We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,079)
Filter reviews
1,079 results
Traveller rating
704
234
75
39
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
704
234
75
39
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurray circlefarley barthe golden gate bridgefort bakercontemporary roomsmeditation poolfront porchmilitary basegolf cartcooking schoolrocking chairsking suitesan franciscoparade groundcooking classofficers quartersdiscovery museum
Filter
Updating list...
868 - 873 of 1,079 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We live in the area....but had never thought of staying so close to home. Decided to and spend the day exploring and using the phenomanal spa and yoga retreat. This is a fabulous place. If you are coming to san francisco or need a spot to stay between sfo and Napa...try cavallo point. Locals get a discount...so if you live in bay area! Yipeee!...and pets welcome!

Room Tip: I think the locals discount is sunday night...but it applies to rooms and spa.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taloola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclairs8, Executive Office at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for kind comments. We are always so pleased to received positive feedback from guests and appreciate you posting your accolades on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Christine Hoang
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

...this hotel does not overwhelm you upon your drive into the complex. The courtyard (or what some may call a Parade due to its size) is simply a mass of grass. However, as you approach the main building, you start seeing people enjoying lunch on the restaurants front porch, the valets are actually "excited" to see you and the desk and conceirge staff will do anything to make your first impression memorable.

The rooms can be "small", but they are "home-like." While not recommended, you feel like opening up the sash and taking a bottle of chardonnay and book out onto the roof to enjoy the crisp air that is so pleasingly "redwood." Walk the grounds for a bit and you start to see the makings of a "camp" moreso than a hotel.

This was a last minute booking due to an error in my Wine Country plans that shifted to San Fran. What a great mistake.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Cavallo is the perfect spot for a weekend away from the kids. It's close enough to San Francisco but far enough to feel like we were really getting away from the hustle and bustle. Our room in one of the original buildings was beautiful and spacious, the massages were soothing and relaxing and the food was delicious. We asked the sommelier for a wine recommendation at dinner and he steered us to an Italian barolo that was superb and reasonably priced. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisDaCunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I visited Cavallo Point for a week-end and it is the perfect place to relax and unwind, just 20 minutes drive from SF.

Its position in the Golden Gate Park gives you straight away the sense of space and nature of National Parks such as the Yosemite or Sequoia.

The hotel has different lodges; rooms are big, spacious clean, with fireplace and with excellent view on the Golden Gate.

The Spa is valuable; it has an outdoor swimming pool and sauna and jacuzzi for womend and men. Staff is very availabel and the lounge room with fireplace allows you to relax.

Staff is nice and service quite good; sometimes it takes too long for the reception to answer but overall it is a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titoi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This is our second visit to the property for our anniversary. We love the history of the place (Fort Baker), the location (Near SF and Marin), the vibe (nature, hiking, good food), and the views (SF skyline, Golden Gate, Angel Island, Tiburon). The restaurant on site is solid with lot's of additional great choices over the bridge or in Sausalito. The exercise facility could use a bit more in the way of weight equipment for me, but there are lot's of treadmills and bikes...strange for a place where there are plenty of places to jog and hike.

Room Tip: Definitely go for one of the historic rooms (former officers bungalows). 3 nights for 2 promotions are great.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gosaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews