was worth the price of admission. Jim & Debbie have a great concept for the Hotel. Food was great. Evening. Time with other guests singalong was a memory to remember. Rooms are set up excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Stephen,

We so enjoyed hosting you folks last week during your first B&B stay. And we're happy that it was such a positive experience for you both. We love meeting new folks like you and sharing stories, good food/wine, music and fun. By the way, Smitty is sitting beside me right now waiting for a belly rub, so feel free to come back anytime. He'd greatly appreciate it. ;^P

Thanks for spreading the good reviews about us. We're happily spreading the good news to our guests who live in your area about your excellence auto repair service. See you soon!

Jim, Debbie, Dave, Katie. . . and Smitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My friends and I stayed at Four Friends Inn for four days. Such a lovely place and great location. When they say "arrive as guests and leave as friends" they mean it! Everything was awesome... From the delicious gourmet breakfasts, to 5 pm appetizers, wine and music happy hour. Santa Ynez is a lovely little town and very close to best wineries and wine tasting rooms the area offer. We had an amazing four days and thanks to our new four friends who made it even more pleasurable... Cheers. Ergun

Room Tip: Check out their website as each room is uniquely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ergun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Ergun,

What a nice review, thanks! We had such a great time with you and your friends. The inn is a special place and even more special when so many friends come and enjoy it together. And you all were so wonderful to invite us out to dinner on your last night. We were honored to join you. All the fun stories and jokes. . . even the Caesars every morning. What a hoot! We can't wait until we all meet again, Perhaps we'll visit your winery Black Hills Estates up in Canada. It looks so marvelous. Please come back again soon.

Jim, Debbie, Dave, Katie. . . and Smitty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband had planned a surprise weekend away and gave no information to where we were headed. I was delighted to end up in Santa Ynez and even more excited to be staying at the ForFriends Inn. When we arrived we were greeted, by name, and immediately felt at home. The weekend was easy to enjoy due to the Friendship Pass that is provided, upon arrival, with specific wineries, eateries, and such that have been suggested based on stellar qualities. This allows for more time to be spent enjoying then searching.

We stayed in the beautifully traditional room, The Californian. The footed tub was a wonderful feature and allowed for relaxing while my husband was able to catch the UCLA on cable-This is a very big deal.

Debbie took special care when dealing with dietary restrictions and made my breakfast gluten free! They even have their own house blend coffee and made from scratch granola! I left with a bag coffee beans and probably will be calling soon to have some shipped!

The Happy Hour is fantastic- fun, friendly and relaxing. The the music is delightful and joyous! You can't help but join in the signing. You can feel the fun Dave and Jim are having on this new adventure. It really allows you to see the joys outside of the corporate world, My husband and I need this reminder and I can only hope that we can make a yearly visit.
I highly recommend a stay at this beautiful Inn!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank risa8100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Risa,

Thanks a million for such a wonderful review! Having just left the corporate world, we know exactly what you mean about getting away to relax and enjoy time alone. We love it when our new friends get to just chill out and enjoy the inn, the valley and themselves for a few days. Hopefully you'll be able to make it a regular thing. We'll always be for you. . . Fall is nice. . . Winter too. . . :^p

Jim, Debbie, Dave, Katie. . . and Smitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This is my first 5 star rating ever. I don't think the owners care about making a profit- they just want to create the best b&b of all time. Don't miss happy hour or breakfast. Listen to the owners suggestions on wineries and activities around the town. They are great guides to a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: they are all about the same- and it's more fun to spend time in a place other than your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Hi Jim,

We are so honored to be your first five-star review. Our goal when we purchased the B&B was to be in the happiness business. It's meeting folks like you that help make it all come true. Please come back soon and spend more time with your new friends.

Jim, Debbie, Katie, Dave. . . and Smitty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Me and my sweetheart came to this wonder Inn for here Birthday .For Friends Inn is a jewel.My weekend there was outstanding .We will remember this the rest of our lives .The rooms are great as the Big Valley room was a treat .Deb, Jim ,DAVE and Smitty were great.The happey hour in the relaxing garden is a must do .Wine and goodies in the garden..The bed was so comfortable .To bad it would not fit in my luggage ...he he ,,,,There is only one place to say if your coming to Santa Ynez or Solvang .For Friends INN .They gave us great places to go check out for wine tasting and to grub .The breakfest you get while you stay there is fantastic .Deb is a wiz in that kitchen .This is a 5 STAR PLACE .Over all my years of travling playing baseball this is the best weekend i have ever spent in a room .ABSOLUTLEY THE BEST !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks again for the great time .Can wait to come back .....

Room Tip: Look at the great pic provided ....I loved the Big Valley ROOM.a great view ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenbernstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Stephen, Thanks for your five-star review. Wow, we're blushing. We're so happy that you found everything to your liking. And what a hoot it was when you came to breakfast in that Green Bay Packers jersey. . . especially with so many Chicago Bears fans at the inn that weekend. It was hilarious! We hope you come back soon. Debbie will have her rosemary popovers ready for you when you do.

Jim, Debbie, Dave, Katie. . . and Smitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My friend and I went there for the weekend from Seattle. We got there and the innkeepers Deb, Jim, Katie and Dave were amazing. They make you feel at home and the happy hours were super entertaining with live music. The room was really great. Big room, comfortable beds (seriously!) , clean and plenty of amentitie available so we didn't have to pack as much which was great. The breakfast was more than expected. Everything homemade and delicious. Couldn't get enough. Smitty was a great bonus too :) We never really stayed at a bed and breakfast but after the experience and meeting incrediable people who were staying there, we can't wait to go back for our next visit.

Thanks for an amazing trip and wine discounts to the wineries.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattyolsonsammamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Hi Patty. Thank you for such a wonderful review. We were so happy to have you here during such a special weekend (Debbie's Birthday). Thanks for helping make it so memorable. And how nice of you to bring us some of your husband's freshly caught smoked salmon from Seattle. It was delicious! Please come back soon.

Jim, Debbie, Katie, Dave. . . and Smitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ynez
0.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
3.5 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Santa Ynez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ForFriends Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ForFriends Inn

Property: ForFriends Inn
Address: 1121 Edison St, Santa Ynez, CA 93460-9651
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ForFriends Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Santa Ynez, CA, in the heart of Santa Barbara Wine Country: Minutes from Solvang, Los Olivos and all the wonderful wineries. ForFriends Inn is a luxurious eight-room B&B where you arrive as guests and leave as friends. Your stay includes:• Daily three-course breakfast• Daily Happy Hour with wine, hors d'oeurves and socializing, and our Friendship Pass with over $300 in complementary wine tasting and local restaurant discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your ForFriends Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing