We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Alternative to Your Typical RV Resort in San Diego!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Are you tired of your typical RV Resort lined up row after row with crappy gravel sites with no trees or greenspace in between the sites, then Santee Lakes offers a great alternative if you get one of their sites that back onto the stream (Site #186). Yes, all/most of their sites are gravel but the stream sites have some greenspace and trees about them that makes these sites more inviting than the others. Full service sites include power, water, sewer. Wifi is included but it was virtually non-existent for all sites at the back of the resort or near the stream sites but you could tether your cellphone connection on your laptop/tablet if you want to.

As well you can peddle boat on one of the 5 lakes and walk, run or ride a bike around the other lakes. The office staff were exceptional.

You are only minutes away from downtown Santee which has all of your favorite box stores, restaurants and entertainment and is only a 25 minute drive into downtown San Diego close to all of San Diego's large attractions such as the San Diego Zoo, Coronado, Sea Word etc.

Bottom line, I just liked this resort far better than any of the other resorts closer in to San Diego outside of maybe the KOA San Diego, Bernardo Shores RV in Imperial Beach and Chula Vista RV Resort in Chula Vista. Stay away from any of the Sunland Resort properties as they all border on the freeway and are extremely noisy and pricey not to mention their attitude is they think they're quite something which they're not.

I hope that helps...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davidb1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Overall all a good site and easy to get to San Diego (Light Rail or drive) and La Jolla and beyond. Only issue are the burnt out toilets whichhave not been fixed for a year now ... Insurance issues I believe. Sites are large with space from your neighbours. Very clean and kept well

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilsongr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This large park has about 300 camp spots, accommodating tents and RVs. Also some cabins and floating cabins. This park is run by the water dept, very professional. Excellent maintenance of the park and grounds. Fishing. Clubhouse reservable. Great spot for an RV rally, they have a special area for groups. Cost was about $42/day with FMCA/Good Sam disc. Nearby trolley station if you are on foot, plenty of shopping within a few minutes by car, and about 20 minutes from downtown San Diego.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This place is the best place we have camped yet so far. It was in the middle of the city but the minute you get in there you forget. Its not a primitive camp site but there is a ton of trees everywhere, we didn't even use our awning. There are picnic tables at every site with covers which were super nice.The sites were clean and very big with lots of space to spread out. No fire pits but u can bring your own. The bathrooms were so clean and cleaned everyday by the staff. The showers were big and the water was warm and free. One thing we loved about it is that it was very family friendly. Kids playing and no loud music or wild drunkin party's. The quiet time was 9 and everyone was quiet so we all slept great. So if you like to get drunk and woo hoo all night just stay away there are places for you. Let us family people have our fun too. One night they had pictionary at the clubhouse which was so fun for our kids and we had a great time as well.It was a great family time, the kind of things families should be doing.They have activities for the kids!! Lots of places for the kids to play and pool was great. The director also introduced himself to us and welcomed us again just another added touch to a great stay. Everyone was very helpful and super friendly. Its also a great location, you are pretty much 20 mins from all of San Diego. Visit Mission Beach, it was fun with a boardwalk. All in all a great stay I could go and on but I wont :) and we just booked another weekend next month!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zander2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed here in our RV from November 2011 - March 2012 and absolutely loved it. Spacious level sites, friendly people and a great property. Truly a hidden gem in the area. Plenty to do - there are paved roads all the way around the facility, lots of wildlife, fishing, kayaking, and social events. We rented one of the cabins for a week for our parents, and they loved every minute of it. We never used the pool area, so we can't comment on it. Restrooms and showers were average, we used the bathroom in our rig mostly. There is a propane truck that comes around for fills once a week, a huge plus for full timers!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ColetteAndJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have come here off and on for years. It has expanded and been improved in recent years, playgrounds, water features for kids, new store, boat and pedal-boat rentals, new cabins to rent. Something for everyone. Fishing (no swimming), hiking around the lakes, bird-watching. Great place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank culdesacSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We've camped here a few times with other families and have always enjoyed it. Very restful and decently quiet. Very well-maintained facility. We love camping right on the lakes, but the other areas are nice as well. They have a few areas that are perfect for multi-family groups. (Not designated group areas per se, just well set up for groups.

They have a nice camp store, a rental spot for the paddle boats/kayaks, etc., and nice trails around for biking and walking. Very pet friendly. If you need sometime, you are minutes from big stores (Vons, Barnes & Noble, Costco, etc, etc.).

The staff is all friendly. Word of advice. If you follow the mapquest directions on their site DO NOT turn left on Fanita from Mast once you get off the Freeway. You need to turn right or else you will go down a road that is very difficult to turn around with a trailer. The main entrance is actually slightly hidden to the right in the parking lot of the big Water District building.

They also offer these really neat cabins on the side of the lake AND three that are "floating" in the lake. We have a travel trailer, but I keep wanting to try them out someday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TustinGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santee hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Santee Lodge
0.3 mi away
Carlton Oaks
Carlton Oaks
#2 of 3 in Santee
61 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Santee
Rodeway Inn Santee
#3 of 3 in Santee
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve

Address: 9310 Fanita Pkwy, Santee, CA 92071-7906
Region: United States > California > Santee
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Santee
Number of rooms: 310

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing