We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice alternative to over-priced beach RV parks...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have always stayed at Chula Vista RV Park and thought we’d give Santee Lakes a try – nice change!

It took us as long or less time to get to places we normally visit such as the beaches and Del Mar. We found a better selection of stores and places to eat near Santee Lakes and we appreciated the better options for the trolley stops. Note – the Grossmont trolley stop is well hidden – talk with someone before you go. There is free parking in a lot under an apartment complex right next to the stop – it’s not marked. We saw a security guard in the area who gave us the scoop. Back to the park.

We loved staying here and did take pains to select what we thought would be a perfect space and I think it was the best one there (on Road C). Staff was very nice. We didn’t check out the lakes or any of the activities - they did have a Friday night showing of Frozen that was very popular. We were in San Diego for ballgames, the fair, the beach, and other fun things. Posting a number of photos to show the newer areas toward the back where we were.

Room Tip: Reserve early and ask for a spot in the newer section - much nicer.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jiggerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a great camping site! There is something for everybody! They have different play areas for different ages. They also have a small play water area (which is extra, but very affordable). They having fishing in the 6 lakes, boat rentals, etc. The place is spotless. After someone pulls out they come right in and make it perfect for the next person. Public restrooms are also very clean. Sites are good sized. There aren't a lot of tent sites so if you want one of these you need to book it early. They have cabins to rent, which again are spotless. Have been here a couple of times and always look forward to the next time.

Room Tip: You just need to read what each site offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 326lynng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Everything was excellent. The cabins are very nice, facing the lake. They even had cable tv and wifi in them. Unfortunately the wifi didn't work very well. However if you drive 5 minutes up to where the campground is, the wifi seems to work a little better. The cabins have bathrooms and nice kitchens and living rooms. There are also bunk beds and a queen bed. The camp site seemed really nice. They had a pool and a hot tub but we didn't use them. They also had a lake. Everything seemed very well kept and nice. The campground was in the city or maybe the suburbs.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank mbark81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Camped here in our RV in January. We were oscillating between Campland and Santee Lakes and are so glad we chose the latter. Impeccably maintained, friendly staff, respectful neighbors, spacious sites, spotless bathrooms, well behaved dogs. Plus it was a third of the price of Campland. So much to do, we rode bikes, went fishing, rented paddleboats, fed the ducks. We wish we could have stayed longer. Our kids loved it, even our video game obsessed eleven year old son. Only 10 minute drive to every possible store and food outlet you can imagine if you need supplies. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Only the sites at the far end have cable TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank canyonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Only a 25 minute drive to downtown San Diego, this was a very inexpensive choice for 2 couples visiting the area. The waterfront cabin was clean, came with basic supplies, and came with a propane grill and fire pit.

Room Tip: Cabin #4 had privacy on one side which we liked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scarymary73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Are you tired of your typical RV Resort lined up row after row with crappy gravel sites with no trees or greenspace in between the sites, then Santee Lakes offers a great alternative if you get one of their sites that back onto the stream (Site #186). Yes, all/most of their sites are gravel but the stream sites have some greenspace and trees about them that makes these sites more inviting than the others. Full service sites include power, water, sewer. Wifi is included but it was virtually non-existent for all sites at the back of the resort or near the stream sites but you could tether your cellphone connection on your laptop/tablet if you want to.

As well you can peddle boat on one of the 5 lakes and walk, run or ride a bike around the other lakes. The office staff were exceptional.

You are only minutes away from downtown Santee which has all of your favorite box stores, restaurants and entertainment and is only a 25 minute drive into downtown San Diego close to all of San Diego's large attractions such as the San Diego Zoo, Coronado, Sea Word etc.

Bottom line, I just liked this resort far better than any of the other resorts closer in to San Diego outside of maybe the KOA San Diego, Bernardo Shores RV in Imperial Beach and Chula Vista RV Resort in Chula Vista. Stay away from any of the Sunland Resort properties as they all border on the freeway and are extremely noisy and pricey not to mention their attitude is they think they're quite something which they're not.

I hope that helps...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davidb1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Overall all a good site and easy to get to San Diego (Light Rail or drive) and La Jolla and beyond. Only issue are the burnt out toilets whichhave not been fixed for a year now ... Insurance issues I believe. Sites are large with space from your neighbours. Very clean and kept well

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilsongr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santee hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Santee Lodge
0.3 mi away
Carlton Oaks
Carlton Oaks
#2 of 3 in Santee
60 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Santee
Rodeway Inn Santee
#3 of 3 in Santee
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve

Address: 9310 Fanita Pkwy, Santee, CA 92071-7906
Region: United States > California > Santee
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Santee
Number of rooms: 310

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing