We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”
Review of ForFriends Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ForFriends Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Santa Ynez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2008

We stayed a weekend in April, a long-needed get away. Found the Inn online, looked quaint and welcoming, thought it would fit our plans.

Booking was a breeze, speaking directly with owner Larry. We arrived very early on the Friday, had no trouble checking in earlier than published hours.

Our room (Paladin) was large, well appointed, very comfortable, and welcoming. Excellent decor (western themed of course). Second story east facing balcony opened up to a Santa Ynez side street, well shaded from afternoon sun. We spent a good deal of time on the weekend simply sitting on the balcony patio, reading, sipping wine, relaxing.

Larry and Bonnie were gracious hosts. Personable, very knowledgeable with excellent recommendations on local spots not on the tourist guide radar. And, breakfast's at the Longhorn Cafe (included in room rate) were ample, fresh, and fast. Clearly a favorite for locals.

A great stay, excellent location for wine touring in SB County, or just for hanging out being together. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Randyhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2008

My wife and I like to spend time in the wine country of the central coast area and we always choose the Edison Street Inn as our place to stay. The atmosphere is homey and friendly, the rooms are incredibly clean and nicely decorated. The Inn Keepers Larry and Bonnie are very friendly and always helpful with great suggestions of wineries and restaurants to stop by. I highly recommend to all those visiting in the area to make The Edison Street Inn your place to stay.

Regards

Steve and Liz K.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dramman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2007

My husband and I visited the Sana Ynez Wine Country recently and stayed at the Edison Street Inn.

We'd planned a quick getaway and needed a room for Saturday night only. It was very difficult to find a hotel or inn that would allow us a one night stay. The innkeeper at the Edison was willing to book a room at his Inn. We are very pleased that he did!

The Inn is very charming and clean. Our room was spacious with a cozy bed, a large bathroom and extras that showed attention to detail.

We were given a breakfast voucher for the morning for a coffee shop within walking distance. I missed the comfort of having breakfast in the main house. (It's just so inviting in there!) BUT, the breakfast was hot and yummy!

Larry made us feel right at home and was very helpful with winery suggestions!

I'm sure our next visit to the area will include another stay at the Edison Street Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2007

We've stayed at the Edison Inn a few times now, and found it innkeepers very accommodating and incredibly friendly. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and spacious. Within walking distance of some fantastic restaurants and close to a great deal of wine tasting. If you're looking for a wonderful, relaxing getaway, stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JasonSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2007

We have visited the Edison Inn twice so far, and definitely want to visit again. The Inn and its suites are beautifully decorated and well appointed. The gracious host and hostess make you feel right at home, and share their considerable knowledge of the area and its history. While serving delicious local wines and an assortment of cheeses, they are also happy to point out the many nearby points of interest -- wineries, shopping, restaurants, etc. The Inn itself has a cozy, private feel -- perfect for busy working couples who need a peaceful retreat.

Don and Elaine Fuller

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ChickadeeWebbCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2007

What a wonderful wine country getaway! We've stayed at this inn three times in the past three years, and we're always impressed by its luxury and the friendly welcoming spirit of the innkeepers. The rooms are large and immaculate. We stayed in three different rooms; all three were decorated in styles of the elegant Old West, and each had a large private bathroom. The whole inn is very quiet and affords a lot of privacy, but it's close to all of the local activities. The innkeepers were extremely helpful in directing us to the nearby wineries, sights, and attractions.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TOMBARCHAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El_Mallorquin_Aleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ynez
0.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
421 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
3.7 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
827 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ForFriends Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ForFriends Inn

Address: 1121 Edison St, Santa Ynez, CA 93460-9651
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ynez
Price Range: £185 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ForFriends Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Santa Ynez, CA, in the heart of Santa Barbara Wine Country: Minutes from Solvang, Los Olivos and all the wonderful wineries. ForFriends Inn is a luxurious eight-room B&B where you arrive as guests and leave as friends. Your stay includes:• Daily three-course breakfast• Daily Happy Hour with wine, hors d'oeurves and socializing, and our Friendship Pass with over $300 in complementary wine tasting and local restaurant discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your ForFriends Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing