We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal camping home base for the San Diego area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ideal camping home base for the San Diego area”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This large park has about 300 camp spots, accommodating tents and RVs. Also some cabins and floating cabins. This park is run by the water dept, very professional. Excellent maintenance of the park and grounds. Fishing. Clubhouse reservable. Great spot for an RV rally, they have a special area for groups. Cost was about $42/day with FMCA/Good Sam disc. Nearby trolley station if you are on foot, plenty of shopping within a few minutes by car, and about 20 minutes from downtown San Diego.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    17
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This place is the best place we have camped yet so far. It was in the middle of the city but the minute you get in there you forget. Its not a primitive camp site but there is a ton of trees everywhere, we didn't even use our awning. There are picnic tables at every site with covers which were super nice.The sites were clean and very big with lots of space to spread out. No fire pits but u can bring your own. The bathrooms were so clean and cleaned everyday by the staff. The showers were big and the water was warm and free. One thing we loved about it is that it was very family friendly. Kids playing and no loud music or wild drunkin party's. The quiet time was 9 and everyone was quiet so we all slept great. So if you like to get drunk and woo hoo all night just stay away there are places for you. Let us family people have our fun too. One night they had pictionary at the clubhouse which was so fun for our kids and we had a great time as well.It was a great family time, the kind of things families should be doing.They have activities for the kids!! Lots of places for the kids to play and pool was great. The director also introduced himself to us and welcomed us again just another added touch to a great stay. Everyone was very helpful and super friendly. Its also a great location, you are pretty much 20 mins from all of San Diego. Visit Mission Beach, it was fun with a boardwalk. All in all a great stay I could go and on but I wont :) and we just booked another weekend next month!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zander2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roaming Endlessly
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed here in our RV from November 2011 - March 2012 and absolutely loved it. Spacious level sites, friendly people and a great property. Truly a hidden gem in the area. Plenty to do - there are paved roads all the way around the facility, lots of wildlife, fishing, kayaking, and social events. We rented one of the cabins for a week for our parents, and they loved every minute of it. We never used the pool area, so we can't comment on it. Restrooms and showers were average, we used the bathroom in our rig mostly. There is a propane truck that comes around for fills once a week, a huge plus for full timers!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColetteAndJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have come here off and on for years. It has expanded and been improved in recent years, playgrounds, water features for kids, new store, boat and pedal-boat rentals, new cabins to rent. Something for everyone. Fishing (no swimming), hiking around the lakes, bird-watching. Great place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank culdesacSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, Calif
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We've camped here a few times with other families and have always enjoyed it. Very restful and decently quiet. Very well-maintained facility. We love camping right on the lakes, but the other areas are nice as well. They have a few areas that are perfect for multi-family groups. (Not designated group areas per se, just well set up for groups.

They have a nice camp store, a rental spot for the paddle boats/kayaks, etc., and nice trails around for biking and walking. Very pet friendly. If you need sometime, you are minutes from big stores (Vons, Barnes & Noble, Costco, etc, etc.).

The staff is all friendly. Word of advice. If you follow the mapquest directions on their site DO NOT turn left on Fanita from Mast once you get off the Freeway. You need to turn right or else you will go down a road that is very difficult to turn around with a trailer. The main entrance is actually slightly hidden to the right in the parking lot of the big Water District building.

They also offer these really neat cabins on the side of the lake AND three that are "floating" in the lake. We have a travel trailer, but I keep wanting to try them out someday.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TustinGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, CA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Santee Lakes RV Park is a great place for families to camp. There are 5 lakes to fish in, paddle boats, splash park, 2 pools and a hot tub, grassy areas to play boche balls and quiet streets for kids to ride their bikes without worrying about traffic. The campsites are large and many of them have mature shade trees. You can have a campfire if you bring your own firepit. The staff is very friendly and helpful, there is a camp store with all the basic camping necessities and the restroom/showers are always nice and clean. They offer free wifi but it was really slow, but when we go camping I try to stay off the computer as much as possible, so for me it wasn't a big deal. We've stayed here 4 times and always look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Loop 3 has lots of mature shade trees between campsites and there is a little creek that runs throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jer29_11-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Stayed with hubby and two girls age 8and17. Quiet place, some sites right on the lake. Staff frendly and helpful. There a pool, small water park for young kids, restroom, shower, store, and fishing. Don't need a state license, but there is a daily charge for day fishing and night(camper only). There cat fish, bass, bluegill, and crappie. The bass are catch and release. Also you are in town dosen't feel like it , but it great if if you need to run to the store. Lots of wildlife

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justgoodfun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santee
0.3 mi away
Carlton Oaks
Carlton Oaks
#2 of 3 in Santee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Santee Lodge
10.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Continental Inn
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
5.3 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#4 of 14 in El Cajon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve

Property: Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve
Address: 9310 Fanita Pkwy, Santee, CA 92071-7906
Region: United States > California > Santee
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Santee
Number of rooms: 310

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing