We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Woodsy Stay at Saratoga Oaks Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Saratoga
Certificate of Excellence
Atascadero, California
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Delightful Woodsy Stay at Saratoga Oaks Lodge”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Tucked away, just off the main drag of Big Basin Way, is this cozy little lodge. We recently stayed in Saratoga to attend a dear friend's wedding and were thrilled to find accommodations within walking distance of the church and reception. The Lodge is charming and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. We were able to check-in early to freshen up before the 2:00 p.m. wedding and even had time to try a great little deli nearby for a quick bite -pre-wedding. This recommendation came from the front desk along with directions. The rooms were large, had all the usual amenities, closet space was adequate and everything sparkling clean. We plan to stay at this lodge again on future visits to the area and would definitely recommend this cute place!

Room Tip: bottom floor rooms were not noisy at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Critter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    46
    18
    4
    11
See reviews for
21
48
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We enjoyed the breakfast in the lobby with the owners answering questions and giving suggestions. Lovely restaurants and wineries were a short walk away. Saratoga is a charming, quiet town,outside the busy San Jose area.

Room Tip: We liked being right near the office. Loved having our car right outside the door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrannyGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Lodge is quite nice, clean, and in a wooded area. Its proximity to the village center of Saratoga is unbeatable.
If you want to eat dinner on Friday or Saturday night in the village, it would be wise to make a reservation. A couple of
places we tried were quite busy and had long waits without reservations. The breakfast at the lodge is okay, but just down the street, is a very nice organic coffee house with nice breakfast and lunch faire. The hosts are very friendly!!

Room Tip: Although we didn't stay in the upper lodge rooms, we are going to next time as they appear to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebecca w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yountville, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Saratoga Oaks is at 14626 Big Basin Drive; a main commuter street with 2 lanes and the locals all seem to be competing for supremacy - as in DOUBLE the 25mph speed limit during rush hour. No mercy shown pedestrians. Noisy until after rush hour which is about 10 hours long. Nighttime it is as '...deserted as the plain of Troy...' [apologies to Alistair Cooke].

We were there in 2006 while visiting family away up behind the town. The room was in an original 1950's format of 8 or 10 units in a row. Modernized since, of course but this was a special treat - a rendezvous with a Lady I had met in 1983 - we were both married but not to each other. She was from Napa and I was from Douglas County, NV.

It was a fit environment for mischief and we did that in a perfect little town I had known since 1961. Saratoga was where my cousin from Castro Valley kept the attendees to his wedding in a motel with a pool - I was dragooned unexpectedly into Best Man status and my favorite Aunt (#1) helped me out with the cuff links. I swiped the coat hangar for the Tux - The mother of the groom, Aunt #2 did inventory afterward and detected that hangar and ... well. She complained about it at least 15 years later. She had a heart of gold, supplied Alice Waters with 4 employees; helped found the Acme Bread tribe, did not know where Cow Hollow was nor did she know that a Buffalo was actually a Bison ( Bison-Bison taxonomic ally speaking). I miss her.

Well, Saratoga had changed since our first visit to Saratoga Oaks Lodge. The late Economic Depression devasted the town, many empty store fronts, etc. Most recently, there were signs of recovery. We found another restaurant that does Italian, buried in a nearly vacant neighborhood shopping center. Here are two survivors, indicating some Business Savvy not built on a house of dollar bills.
We have used Saratoga Oaks Lodge as the base for a Reunion at Stanford. It is well worth the drive.

Oh, yes, the rooms; in addition to the renewed original building, newer units are are above and behind the Office out front. There, one can drive up to the room on the floor. We creaky old ones prefer to avoid stairs. There are individual cottages scattered up the hill to the street behind, where there are a few parking spots.
Saratoga Oaks Lodge is on the southerly side of Big Basin Drive

Room Tip: Those rooms across from the 2 story building are preferable. We noted that Saratoga Oaks Lodge mana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

So my company pays my hotel bill and I have points and club memberships at all the majors but when I travel to San Jose, I stay at Saratoga Oaks Lodge. It is out of the way and you have to drive farther on the commutes but it's worth it. It is very comfortable and quiet. There are no hallways or elevators and you don't have to see the same old business crowd everytime you open your door. You can walk to restaurants instead of eat room service for convenience. The windowns all open and there is actually some atmosphere. Saratoga is a great little town. I love this place

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sleepydeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The parking was a problem and we had to part in the street one night. In addition, the central air conditioning was out, however a room unit was placed in the room and did an adequate job. The people who worked there were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Mac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Do not go. This is a waste of a wonderful location, ruined by a staff that should do something other that run a hotel. The room we stayed in was big enough and nice. Stayed two nights and on the day, they forgot to clean the room. When I called, they sent the front desk person with a bunch of towel and clearly a bad attitude. He proceeded to explain me that I had made a mistake with the do not disturb sign. Clearly I was a moron. He eventually changed the towels, dusted out the room. In lieu of apology, he threw the do not disturb sign at me. We were in an episode of Fawlty Towers!
All that in a room that only had the price as a luxury. No bathrobes, traces of crushed insects on the wall. Wi-fi was terrible, kept switching out. I had to wait to be at San Jose airport to catch up with my emails...And an arrogant know-it-all at the front desk.
There are nicer places across the street or in Los Gatos. Do not go there. I will not come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saratoga
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#1 of 2 in Saratoga
146 reviews
3.7 mi away
Toll House Hotel
Toll House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Los Gatos
1,096 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Los Gatos - A Greystone Hotel
4.1 mi away
Los Gatos Lodge
Los Gatos Lodge
#6 of 6 in Los Gatos
231 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Campbell
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Oaks Lodge

Property: Saratoga Oaks Lodge
Address: 14626 Big Basin Way, Saratoga, CA 95070-6041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Saratoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Saratoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Saratoga Oaks Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned and operated motel - since 1955. On the main street of the Saratoga village, between Fifth Street and Sixth Street, we are in the quiet part of town, just a two minute stroll to the center of Saratoga Village where you'll find a variety of restaurants and unique shops. Closeby are the Hakone Japanese Garden, the Mountain Winery, Montalvo and Saratoga wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Saratoga Oaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Oaks Hotel Saratoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing