We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently high quality”

Wynola Pizza Wood Fired & Bistro
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Ysabel, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistently high quality”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Wynola Pizza is one of my regular stops! Love their tomato ginger soup, selection of salads, chow main and endless pizza choices! Staff is always friendly and service prompt. Enjoy the atmosphere as well with good choices indoors and outdoors. And they are dog friendly!! Woo too!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    32
    3
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
335 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Just had a salad”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Drove to Wynola for a late night dinner, which is after 7:30 pm in the Julian area. Usually the music is a major attraction because it goes all the way until 9:00 pm. We heard a local Bluegrass Band that was entertaining. The chopped salad was very nice and the line was short. The waitresses and everyone in town is very nice; when there are only 300 people in town, it is really small town USA and a delight to experience.
You stand in line to order at the Pizza & Bistro, then they bring you the food; the previous night, the line was very long, so we went to Jeremy's on the Hill, across the street. Prices are relatively high, probably due to the remote area and cost of bringing supplies in. There are no chain stores or restaurants for this reason, no profit margin, so I won't complain about prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim_the_Enchanter417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach VA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best Pork barbecue west of Carolina”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We live very close to North Carolina which of course has the best barbecue in the world. After deciding that none of the restaurants in Julian we much good, we headed back to Wynola mainly due to reviews we read prior. I cautiously ordered the pulled pork barbecue and was not disappointed. Who knew there was good barbecue on the west coast? We also ordered a pizza which was outstanding. I also saw a guy we had seen working in Julian there buying take out food which says something. Yeah, it is a local place without much dazzle dazzle but well worth the price. The unisex bathrooms were just fine, not sure the critical prior reviews.

The girls working up front were friendly and helpful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vbdenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
so cal
Level Contributor
275 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“really poor pizza”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The one positive about this place was that for a large group they have a very nice room called the Bistro. The pizza we ordered came out partially burned and so flat it was like crackers with cheese on them. our tablemates ordered the same pizza and theirs came out hardly cooked.
Others at our table ordered lasagna and were not happy with it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xsteves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Over priced food for what it is. Didnt taste great or leave us wanting more. Artichoke dip was not good. Our bill for 1 sandwich, 1 appitizer, 2 small pizzas, 1 soup and 1 beer was $80 including tip. We did not take left overs with us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank princesstree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wynola Pizza Wood Fired & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Wynola Pizza Wood Fired & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing